We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Hatters on Milston

Mad Hatters on Milston
10581a West Swan Road | Henley Brook, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: English, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely staff, great food, well priced, we have been 3 times already and will return again.
Thanks Mad hatters!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Bad chef attitude stops customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Twice we have tried to go for breakfast here and twice the Chef has decided to stop the breakfast service early. Breakfast finishes at 10.30am anyway which is pretty early but to arrive at 10.10am and be told there is no more breakfast service after having called to make sure they are still serving means we will never go back.
Such a shame as this is a local business we would have loved to support to reach its full potential.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Mad hatters is a nice place to go for reliable and satisfying food. the surrounding are quaint but the garden most certainly could do with a little more attention. the alfresco area leaves a lot to be desired. forest green resin chairs. enough said. having said that we had delicious coffee and a very delicious breakfast. considering the amount of food we got for $20 each i though it was well worth it. came with a delicious herb mayo type thing which was pretty good. it was comforting food, large portions. we were pretty hungover and it was just what we needed. we waited quite a long time for our order to be taken, maybe it was a long time to me because i was starving. it was all a haze until that food was in my belly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food is good, the place has a nice atmosphere and friendly staff. The restaurant is located in Swan valley in a beautiful area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Very dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's been ten years since I lasted visited Madhatters (formerly Milston Gardens).

The cottage is now old and fairly shabby. We sat in the alfresco area and it was in need of a good clean (cob webs, flaking paint) there wasn't anything 'quaint' about it. After I'd eaten I visited the restroom - if I'd gone before I would have left and not eaten as they were also in need of a good clean.

The food was excellent, the portion sizing was on the large side - no complaints whatsoever. Beverage list was adequate and they allow you to BYO for $5.00 per bottle.

The menu is comprehensive (they offer light and substantial meals). I enjoyed reading their expectations of patrons - especially how children should behave. I imagine that this might offend some parents but I personally thought it was good that they want to set a standard.

This restaurant just needs a good clean, coat of paint and minor refurbishment and it would then tick the boxes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatters on Milston also viewed

 

Been to Mad Hatters on Milston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hatters on Milston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.