We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BOTHER” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baileys Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Baileys Motel to your Saves list
Baileys Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Bennett St., Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Baileys Perth Accommodation) (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Broome, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at this motel due to Workers Comp so I didn't pay, but did look up prices and saw that a standard room was $135pn. For what you get this is way too much - main complaint is the walls are so thin I could hear one man snoring and you could hear every conversation they had. Cleanliness was good and staff helpful. My room also had no main light and fan working and staff did replace battery in control but still didnt work. Ordered room service a medium steak but came rare still mooing and for $42 it was a bit rich

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
22
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were short changed by Brownelea Holiday Apartments. They had put us to this Bailey Motel. Given to us was a Standard Room with Double/Single bed while we required a Family Room. Although room was comfortable with minimum bathroom amenities ,full coffee tea facilities, its facing the blazing afternoon sun thus making the room somehow warm . Room wifi connection was great . Motel staff are very courteous and helpful, We had accidently left our lights on inside our car, they made the effort to call us in our Room . The Front Desk Manager is friendly and certainly very patience person. Motel has ample carpark for their guests .It is facing a Park which is great for our evening walk . The Hotel Restaurand , Cafe BellaVista served great food with excellent service.
It is a great Hotel and we would definitely come back for the "Family Room" in our next visit to Perth.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room facing the park during summer month.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this motel when first locating to Perth late January, with our two children. The motel staff were so helpful, our aircon wasn't working well the first night, but by the second, after informing the office, it was totally fixed and working well. They gave us an adjoining room for our teenage boys and it meant we had internal access but our own space. The motel is basic, but the rooms are big and everything was very clean. The swimming pool area was well used. The only downside was that wifi did not work in our rooms which was a bit of a pain as we were using the internet a lot and had a new device which did not have a point for the broadband cable. We did not eat it at all, spent our time sampling the various eateries just around the corner.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from the cars coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marangaroo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Baileys Hotel Motel for a two night getaway, using a groupon we bought online. The value was great and the room was pretty good, small TV though.
The restaurant was very nice and had a great atmosphere, little bit on the pricey side. However the breakfast was excellent and good value.
Unfortunately there was a concert on in the park opposite so we had to deal with sound checks all day but it was still easy to sleep through, thanks to the good heavy curtains over the balcony door.
All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here under a Groupon which worked out great for a function in the city. As other reviewers have put its not in middle of CBD but easily accessed using the free Cat bus from around corner. Rooms were basic motel style not hotel so don't expect the best. However it was great for our needs. Rooms could do with proper spring clean and new net curtains etc. staff were good no problems there and there is a bar/restaurant on site which we didn't use. When you drive in to park you are reminded its a motel. With guest doors facing the car park on both levels. Pool looked unused and could have been spruced up a bit. For a cheap weekend or stop off on route I would recommend however if you want a hotel and longer stay you will be disappointed. Great Motel Not really a hotel!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Oz
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

First of all you have to read this review bearing in mind Hotel prices and service in Perth are a total joke. Three years ago I stayed in a top hotel on Riverside Drive for about the same price as a room at Baileys today. Anyone coming from a country other than Australia needs to be aware that value for money doesn't exist here and nearly every business doesn't care if you don't come back because they have plenty of other people to rip off.

Negative rant over.

We stayed here after it was recommended by a friend. We are a family of four and as such wanted somewhere we could prepare our own breakfast and a snack in the evening.

I have to say we weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. The building itself is almost retro and looks pretty cool. It looks to have been painted recently and can't be faulted on presentation.

We made great time on our 2,500km drive and arrived a day early, as luck would have it they had a free room so they checked us in. The check in was plesant and professional. What I particularly liked was we were told to leave our bags in our room the next day and they would move us, this would be th norm anywhere else but for Perth that's good service.

Rooms, no it's not the Burj Al Arab, so why be surprised when it looks like a motel room. They were clean spacious with a decent TV and small very basic kitchen. They were cleaned every day and we had no complaints about the hygeine at all. Beds were comfy.

It's in a great location opposite Wellington Park which is really just a tree lined ptch of grass but it's nice enough, I think you can get the free CAT buses almost outside but we weren't heading in to the CBD much.

This place has free on site parking, unbelievably handy, this is a real bonus for it's location.

The pool surround looked a bit shabby but it was closed for winter and my guess is it will get a refurb like the rest of the place.

The restaurant attached to the hotel was great, nice food, great service and they were very nice to our two young boys.

Overall I liked the feel of the place,staff were friendly, nice people staying here who will stop and chat although that is typical of West Australian people who are generally very friendly. My only bugbear was having to pay for internet, it seems to be the norm in Oz but I think it is wrong.

If you want a value for money place to stay near to Perth CBD or to base yourself in Perth for a few days, you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Front upstairs for a decent view, back upstairs for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our requirements for our 10 day stay in Perth was two bedroomed accommodation with two bathrooms, cooking facilities an out door area and prefereably in a quiet area close to the CBD. Bailey's Motel met that criteria admirably. We were quite comfortable in our two units with interconnecting doors so that our teenage daughters had their own space (and so did we) We were on the second floor and our balcony overlooked the carparking area and then towards the CBD so we had a nice view of the highrise city lights. Our kitchen consisted of a kitchen bench, microwave, toaster and a small oven with an element on top - I managed to cook nine meals on it for a family - it reminded me a bit of camping, you rough it a little because that is all you have (I took my own frying pan so that I was guaranteed of a decent cooking insturment) The motel is conveniently located to a number of bus stops (the CAT system which is free and extremely well run) so getting around was great. The street was mostly quiet but as we were opposite a building site it did get noisy first thing in the morning during the week but it was quiet on Sunday. It didn't really bother us as we are early risers but they do start at 7am. The rooms were clean on the surface - the bed linen was of a reasonably good quality, our rooms were serviced daily with clean towels provided. We made use of the pool as it was still on the warm side for us (May weather was on average 23 degrees). Thats the good points. The down side of the accommodation was the towels smelt like kitchen fat - I walked past a door and saw a pile of towels in the kitchen area so I am assuming they are folded in the vacinity of the restaurant kitchen and have picked up the cooking odours - not very pleasant after a shower! The air conditioning units and the fans in the bathrooms were absolutly filthy so were the ceiling fans. The ceiling fan in our room (22) went but only when the light was on so pity help anyone who wants the fan on at night in summer - the manager said that it had been wired incorrectly and the electrician was due this week - judging by the dust buildup on the fan I would say that this was a standard answer to our common complaint. It was really annoying, especially once it got cooler at night as you wanted the lights on but no fan. To the Management - for goodness sake get it fixed!. The cleanliness of the rooms left a bit to be desired, the net curtains need a good wash as they are brown with dust, the edges of the head boards need to be cleaned and so the the top of the tiles in the bathrooms and the skirting boards - these are all areas easily accesable for the cleaner and take two minutes to do but are so obvious to the tenant that it gives the place a slightly seedy appearance. Yes the rooms have been refurbished but I would say that it is some time ago. If the management could clean the rooms better it would be a very good place to stay but there it little attention to detail and it shows. If I had to I would stay again as it did meet our criteria and it was affordably priced compared to other accommodation in Perth. If you are looking for somewhere to stay, this would be a safe bet but don't have high expectations.

Room Tip: Be wary of where you stay in summer as our rooms (21 and 22) got the afternoon sun and would be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baileys Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baileys Motel

Address: 150 Bennett St., Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Baileys Perth Accommodation)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baileys Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baileys Motel introduces quality and affordable accommodation within walking distance to Perth CBD. Guests enjoy access to swimming pool and the great Italian/Mediterranean cooking at the popular fully licensed Cafe BellaVista Restaurant & Pizzeria.Located in East Perth, close to the WACA, Gloucester Park, Claisebrook Cove and Royal Perth Hospital, a Free City CAT bus runs regularly from outside the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baileys Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Parkside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baileys Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.