We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sullivans Hotel to your Saves list
Sullivans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Fuengirola, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very pleasant hotel, within easy reach of the city via public transport. Nice rooms, very clean, staff were very friendly. Didn't eat there because I found that over $20 for a Continental breakfast was a little steep. But all in all would stay there again. They even gave us a discount card for the next visit - valid for 2 years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    221
    116
    30
    15
See reviews for
71
217
60
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for three weeks in March and so can truly say I know this hotel and its excellent staff well. I had originally booked in for one week as I found reasonably priced hotels almost impossible to find. When I arrived I was told that I had been upgraded to a deluxe room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. This was a lovely room looking out over the city and towards the Swan River. It had a nice big bed, tea/coffee making facilities, a nice bathroom with copious amounts of clean towels available and was serviced everyday. I agree that there can be traffic noise from the roads nearby but his was not overly intrusive but could be noticeable at rush hour times yes Perth does have .he usual jam ups familiar in other places! The staff at the reception, particularly Jean, were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice, small garden at the back with a nice pool, which was great for a dip. The restaurant in he hotel was very good indeed and very reasonably priced compared to prices in Perth itself - the quality of the food was excellent. Continental breakfast was $15 and really lovely with lots of fresh fruit, cereals and lovely breads. Cooked breakfasts were $25 but I did not experience this as the continental breakfast was so good. The bar in e hotel was small but adequate and well stocked. Perhaps the only slight irritation here was that it sometimes closed a little early, though there might have been some other reason for this e.g. Licensing laws or simply lack of custom later on at night. The location of this hotel is fantastic being right next to King's Park. Directly outside the hotel is the free Blue Cat bus which can take up into town in about 10 mins. Transport links are very good indeed as the Cat bus takes up up to the rail station. The hotel is very easy to get to by car and the hotel has a decent sized car park. I enjoyed myself so much at this hotel that I did not bother searching for other accommodation and stayed on for the rest of my two week holiday for which I negotiated a very good price AND I kept my deluxe room! Be warned hotels in Perth are extremely expensive as there is very limited hotel accommodation in Perth and also the prices are being driven up by the mining and gas industries. This small three star hotel gives great value for money and is clean and well presented. Well done Sullivans!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and provides all that is needed with adequate sized rooms, more than satisfactory food, fridge, a/c, wifi and a helpful staff. It is right on the free bus route into the city, but unfortunately the service stops (apart from weekends) at 7-30 and it is quite a hike into town. I would fully recommend this as good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good hotel if you have a car as reasonable sized free car park (but can get full). Basic rooms.
Just out of CPD but there is a free bus into centre but on weekdays they stop running at approx 8pm.
Due to New Year some restaurants in CBD were closed but hotel restaurant did good basic food and good breakfasts.
We were lucky as not scorching hot but window mounted A/C units were noisy (we did not need to use them). Small swimming pool adequate.
Perth public transport is good and so if you want to rely on that a more central hotel might suit you better.
We thought it good value for what you paid

Room Tip: Avoid front facing rooms as road could be noisy. As it was New Year I suspect traffic much lighter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is well located for seeing the city of Perth with a free bus stopping right outside. The staff are helpful and friendly, providing a speedy check in service and information on the local area as needed. This is a 3 star hotel and although it is clean & tidy, the facility could benefit from some renovation. Rooms could be made a little more welcoming, bathrooms are out dated & room security is poor, with no safe provided. Road noise can be a problem with rooms at the front of the hotel. Sullivans offers a city location at cheaper rates than the major hotel chains and is therefore a good place to base yourself for a few days sightseeing.

Room Tip: 2nd & 4th floors offer larger rooms with balconies. Choose rooms to the side of hotel to avoid s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was passing through Perth en route to another WA destination with an overnight stay.
Check-in friendly but, that was about it
I have stayed in 5 or 6 hotels in Perth at least, this had the worst room by far.
Basic furnishings, no attempt to make room more welcoming, TV precariously up in corner, small cramped bathroom

Really a (bad) motel 6 economy room masquerading as a boutique hotel
As, before, on Trip Advisor I am surprised to read some of the glowing reviews on this hotel but I can only conclude these guests must have been staying in much better rooms. Problem is: I didn't pay for a cheap room !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This small family run hotel is in the most idyllic Mounts Bay location, just below Perth's famous Kings Park and opposite the beautiful John Oldany Park. The staff make you so welcome and go out of their way to be helpful and take care of your every request when possible. A dip in the swimming pool was a wonderful way to relax and cool off after a hard days sightseeing. We was particularly delighted to make use of their laundry so all was clean again as we set off on the next part of our holiday (not expensive and soap powder available). Our bedroom was small but this paled into insignificance by all the other wonderful assets this hotel offers. It is immaculately clean. The dining room bright, cheery and well managed. Breakfasts were excellent and the one dinner we had was superb. Perth's FREE CAT bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you into and around the city. We will definitely visit here again.

Room Tip: We had a side room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.