We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Residence East Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Residence East Perth to your Saves list
The Sebel Residence East Perth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Royal Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booker Offer
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

These apartments are very spacious and well appointed. Its not a hotel - the rooms are only serviced every 3 days. The location is a relatively new development in East Perth and a relatively quiet location, though there is traffic noise if you leave the balcony doors open. There is a very nice pub with good food in the same complex and quite a few inexpensive local restaurants nearby. Its really a taxi ride into central Perth, or a fairly long walk. For a long term stay this would be very comfortable. For short term stays it probably depends on why you are in Perth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    117
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
35
110
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Sebel for 1 month as part of a business relocation arrangement and found the place very comfortable and the staff were excellent. The surrounding restaurants and shops made life a lot easier for an extended stay there.

The only complaint I had was the internet access charges - $60 for a week was a bit rich - 1.5Gb limit. One of my criteria in future will be free internet access when looking for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for new years 2010/2011. 3 of us in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom. It was abit rich but i wanted some where nice and it was new years so i can understand, also was pretty lucky as we only wanted it for one night and we had to book for i think 2 or more nights for the weekend but they let us just for one nice which was really nice.
When we got there we had to wait abit which we didnt really mind. Some other people who were there before us said they been waiting for a fair while. The lady came said sorry and that she was the only one there and had to make up a room.
The rooms are abit odd, they are 2 room but in one. Which i believe is a studio room and a one bed apartment. the one bed room was bigger with a lounge which had everything a lounge would have. A really nice kitchen which had everything, also with its own bathroom. The other room (studio) was smaller with its own bathroom and small kitchenette. I found the rooms to be clean which is always nice but in the studio room bathroom there was mozzies in the toilet and they came out when we open it. That wasnt much of a worry we had fly spary in our rooms was just a little weird. Both the rooms have everything you would need. We were on the side of the hotel with not much of a view unlike some other rooms (up the very top would be great) we had a little balcony with table and chairs.
over all i would stay there again, i didnt have any problem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Like the hotel in Brisbane, this one in Perth is also an excellent hotel. Most of the feel I got in Brisbane, I felt the same in Perth also. This gives me a confidence to say, that sebel properties are excellent properties to be in. I would only suggest, book in advance and try for discounts. Once you reach at property; you may not get a good value.

The best part of this hotel chain is they are different. Class apart. The locations of the hotels are the best. So damn good connectivity, good views. The rooms are very spacious, and feels good to be in. I felt very cosy. The room lighting, and natural lights make you feel so good. You can stay for long periods.The hotel service is also very good. The smile in the hotel staff is so warm. I felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just stayed at the Sebel for a weekend in the city...booked on the web and asked for a quiet room with great views (we'd checked it out on tripadvisor and its own website and the views of the river were so nice!). Unfortunately the room we were given had lovely views of the busy road and hence was REALLY noisy - too noisy to even sit out on the balcony. If the type of room we booked all had this view we would have happily paid more to be upgraded for the views and a good nights sleep, had we been informed! And ridiculously, even though the booking was prepaid they put a hold on my credit card for $50 dollars which I was informed is policy and takes 4 working days to clear. Not a big deal but is it even legal? No one told me they would do this and I didn't sign anything!! Other than that the rooms are nice and if you get one overlooking the pool and river I'm sure you'd have an amazing time as its a beautiful location and that side of the hotel is gorgeous! The beds were super comfy and huge and its a really nice area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernonia, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I spent three weeks at the Sebel in April 2010 for business. The staff were consistently pleasant and helpful. The first room I was given was in a separate wing from the lobby and hotel amenities and right above a busy street and pub. I requested a quiet location and they offered me a beautiful 1 bedroom unit with a huge balcony on the condition that I would have to change rooms for the weekend of the air races. The apartment was ultra-modern with everything a person needs on an extended stay: washer-dryer (cutest little thing I've ever seen but I never got the thing to actually dry); awesome bathroom with both a walk-in shower and a tub; appliances and dishes for simple cooking. My only complaint was that the bed was too hard for my taste.
Just across the street is an excellent wine shop and a block away is a small grocery store. Several restaurants are nearby. My faves were the French place on the street behind the grocery; the coffee shop "Toast" immediately below the balcony and the waterfront restaurant below the other wing of the hotel.
Victoria Garden is just a couple of blocks away and connects to the waterfront walkway that goes all the way to downtown Perth. There is a free CAT bus that runs frequently and operates to downtown and back. The stop is in front of the park.
I rented one of the hotel bicycles and rode all along the waterfront to Perth and up to Kings Garden. Along the way I saw a dolphin swimming up Swan River and a Sea Eagle.

Room Tip: Stay in main section, upper floor on riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The hotel is in a good location. We stayed with friends in a 2 bed apartment for one night. The apartment was made up of a studio room and a one bed apartment, with interconnecting hall/door.
The one bed apartment was modern, nicely decorated and a good size and consisted of a lounge, with flat screen TV, dining area, kitchen (which was very well equipped including dishwasher, microwave, oven and hotplate, full size fridge.), separate bedroom with flat screen TV, safe, and bathroom (the bathroom had a large separate shower and a large oval size bath which was very nice). There were also laundry facilities with washing machine, ironing board and iron. There was also a balcony from the lounge and bedroom.
The studio room was smaller with a bedroom, bathroom (shower over bath), and a small kitchenette, with no balcony. The airconditioning unit was leaking and could not be used, which was not very comfortable in the hot weather. However the manager did give a discount for the inconvenience.
We had lovely views of the water, however the apartment was situated above the bars and restaurants below which were quite noisy when sitting out on the balcony (but convenient if you want to go out to eat and drink and then just walk upstairs for the night!).
The hotel is situated in 2 buildings, which are connected with a walkway on level 4. Be prepared to carry your luggage quite a way up and down stairs, depending which room you are in. Our apartment wasn't in the building where reception is, and we had to carry our luggage down the street to the entrance at the side (I would not have been happy doing this in winter in the rain!), then down 2 flights of stairs. There is a lift in the main building but not in the second building.
Parking is a nightmare. If you haven't booked parking under the hotel (which is charged at $20), then you have to find parking on the street or in the multi level carpark across the road.
The reception staff were very helpful and checking in and out were handled swiftly and politely.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Residence East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residence East Perth

Address: 60 Royal Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Residence East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residence East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Residence East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Residence East Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.