We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Criterion Hotel Perth

Save Saved
You added Criterion Hotel Perth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 57 hotels in Perth
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Location, location, location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location for shopping and free transport. Needs maintenance program though with safety issues such as water all over the bathroom floor after a shower (which is in a bath tub). Bad placement of shower curtain, towel rail that fell off amongst other things. Power cord across the walkway in restaurant which was easy to miss if you were holding a plate of food from the servery. Orange juice for breakfast has a slight fizz to it and tasted off. Tissue holder in sister's room fell off and their water pressure very low, but a proper shower cubicle. No Fox on TV as advertised as they had cancelled it. We paid $116 per night. It was clean, but needs proper repairs not just a quick fix.

Room Tip: Room facing the front get construction noise from building work across the street all day. Windows w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    111
    98
    31
    22
See reviews for
49
99
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From its interior I can say that this hotel is very old, one of the oldest in the city maybe. However, the room is quite spacious and very clean. The hotel is located right in the middle of the city and only 3 minutes walking from the shopping centre and restaurants. The staff are also very friendly. With less than $100 per night, this hotel is the best choice to stay. I definitely will stay again in this hotel next time I visit Perth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Massive room in the middle of the city and all for $87 per night when everything else is $200+. Huge room nicely done out. 15 min walk to the waca and right in the heart of the city. Clean quiet friendly staff. No need for me to search next time I go to Perth....I know where I'm staying

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT09
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Criterion Hotel in January 2013 for two nights. We only paid $70 a night (booked on wotif website) for a double room. The room had a double and a single.

The hotel is very easy to access, being a 1 minute walk from the main area of the city. We caught the train as there was no reasonably-priced parking in the area (we didn't want to pay $25 a day!). Walking into the hotel, it looks pretty old and worn. The staff were attentive and checked us in without any problems.

The room was definitely not one of the best I've stayed in...but for the price I wasn't too disappointed. It had a small desk that was in a little alcove so we couldn't actually sit at it, a decent TV, bar fridge, wardrobe, kettle, tea and coffee etc. The room was pretty small - the bar fridge was in a cabinet fitted so tightly that we had to shift the beds in order to gain access. The bathroom was fine, nothing special. A couple of towels, soap and a shampoo, big mirror and a hairdryer.

The air conditioner had obviously been leaking for a while as there was a garbage bag and some towels folded underneath it to stop the noise of the drops. The walls were peeling a bit and stained for the leaking air con. The duvets were outdated and sketchy so we peeled them off and just used the bleached white sheets and doona. There were more than enough pillows although some were pretty old and lumpy. The beds were springy and squeaky. With regards to being clean, the room was totally fine. The beds were free of dust/hair/etc (and bedbugs, which I always check for) and the bathroom was clean as well. It was easy at first to look around and feel a bit put off but when you look past the ugly, dated furniture and decorating it was actually clean and tidy which is most important to me.

The hotel advertises free wireless but, as other reviewers have said, the connection is pretty dodgy and inconsistent. We were able to connect for about 10 minutes at a time, and only every now and then. We had a room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel, with the one clear window (the others were glazed and none of them opened) facing a parking lot and hotel bins. We weren't bothered by any noise except someone starting a motorbike up in the morning. I had read other reviews and requested a higher level room facing the street on my booking form, but we didn't get it.

The area is fantastic, with a bottle shop and Korean-run IGA downstairs. There's a newsagency, McDonalds, pizza place, japanese cafe and a couple of Korean cafes within 100 metres of the hotel entrance. Walk for a minute and you're in the heart of the city with stores, places to eat, cinemas, trains, buses etc.

Overall, it was clean, a little shabby and not very big but....$70 a night and in an awesome location! If you have high standards then I'd avoid this place. I'd recommend it for people looking for a cheap, convenient place to sleep or use as a base for the night/weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights, stay was very helpful, located in the hub of CBD, CAT & Transperth bus service available at max 100 m walk, Halal food is not a problem (a Lebanese food shop is available), Subway, KFC all nearby 2 minutes walk.
shopping centers are at 200 m walk.
Very quick Check in & Check out service provided by Hotel.
Complimentary Soft Drinks were provided when we arrived at hotel.
Perth Connect (Air port transport shuttle bus service) dropped & picked up at 30 m walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel situated in the main street and rooms at the back suffer very little street noise. Room small, decor very old and tired. the lighting was totally unsuitable for reading and the en suite bathroom smelled like sewage.Bed was comfortable with good mattress. The airconditioner could not be set below 18 degrees, never actually got below 20 and came out of the arc. The air conditioner automatically switched off when you left the room which meant that you walked back into an extremely hot, stuffy and smelly room.WhenI enquired I was given a spare key so that the air conditoner could remain on whilst I went out and this helped. The inernet which was free - that was a plus -was in the main unaircondtioned foyer and you had to stand to use it. I loathe the heat with a vengence and would never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I loved The Criterion in Perth! It's a gorgeous old Art Deco building with many original features still intact. Yes there are aspects of it that are probably suggestive of 'past glories', but considering it's right in the middle of the city you can't go far wrong if that's where you need to be.

The rooms are big and airy in that old high-ceilinged way. Lots of light via big windows - staying on the first floor and about halfway along the building between front and back, the view out of the big windows was nothing to write home about, but I guess you can't expect too much from a 70+ year old building surrounded by other building of the same or greater age. Big fully funtional bathroom, if a tad dated. In fact it's all a bit old and probably in need of some TLC - in fact, the in-room hotel guide proudly boasts of the place having been fully renovated in 1996! The Criterion's website also tells a story of it apparently having been called something else prior to 1996, painting a picture of the Criterion facade leading into an interior that was specifically designed to give the feel of yesteryear with the modern touches of today... not too sure how accurate that is! In reality the place really just looks like a very old hotel that was given an el-cheapo renovation about two decades ago and is probably in need of another one! But again, there are lots of nice Art Deco touches about the place that make up for the slightly crass mid-90s reno feel!

Complaints? A few - they're probably insigificant in the scheme of things and call them "first world problems" if you will, but they're worth nothing nonetheless:

1) I booked the room online many months before our arrival. In the online booking I clearly stated that we were three individual people requiring three individual beds - more than seven months later, we checked-in to find one single and one double bed in the room. Lucky we were family!

2) We had a leaking air-conditioner in our room. Judging by the stains on the wall and under the air-conditioning unit itself, it had been leaking for quite some time. Judging by the plastic sheeting and pile of white towels on the floor underneath the air-conditioner, the staff were fully prepared for the leak! Rather odd to go to sleep with the sound of a constant drip onto a towel in one ear.

3) When you check in, you get a "welcome drink" voucher, which is nice. The voucher is redeemable at the hotel's Cafe. It gets you either a tap soft drink - overly syrupy and sweet - or a red or white wine - both revolting. The welcome drink is a nice idea in theory, but if they're going to do it, it would be nice to not do it so obviously on the cheap.

4) The staff at the hotel's Cafe seemed to be almost entirely backpackers who were newly arrived into the country and who clearly hadn't taken many English lessons prior to their arrival. It's always slightly disconcerting when you have to tell the person at the cash register what coins you've just given them and provide instruction on how to count them! It's even more disconcerting when the only thing they seem to be able to say in English is "no worries" and when the only description they can come up with, when asked what kind of wine it is, is "a fruity grape". Hmmmm...

5) The hotel apparently has (or had) some carparking available, but it currently isn't available due to some kind of building works beside or behind the hotel (presumably the entrance to the carpark). This wasn't an issue for us, having arrived after 6pm on Christmas Eve, as on-street parking is free between 6pm-8am and all day on Public Holidays. Clearly, however, the hotel staff don't know this because when I asked them for advise on where to park, they gave me the on-street option sure enough, but then told me I should go move it into one of the nearby carparks or get a parking ticket at 8 o'clock the next morning. It's only when I read the fine print on the parking metre that I realised I didn't have to. Kinda basic stuff that I'd expect reception staff at a hotel with no parking to know. Like I said, not a big issue for us in the end, but the story could be different for others not lucky enough to be there after 6pm or on a public holiday.

Would I stay at The Criterion again? Maybe. If I needed to be somewhere in the vicinity of 560 Hay Street. It worked for me this time as I was only staying one night. But Perth's far too beautiful to stay somewhere with no view, so I'd probably choose somewhere with a nicer outlook next time I need to stay in the Perth CBD.

Room Tip: Look like a couple of rooms at the front have balconies - maybe ask for them for a bit of an extra t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criterion Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.