We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sullivans Hotel to your Saves list
Sullivans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Welcome surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Last minute booking for this hotel before an early flight. right from the outset we had great service. Email enquiries regarding our requirements were answered quickly by very friendly manager. Hotel seems to have been refurbished recently. All the public areas are bright and well maintaned.There is a small bar and a restaurant. The room (standard category) was well equipped and very clean. Shower only, no bath.Our linen was clean and fluffy towels seemed new.
We had a very tasty meal at the restaurant that was good value and to a high standard of presentation. The service was exeptional and all the staff very nice and helpfull.
Got a deal on the rate through Booking.com for under AUD100 so was very pleased.as Perth can be very expensive. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    221
    116
    30
    15
See reviews for
71
217
60
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived very early morning on Friday just gone and were told by the lovely man on reception that we could leave our bags and have a complimentary hot drink as a room was not available. Fair enough. After finishing our tea and coffee, we were able to check in as a room had become available - wonderful!

The bed was extremely comfortable, the wifi worked very well and the room was absolutely fine, perhaps just a tad tired. The location was ok and of course being on the free Blue CAT route made getting around hassle free. We had complimentary toiletries, chocolates, cold water, tea and coffee, hairdryer and the option of a movie, however once one room had booked a movie that was the only option for the entire hotel.

Would stay again, represented very good value for money in Perth. The man on reception was an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There were positives and negatives about this hotel. The hotel was well situated within a 20 min walk of the city centre and also within easy reach of the Swan River walk and Kings Park. There was free wifi, chocolate in the room, excellent food in the restaurant, a good choice of drinks in the bar and a coin operated washing machine. The bedroom however was very basic and in need of a complete makeover, despite having a good size modern TV and fridge. There was no safe in the bedroom (valuables could be left in the hotel safe) and no soap dish in the shower or no tooth mug. The rooms were also in need of soundproofing since it was quite noisy on the corridors. We would use the hotel again because of the positive features mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sullivans was a lovely hotel and it was very handy with the free city bus stopping right outside the door. Meals were lovely and staff very friendly. Limited parking but was not a problem. I got a wonderful deal for room and was very impressed. I would recommend this hotel especially if you need to get around city without own transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location- an easy walk to downtown or take the free Blue CAT bus next door. If you want to head toward the beach or UWA there is a bus right across the street. You can walk to Kings Park or borrow a bike.

There is free internet.

The restaurant had friendly and professional staff and a good menu.
Although the rooms were a bit worn and towels not as thick as I would expect it was still a good value.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front are a bit noisy but the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurín el Grande, Andalucia, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first stopping point for our round Australia trip. Firstly, the hotel is in a great location, only 10 minutes walk into the main part of town, But if you are feeling less energetic there is a FREE Cat bus that stops right outside. that will take you round the city. The room was fine not the Ritz but great value for money, and in Perth that's saying a lot as it is Expensive..
There is a Guest Laundry at the back of the hotel, so if you are travelling that's a big help. And also a small, but nice pool area. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. would we stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sullivan's hotel is in a good position. It is close to Perth city and the freeway. Rooms were fine. Meals were excellent. The value of the rooms are very good for Perth as it is now an expensive city to stay in. We have been back three times. and plan on returning again soon as it meets all our needs

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.