We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark of Perth and Western Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Bells

Swan Bells
Barrack Square, Swan River Foreshore | Corner Riverside Drive & Barrack Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
(0)8 6210 0444
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
History, Culture and Heritage Walking Tour of...
Ranked #35 of 79 Attractions in Perth
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve of the 18 bells in this tower came from London's St.-Martin-in-the-Fields church in Trafalgar Square as a Bicentenary gift to the people of Western Australia in 1988. Originally cast in the 13th century and recast in the 16th and 18th centuries, they were rung at the homecoming of James Cook after his voyage of discovery in 1771, after the Battle of El Alamein in 1942 and at the coronation of every British monach since George II in 1727.
Secret Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Landmark of Perth and Western Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect for the Swan Bell Tower on our first visit to Perth city, or whether it would be worth the entrance fee, or we would just have a look from the outside, but as we were there anyway, we thought we would check it out - very pleased we did.
The building itself is iconic and the displays explaining the design and construction were fascinating, as were explanations of the different roles for bells in different historical times and cultures.
The story of the bells being brought to Perth is a great example of great imagination and vision.
The views from the tower are beautiful because you are right on the banks of the swan river - although for those of us with vertigo the balcony going outside is a bit daunting and best to hold someone's hand and the helpful steward volunteered to help me round !
We visited on a Sunday between 11am and 12.30 and so were able to see and hear the bells being rung and we will return as we upgraded our ticket to be "Friends" of the tower for just an extra $2 each.
You feel like you are very high up when you are in the tower - but the view from the other side of the river shows how it is really dwarfed by the other buildings in the CBD.
All in all, I was really blown away by the bells and thoroughly recommend a visit here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at Swan Bells, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous feedback. We are delighted that the Bell Tower exceeded your expectations and are happy to hear that your signed up to be friends. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    85
    63
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Swan bells”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Interesting for those who enjoy history or enjoy listening to bells ringing. This may not be for everyone but the views from the top deck are great. If you happen to visit on a Sunday morning you may get the cahnce to actually try and ring one of the bells during the tour. Now that is worth a visit as it is not as easy as it sounds as I tried and found I forgot to let go of the rope not quick enough.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Iconic but boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spend a few minutes looking at it - it's pretty and iconic. Tourists can climb it if you're willing to pay for the privilege. Not much else to say really?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at Swan Bells, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to submit a review. We will take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unique design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The design is pretty cool. You are able to walk up to the bells, for a fee though. When it lights up at night and changes colour, it is a sight to see!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Nice Attraction!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not an attraction to make a special visit to but the whole complex around it is good. Go if you have time. If you don't you're not missing out on too much!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Bells also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Swan Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.