We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy but a brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Criterion Hotel Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Criterion Hotel Perth to your Saves list
Criterion Hotel Perth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Perth
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scruffy but a brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is somewhat scruffy - but if you aren't worried about the decor then I would recommend this place. Centrally located - 2 minutes from the shops, 5 minutes from the Swan River, 10 minutes walk up to the station. Bus stops to King's Park and the airport also very close. The reception staff were very friendly and always helpful and polite. Breakfast wasn't included in the price (and in my view not worth the money) but the coffee was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    127
    110
    38
    23
See reviews for
58
107
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My room was very basic. The decor was quite old and dated. The bathroom relaly needed a refurbishment. The accommodation was adequate. However, the location is brilliant, walking distance to the main shopping precinct and restaurants and cafes all very close by. For what you get the price is expensive compared to other capital cities but for Perth I suppose it is on the money. I probably wouldnt recommend this to others travelling for business but for a holiday, if location in the heart of Perth's CBD is a high priority, and you are not fussed with the little creature comforts and luxuries, thewn it probably does represent a more affordable hotel option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Well located in the middle of Perth, less than a blocik from the mall and three from the Swan River. This hotel is a faded old thing, badly in need of a facelift. BUT - if it were done up, the prices would surely rise. Overall very good value for money, comfortable if rather run down.

Free wireless internet was an attraction, but it keeps dropping out. Desk staff are happy to reset, but its only a temporary fix.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel if you want tp sleep past 7:00AM, the construction site across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last night - mainly because of the price. I was very impressed with the speed and efficiency of the check in and the nice touch of a welcome drink should you want one. The room was yes dated BUT it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone wishing to have a budget break in Perth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Yes, I agree with previous reviews. You do get what you pay for.
The location is great, with the free bus stop about 100 metres away (Red Line & Green Line I think - runs about 15 minute intervals) , close to rail (if you want to get to Freemantle), walking distance (about 20 minutes) to wharf for ferry to Rottnest Island. So it is all about budget & location. They have a brasserie downstairs and offer discounts for meals. Other eateries are nearby, the mall for shopping, IGA. Across the road was construction, so the noise starts about 7.30am and continues till end of day. This didn't matter to us as we were up early exploring and not back till evening. We overlooked the room appearance - a bed, decent bathroom/hot water, air con, security at a reasonable price for Perth was all that mattered for 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. We wanted some relatively cheap accommodation within easy walking distance of most places in the Perth CBD.

The location was excellent. It was very close to the Hay Street Mall, Barrack Street Jetty (for Swan River cruises, Swan Bells etc.), Perth Mint, St Mary's Cathedral and many restaurants and shops. There was even an IGA store very close to buy a few groceries or fresh fruit etc. One afternoon we walked from there through the mall and up past Parliament House to Kings Park, though it was a bit of a hike!

The $13 breakfast buffet was the best value we could find anywhere. It didn't have an enormous range of choices, but did have a selection of basic hot food, cereals, juice, toast, coffee etc so for the money, was very good value.

The room itself was very basic. The furniture and fittings throughout the hotel however were old, quite worn and had seen better days. Adequate would be the best way to describe the accommodation. It was probably very good about 30 years ago! Cleanliness was average, and most of the furniture and fittings were overdue for replacement. The bed was only a double and a bit saggy (one of the "roll-towards-the-middle" variety!) but it was reasonably quiet outside despite its central CBD location, so we managed to get some to sleep. A stay there of a few days were OK, but I think I'd be looking for somewhere else for anything longer.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the free internet was good (though slow).

Would we stay there again? Probably yes (for a couple of days!). Perth is a very expensive place to stay, and this hotel provided basic accommodation, in a good location at a fairly reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 6 great nights in this hotel. It's very clean, comfortable and convenient for our daily travel. Very close to the train station and ferry jetty. Along the way, there are many shopping complexes and food outlets. Subway and Mc Donald are only a few doors away. Buy your groceries or whatever you need at IGA store which is next to the hotel. At the corner, there are 2 bakery shops. Love the pies from the City Bakery. A few Asian food outlets nearby too. The hotel staff and service were good and helpful. Our room was good enough for the rate paid. We were out the whole day so weren't expecting any view or extra facilities. House keeping and WiFi could be improved. Overall, it was a good experience for us and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criterion Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.