We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and convenient in the Perth CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Murray

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Murray to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mantra on Murray
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 Murray Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer
Ranked #24 of 57 hotels in Perth
shropshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“comfortable and convenient in the Perth CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for three days having just flown in to Perth from the UK. We arrived at 3am, which was no problem and we were expected. The room was substantial with seating and kitchenette area, tea coffee and milk provided, a good sized bathroom, and a large and very comfortable bed. The room was clean, and serviced every day with tea etc replenished. The Mantra is located in the CBD, it is close to shops and there are places to eat nearby, but we ate in the restaurant one night, and the food was very good. There is a bar as well, the staff are friendly and helpful, although at times we felt there could be more staff in the bar. It seems that Qantas air crew use the Mantra for stopovers, and one evening when we were there a large crowd of them took over the bar completely which was a bit annoying. The only real problem is that the building gets very hot. Not a problem in the corridors and lobbies by the lifts, but the bedrooms are cooled by air conditioning units, we found ours to be awkward to operate or maybe we just didn't understand the instructions, but nevertheless it was extremely noisy all night. Personally I would have preferred to have the windows open and no air conditioning, but the windows didn't open. It was in the upper thirties all day, but much cooler at night. Our booking didn't include breakfast, so I am unable to comment, but it was expensive, and we preferred to go down the street for breakfast al fresco. We would probably choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Blue Gentian,,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Mantra on Murray. Iam very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your checkin in the early hours of the morning went well.
I have passed your comments about staffing in the bar to my Food and Beverage Manager and he will be review our operation in this regard.

I do hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    119
    58
    27
    22
See reviews for
20
72
28
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

35 degree day in Perth, arrived to a room resembling an oven. Here's the exchange and service level

The room is stifling hot, it will take an hour to cool with one air-con unit ( not covering whole room or bathroom) and I need to sleep for an early meeting , could I pls have another room

Mantra ' we don't put the aircon on until room is allocated plus we're fully booked'

' if you're fully booked, all rooms will have been allocated so why didn't you put aircon on'

Silence....

So Mantra you saved $5 in electricity on a $300 room , it'll cost you a lot more than that. Give this place a wide berth

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Speakerone,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Mantra on Murray.
I am disappointed and sorry that you have not had a satisfactory experience with us.
I have addressed your suggestion with our front office and housekeeping teams in order that we can improve in future.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Mantra on business. In Perths over-priced hotel market, the Mantra represents relatively good value.

Rooms are spacious and have a basic kitchenette. Fit-out of the rooms is smart but pretty basic - no quality fixtures here but the hotel is kept very clean. The hallways have a very bland basic feel and the carpets are in need of cleaning and repair. The hotel has no central air conditioning which for Perth is very odd especially in a recently build hotel. The common areas are very stuffy with no air and the rooms have a wall-mounted air-con unit that is so noisy that you can't sleep at night.

TV reception is very poor, the bathroom adequate but the bed very comfortable. WiFi is available at charge but I didn't use it to comment on the speed.

Overall, the hotel is in a good location with spacious rooms. The hotel is clean but basic. Overall an OK place to stay in the CBD but there are better hotels for not much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Manlysider,

Thank you for your review of the Mantra on Murray.
We have taken your constructive feedback on baord and are working to address the issues you have raised.

Our television signal is being upgraded in the next month which will solve the TV reception prblem you have encountered. We are also working with the building owner to address the airconditioning in the corridors which is not working at capacity at the moment.

I am confident that should you return you will find our product is constantly improving.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
Generla Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was my 5th stay in Adelaide.The Mantra was in a prime location for me and centre for the Mall.I prefer to stay with a hotel with pool but would opt to stay here again and forfeit a pool.
All the staff were helpful. The area is extremely safe for lone female travellers.

Room Tip: Everything for me was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi SusanL,

Thank you for your review, I presume you meant to say this was you fifth visit to Perth. I am very pleased you found that Mantra on Murray met your needs as a lone female traveller.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My first trip to the Mantra on Murray was fantastic. I stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and I really commend the reception staff on their great service, and friendly and helpful nature. My room was clean and spacious and overall my stay was very enjoyable and I definitely will be back when I return to Perth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kellyjade,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Murray. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found my staff to be friendly.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Mantra on Murray twice in the last 4 odd weeks, the first time it was really good, the second time, which was last weekend, we were very dissapointed.
They advertised that you can park across the road in the Wilson Carpark and have a ticket validated by them so that you don't get slugged full price, but BUYER BEWARE as we found out. The parking has special conditions that apply. It all depends on if they have tickets to be validated or not, AND you need to go get the ticket from them first, BEFORE you even think of driving into the carpark and parking you car. We did not know this, and therefore the first time we were slugged $50 for overnight parking. Then last weekend, we were informed that they didn't hve any tickets but "you can park for $5.00 down the road on weekends" hmmmm lugging suitcases down the street is not our idea of fun, and it is only $5.00 so long as you get your car out before 7.00am, cos then you start to get charged by the hour, so be aware of this. It can work out to be an expensive stay.

The air conditioner in our room was not working efficiently, the vents were all broken so we could not direct the air so that we could get the benefit of it, it basically blew down to the end of the room and that is where it stayed.

The hotel is in a good location, it is very clean, staff are efficient, but we wouldn't expect any less.

We worked out that it is actually quite expensive to stay there if you add you parking on top and there are other hotels in Perth that are just as nice and similar price without the hefty price for the carparking.

Room Tip: Majke sure your air conditioner works before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Deb from Oz,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. I was very happy to read that you have enjoyed your first stay with us but equally disappointed that your second stya did not meet your expectations.
Carparking was never provided in the complex when the hotel was built. We have attempted to address this for our guests by negotiating discounted arrangements with particularly Wilsons Parking. It is unfortunate that this arrangement seems to have gone awry over the last few weeks and we have found ourselves temporarily unable to purchase discounted tickets. We have attempted to suggest alternative reasonbly priced parking areas whilst we resolve this with the Carpark, but none are ideal. There is however a 5 minute parking bay at the front of the hotel for guests to unload their suitcases to avoid having carry them any distance through the streets.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your experiences further so that we can improve our product and service.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was quite a nice stay at the Mantra, I had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the street and the district. The road noise was not too intrusive and the good sized room was practical and easy to use. The only issue about the room was the air-conditioner- it was so noisy and impossible to have on while sleeping, it also found it difficult to keep up with the hot Perth weather- but it just managed.

On check-in the staff could learn a few things about customer service, but we didn't really have too much to do with them anyway so it was not really a problem.

The best thing about the place is the location, it's close to the train station, the mall, the shops, supermarket (across the road) and nightlife in Northbridge (an easy walk away). The price was also good, we booked with a deal from Hotels.com and had the room for only $115/ night - a bargain really.

The parking did leave a sour taste to the stay, the Mantra has no off-street parking, and the carpark they recommended cost $85/ day!!! I asked the Mantra staff for a parking voucher and they had run out. The parking voucher would have reduced the cost by $63!! The staff didn't care and no offer was made to make amends.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 7th floor facing the street. The corner rooms at the front are larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Andrew,

I am very pleased that you found your room at Mantra on Murray to be to your liking. You have raised some valid feedback in your review that we are constantly trying to improve on. It is true that being spacious rooms, in the middle of Summer the airconditioning does work hard to cool the rooms on the northern side of the hotel, particularly during the day We have implemented a policy of closing the curtains and running the airconditioners prior to guest arrivals to try to alleviate this at this time of the year.
It is unfortunate that the carpark is not under our control and we are at their mercy to obtain discounted tickets.

I am sorry that you found the ustoer service to be below your expectations. I have addressed this with the Front Office Manager and we will continue to strive to do better.

Overall I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we will welcome you back in the future and am confident that you will be impressed should you return.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Hotel
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth
Address: 305 Murray Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#19 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Murray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.