We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel with good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodearth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Goodearth Hotel to your Saves list
Goodearth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fine hotel with good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel with very wide range of TV channel. 
Located about 12-15 mins on foot to supermarket like Woolworths. Breakfast is plenty and recommended.
Comfy bed and good air-con.

Water pressure was not so good. It is quite annoying when you taking a shower in such a cold weather
and the water runs hot and cold all the times.

No view. My room faces to the abandoned parking lot, not a nice view indeed. 

We generally expect bed cover in white or light color but it's black here and we can't really tell how dirty it is but it covers your pillows and bed already.

Internet is not free and very expensive here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    179
    129
    43
    35
See reviews for
81
138
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

For a supposedly cheap hotel it was not that cheap, it was noisy, the lifts didn't work properly, the hot water was on and off and the bed was hard and not comfortable, however the staff were very helpful and did the best they could, the breakfast was ok and car parking free. Also at the moment there is a lot of construction noise from the building site behind. However they gave us our money back for the unused nights that we had prepaid when we wanted to leave. We moved to a much nicer 5 star hotel that we actually got cheaper.

Room Tip: Have a look on last minute type websites for a nicer room at a nicer hotel - you can probably get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The room was huge but dated. I think the faucet handles in the kitchenette and bathroom need maintenance. They worked... but the hot water faucet handle in the bathroom started leaking.

The hallway smelled and I think they have a mold problem.

I thought the hotel restaurant was a decent value.

The place is noisy. While I was in my room, I could hear clearly everything that happened in the hallway.

The location is convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Goodearth Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear D G,
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We have a full time maintenance team and will have the faucet handle in the bathroom checked out and attended to. We're glad to hear you found the restaurant decent value and the location convenient. We also have a Food To Go takeaway service (with nothing over $16 on the menu) and Heat & Eat fresh meals available from the lobby shop for our guest's convenience, if you wish to dine in-room instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at goodearth for 4 nights last week on the 7th floor In an executive renovated suite. My room had new carpets, renovated furnishings and curtains. The bathroom was small but clean. You have to borrow a hair dryer from reception!! The bed was queen size, had a firm mattress and good linen. There were additional pillows of varying firmness so I was able to find one to suit. I had a small kitchenette with microwave, 2 hot plates and a small bar fridge. The fridge didnt have a lot of room for shopping, i would recommend only getting a days worth of food if theres more than one in your group. The kitchen was well equipped with crockery, saucepans, utensils and cutlery. A 2 person dining table and small couch completed the furnishings. Unfortunately my room was located adjacent to the noisy lifts which woke me early each morning as other guests began their days, and at night I had a lot of light pollution seeping in via the curtains due to the hotel sign positioned on the exterior wall of the hotel just outside my windows. The room had two small balconies accessed via sliding doors from the bedroom/living area. There was a flat screen tv with remote, split system air con and wifi available (for a fee). I went to use the laundry facilities located on level 7 but was disappointed to find out I needed $3 in one dollar coins for each load and a further $3 for the dryer. The info sheet provided to me only mentioned the $1 fee for laundry powder, so I gave this a miss. Transport in Perth CBD via bus is free, so I took advantage of this and the bus stop is nearby the hotel. This was a great way to get around. Take number 37 bus for a lovely trip to Kings Park! At every interaction the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a small basic convenience/snack shop and a restaurant in the hotel foyer which I did not use. Woolworths grocery store is only 4 bus stops 'up the Terrace' so I preferred that option to save some money! Perth accommodation is quite expensive and hard to get, and as far as value goes if you are looking for basic convenience then this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Goodearth Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Niss123,
Thank you for your feedback and in depth review, it is very much appreciated. Our staff are delighted to hear your comments about their customer service, as we strive to provide great service and great value. We were unaware of the missing information regarding the laundry facilities, so would just like to thank you also for bringing this to our attention and let you know it has now been corrected. Hope to welcome you back soon to the Goodearth Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

There is a hotel just next to the Pan Pacific. Room size is enormous but everything is dated. I think the furntiture might be at least 20 years old. It is located about 1 km from Hay Street. The service staff was so so. There is also no complimentary wifi or LAN internet access. Overall, this hotel is fair value for money.

Room Tip: There are some free city buses. Make use of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Goodearth Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Chung1234,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope you had a pleasant stay in Perth. The hotel offers a mix of Standard and Superior rooms, the Superior rooms have been recently refurbished, so please feel free to take a look at these room types as they may be more suitable for your needs.

The hotel is located in Transperth's "free transit zone" so you are able to take any bus travelling along Adelaide Terrace into the city centre, for free! The "CAT" buses are also free and you can catch the red CAT close by on Hay Street.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

lovely clean & friendly hotel. Good value for money for a family of 4, loved the fact you get a stove top & microwave to cook meals. Secure parking underneath is a real bonus so no worries about the car. Staff were really friendly & nothing is too much. The location is brilliant with easy access to freeways etc. Definitely on our list of spots to stay next time we go up to Perth!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Goodearth Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear yarralena1,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you and your family back soon. We've passed your feedback onto our staff and they are all thrilled!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

I should point out that I did try to lower my expectations for this $260/night room - considering the high cost of Perth hotel rooms at the moment (I normally stay in one of the major brand hotels).
However - this was a terrible experience.
From the old creaky lift, smelly hallways and cheap decor, my experience did start well.
This was made worse by the bathroom that smelt of sewerage and the fact I woke the next morning with rashes on my arms and legs from bed lice.

Won't be staying here again - even if it was for free.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodearth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodearth Hotel

Address: 195 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodearth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Goodearth Hotel offers great value apartment-style accommodation in central Perth, with 180 spacious hotel rooms and apartments. All feature fully-equipped kitchenettes (excluding Hotel Rooms), free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen televisions with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Hotel facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, beauty salon/hairdresser, 24-hour reception, lobby shop, tour desk, internet kiosk, safety deposit box at reception, luggage storage, guest laundry and free secure car parking (limited bays, subject to availability). Ideal location minutes from Perth's shopping, dining, entertainment and nightlife areas, the Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Goodearth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Good Earth
Good Earth Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodearth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.