We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REVOLTING. Dont stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beatty Lodge

Save Saved
You added Beatty Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beatty Lodge
235 Vincent Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
Perth, Australia
1 review
“REVOLTING. Dont stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We booked for 3 nights and 5 minutes after arriving we booked somewhere else. We stayed the one night. we didnt use the kitchen or showers because of the dirtyness. the grease running down the grease traps above the stove was disgusting. the kitchen looked like something out of a war camp with an old broken dishwasher buckled up. there were no utensils, plates, anything in the kitchens. You have to get these from reception. I was with my adult brother and father and we were all appalled at the condition of the place. People partying till late in the morning. No air con, just a very noisy fan that doesnt help to cool down the room. We have stayed in backpackers on our travels and this was by far the worst place.
There was a guy smoking something lying down by the reception door when we came back, who looked like a regular and you could smell weed when outside.
We were told no sleeping bags in the room because of bed bugs, but we have been bitten since staying there.
I do not recommend this place to anyone. I wouldnt be surprised if it gets shut down by the health department.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    3
    2
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
6
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was the first hostel we booked into for our 3 month stay touring Australia, and we couldn't have picked a worse place to start our Oz experience (only chose this because of a lack of availability elsewhere and was cheap for a twin room after arriving from a long flight). As soon as we pulled up outside, we noticed it was a very large hostel, and a group of drunks hanging around the entrance and in reception, some no doubt on something!! The reception were very casual, like it was always like this, checking us in hassle-free. We booked a twin room, which was comfortable enough, decent size, with a single bed each, TV and table. The kitchen was pretty foul, guests failed to wash up their dirty cooking utensils every night, leaving the sinks full of used equipment. Noticed ants crawling around the kitchen surfaces!! Location was very remote, not very close to shops, and definitely nowhere near the town centre. Bus stops were pretty close though which was handy. Now don't get me wrong, we enjoy a night out and a few drinks as much as the next, but this place was BAD!! In the evenings, the hostel was very noisy (despite notices around the hostel informing everyone of quiet time after 11pm) ...the bedroom walls were very thin, could hear people walking along and even just sitting around drinking in the corridor...even got woken up in the early hours by 4 guys playing their TV at high volume next door!! Would have contacted reception, but turns out they close at 11pm and no-one around to contact in the middle of night to deal with these situations...so just took it upon ourselves to knock on next door and give them a firm, grumpy talking to at "3am" (lucky me and my brother are both 6ft3 so can look pretty intimidating if we need to!). Overall, nothing positive to say about this place, lucky was only there 3 nights.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Not a bad location a short bus ride from the city, Leederville has some good shops, cafes and bars.
The hostel was one of the cleanest I have come across while travelling. Rooms were a little hot, they did have fans though. I think some of the dorms had air con, but these were all full.
The staff were great, very friendly and couldn't do enough. They were able to book me on some of the tours I wanted to do.
All in all the hostel was value money and clean.
My only real complaint was that the kitchen was a bit under equipped for the amount of people staying there, could do with a few more cookers and fridges.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatty_Lodge, General Manager at Beatty Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Hi Roberio,

Thanks for the awesome feedback!!

The kitchen is definitely an area we are looking to improve. The space is great as it use to a commercial kitchen. It just needs a bit of an update, which we are already working on. We've just had the old walk in fridge fixed up and re-commissioned so there's heaps of space for food now. All we need now is a few more gas burners and ovens and it will really be the "best in west"

Once again, thanks for the feedback Roberio. I hope to welcome you back one day so you can see all the improvements we are making. Please contact me via reply to this message should wish to discuss anything further.

Cheers,

Brendon James
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed in a single room for 1 week, I had to change rooms twice. But it was painless.
The rooms are ok but without any decoration and each room only has 1 plug outlet. The rooms have no airco but just a fan which takes up the one plug outlet.

It's clean and there are enough toilets and showers and a large kitchen.

The location is not convenient. It's about 10 min walk to the bus stop. But the bus doesn't go very often. Sometimes it's faster to just keep walking into town (about 30 min).

5 minutes walk from the hostel is a street with some restaurants, a supermarket, post office etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatty_Lodge, General Manager at Beatty Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Hi Anna,

Thank you for the feedback. The only we can improve is going off feedback like your's and we appreciate it very much.

Yes, our location is not is considered central but we often find that the majority of our guests really appreciate that. Our location tends to keep the real "party animals" away and we don't face the same kind of drunken behaviour/security issues as properties in Northbridge or the City.

Bus number 15 runs in to the city every 15 minutes from Newcastle Street and is free. The walk is approximately 600 meters but perhaps you weren't aware of this. I'll speak to my staff and make sure these basic things are being relayed to all guests on arrival.

The decor is getting a little old. We certainly do not disagree with that statement. The exciting thing about that is the owners are re-investing back in to the property and I am currently working on many facility improvement programs, such as;

Room Updates (inc new beds, new TV's, carpet, paint, soft furnishings)
Bathroom Update (new toilets, vanities, tiles, paint, light fittings)
Gym Update (already laid new carpet, paint and new equipment)
Kitchen Update (more burners, ovens and prep area's)
Alfresco extension
New Property Management system
And the list goes on and on..............

My first concept room should be completed by 14/03/11. I have already installed new AC units in the 6 bed dorms/lobby and dining room. Our new lobby is now finished and is a nice place to hang out with wifi, AC and cool tunes from the ipod.

Once again, thanks for the feedback Anna. I hope to welcome you back one day so you can see all the improvements we are making. Please contact me via reply to this message should wish to discuss anything further.

Cheers,

Brendon James
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010 via mobile

This hostel is clean an big rooms but the staff are rude and power hungry that they made are stay a nightmare . We planned to stay for 3 months but after 2 weeks we couldn't deal with the staff looking down there noses at us and talking to us like something they found on the bottom
of their shoe. My boyfriend started work a week before me so during that week I was at the hostel alone. Because of this the cleaner assumed I was a prostitute and thort everyone should no my apparent dirty behaver! I have never been so insulted ! I wouldn't stay here ever again I'd rather sleep in my boyfriend ute ! I hate it there and enyone in there right mind would stay well clear.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I was expecting Beatty Lodge of offer a slightly better than hostel accommodation - boy was I wrong! The place was filthy - especially the bathrooms, which were not cleaned for the duration of my stay. The carpets were filthy in the hallways and bedrooms, there was no air conditioning, I was kept awake by drunken louts, food that I had in the communal fridge was stolen on more that one occassion, and I was followed into the female toilets by a drunken male late one night. My bedroom was riddled with bed bugs and there were people smoking ice outiside the comon area. All in all, the entire stay at Beatty Lodge was a nightmare. NEVER AGAIN! There is much better accommodation for a cheaper or comparable price in Perth.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatty_Lodge, General Manager at Beatty Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Hi Migsy13

My name is Brendon and I am the new manager of Beatty Lodge.

It is certainly distressing to read your comments about your experience with us here. I just wanted to touch on few things that have changed here at Beatty Lodge since your stay in 2010.

I have personally reviewed all processes in all departments and have made many changes. We now have a Managers Checklist that includes all public areas. This checklist is completed twice daily. We are now constantly auditing these areas to ensure they measure to our new brand standard. We also have a PM public areas cleaner so everything is being checked at least 3 times a day.

In terms of food stealing and unsavoury guests, we now have a zero tolerance policy for this kind of behaviour and have several long-term guests that report back to us about issues that arise Management are off site. We also have food lockers now so guests have the ability to keep their food under lock and key.

The decor is getting a little old. We certainly do not disagree with that statement. The exciting thing about that is the owners are re-investing back in to the property and I am currently working on many facility improvement programs, such as;

Room Updates (inc new beds, new TV's, carpet, paint, soft furnishings)
Bathroom Update (new toilets, vanities, tiles, paint, light fittings)
Gym Update (already laid new carpet, paint and new equipment)
Kitchen Update (more burners, ovens and prep area's)
Alfresco extension
New Property Management system
And the list goes on and on..............

My first concept room should be completed by 14/03/11. I have already installed new AC units in the 6 bed dorms/lobby and dining room. Our new lobby is now finished and is a nice place to hang out with wifi, AC and cool tunes from the ipod.

Once again, thanks for the feedback Migsy13. I understand that your first experience was a disaster but I still hope to personally welcome you back one day so you can see all the improvements we are making. Please contact me via reply to this message should wish to discuss anything further.

Cheers,

Brendon James
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Clean, organised, helpful staff, good parking round the back and great location. The cooking part of the kitchen area is a bit small but other than that it is probably the best budget accomodation in Perth for a long term stay. It cost me and a friend $140 each to share a twin room with a TV wardrobe desk and big chest of drawers it was excellent and very very clean.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beatty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beatty Lodge

Address: 235 Vincent Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beatty Lodge offers you quality budget accommodation, ideally suited to groups and individual travellers. Whether you are in Perth for study, sports, business or pleasure, Beatty Lodge has the facilities and comforts to make your stay an enjoyable experience. Relax and meet fellow travellers from a diverse range of cultures in a comfortable and friendly environment. Beatty Lodge is ideally located close to sports facilities, parks, and universities. With secure, clean accommodation spread over three floors and a variety of room types including single, double, twin, triple and dorm rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Beatty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatty Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beatty Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.