We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sullivans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 hotels in Perth
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Stayed at the Sullivans Hotel for 2 weeks and can highly recommend this hotel. Food is excellent. Very friendly staff in all areas. Clean towels each day. Free internet, free bike hire. We cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. We found it very convenient for the City and Kings Park.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    182
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
59
184
45
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

When I arrived at Sullivans I was disappointed with the size of the room (it was tiny), so I asked for an upgrade to a deluxe room. This cost $20 per night (£8) and was definitely worth it. It was a huge room (more than double the size of the standard room), with a large balcony with great views of Perth city centre, a good air con system, a large settee and nicer decor than the standard room.

Definitely go for the deluxe!

Really friendly hotel, free internet access in reception, a laundry room with washer, dryer, iron, a nice swimming pool, a bar and restaurant (although we didn't try the restaurant as there were so many in Perth!).

Excellent location, 10 min scenic walk by the riverside to the Barrack St Jetty or a free bus stops right outside the hotel every 7 minutes (5 mins to centre of town).

Don't go expecting 5 star luxury, but do go if you want a good location, clean hotel, family run & friendly with good amenities.

I'd definitely stay here next time I go to Perth.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of standard room - go for the deluxe!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

This is a small hotel within walking distance of Perth CBD,close to Kings Park. It is not the most lush of stays but if you're travelling on a budget as we were then it is exactly what you need. Friendly, efficient staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Good rates. Pool and aircon for the really hot days. It's also on the route of the city's free central CAT transport system, with a bus stop right outside the door so getting around the town couldn't be easier

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at Sullivans at the end of Jan 07. I think it is fair to compare it more to a family run B&B than a hotel but it was a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly, there was access to laundry facilities which is helpful when you're backpacking, and the breakfast was fairly good. It is in a great location right next to the free CAT bus stop and is easy to get around from. We enjoyed our stay in this fabulous city!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Spent 6 days here after New Year. The weather was rubbish which didnt help our mood when checking in! The hotel is located just out of the cities CBD but ideally has 2 bus stops right outside the hotel. One which is a free bus that takes you into the city and the other bus takes you to Cottesloe or Scarborough Beach! Perfect! The staff at the hotel were generally very good apart from the 2 main reception staff who were rude and hopeless! I knew more about the area after having arrived 48hrs previously than they did. Julie and Betty (ran the restaurant and bar) were brilliant! Nothing was to much trouble. Food was basic but good and cheap! The rooms were fine, alittle small but fine! The chambermaids were ready to clean the rooms far to early in the morning so forget a good lie in! Ideally located, food good, basic but good little hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

I booked this hotel on recommendation of Trailfinders. For the rate paid, this small hotel offers good value for money. Our stay was part of a trip encompassing Hong Kong, Perth, Ayers RocK, Sydney and Bali and was the only "budget" accommodation in which we stayed, so I am trying to be subjective in this review.

We stayed in a "deluxe" room which are quite large, at the front of the building and have balconies. I would not have wanted to stay in the standard rooms as these were at the sides and must be very dark as they look straight onto neighboring buildings.

The decor and furnishing in the room is a little tired and needs some upgrading. I also felt that provision of a safe in the room is a must these days. With a few minor improvements and upgrades, this hotel would be really really nice

There is a laundry room at the hotel which was really useful to us as we were away for three weeks.

The location is superb and the free bus stops right outside. Free cycle hire at the hotel also really good. There is a small pool and some sunbeds at the rear.

All in all a nice place, but I have been spoilt by the other, but to be fair, more expensive, hotels we are accustomed to!

  • Liked — good view
  • Disliked — No room safe, needs a facelift
  • Tips/Secrets — use the free "CAT" bus to get around the city great!, take out the free cycles!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

My wife and I spent a very happy week in Perth W. A. We stayed in Sullivan's - a very good choice in every way. It was situated within walking distance of the city centre yet overlooked parkland with a view of the river. Behind the hotel lay King's Park - a very beautiful large area of parkland (accessed by a demanding flight of steps).
The hotel bedrooms were excellent, the restaurant provided a wide range of meals - all very good and the hotel staff were unfailingly cheerful and helpful. Well done Sullivan's - we hope to visit your Perth again and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel adjacent to Kings Park, overlooking Swan River, a short distance from center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.