We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Exclusive Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Exclusive Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exclusive Backpackers
158 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stay away from this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I would recommend you stay away from this place, they charged me for 2 nights when I first got there and than recharged my credit card from the number on the reservation the next day again. Luckily I was back in Perth a week later and had to go into the backpackers and argue with the man to get my money refunded. Also if you are a girl be careful the older man who is the owner was extremely creepy to all the females who stayed there, following them around and wouldnt leave them alone.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExclusiveBackpackers, Manager at Exclusive Backpackers, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
This guest arrived one day before the date we had him booked in for. We thought he didn't show, which is why he was charged the one night. A few days later, when the guest rung to point out that he'd been charged one night too many, we immediately acknowledged the error and said that we'd refund him. He replied that he'd be in Perth a few days later and that he'd drop by to pick up his money. We fully refunded the one night, apologizing for the mistake.

Strangely, he said - and insisted - that we owed him an additional $10 in "transaction" fees (the refund was $75). We explained that we can only refund the amount that we overcharged, which is probably why he's angry with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
5
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011 via mobile

Lovely, value or money in perth, large room with tv, cool refuge out of the sun, reasonable kitchen, plenty of seating, staff always cleaning! 3 dollars an hour for Internet.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

great spot. even had a few free parking places. friendly, greek family owned and run. they were renovating and painting while we were there. okay kitchen. perfect location with east perth free bus shuttles right outside.
this is not the wild kind of backpacker hangout though. not a meet and party place. which is exactly why we slept well. and the room was huge (dbl with big tv even)
big grocery about 20 min walk but it's so nice to walk there that car was left parked. stores close early though. 5pm and the gates seem to slam shut!
perth is a bit more costly for backpackers rooms than cairns. but this is a boom town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venray
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

It's a quite boring place! There is an old guy who can't speak English, who came into our private bedroom in the morning!!! The room we booked was occupied and we had to stay in another room for more money! Impossible!!!The people who stayed in the hostel were very boring too! The young Greek Lady.....no words. I would like to write her down. She made it a little bit pleasant to stay. Cheers, I would recommend to stay in another hostel.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

A quaint little backpackers on the fringe of the city centre. Management tries hard to please and the rooms are clean and tidy. The single rooms have to be the best value in town. When I stayed they were $30 for a room to yourself, with a TV. Free bus leaves from near the hostel to whisk you into town or to Northbridge, where the party action is. I jogged along the Swan River most mornings as the hostel was only two streets away from the river. Recommended for a cheaper solo stay with no frills.

Stayed March 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

I stayed at Exclusive with my boyfriend around a month ago for about a week. We highly recommend this hostel as we were very happy with the service, cleaness and location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exclusive Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exclusive Backpackers

Address: 158 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Exclusive Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exclusive Backpackers Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exclusive Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.