We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and very clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Maud Swedish Hotel to your Saves list
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Karratha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and very clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed here when I was in hospital just around the corner. They were really helpful as we didn't know how long I had to stay in hospital. The day that I came out of hospital we stay together in Miss Maud for one night and the service was fantastic + it's a very clean hotel! Everybody was very helpful. Hopefully our next trip to Perth we will have a nice stay again in the Miss Maud as this is our favourite hotel in the middle of Central Perth! Thank you again for everything. Dan and Laura

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    227
    90
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
205
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a really great time at Miss Mauds. The location is A1 just walking distance from the main shopping centre, with lots of amazing shops. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly and could not do enough to help us settle into our room. Though the rooms were compact they had every amenity we needed. The bed was big and comfortable and the room quiet which gave us a good night sleep. The room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely fresh clean smell which we noted when we first walked in.
The breakfast. Wow. Soooo nice. I think I over did it and couldn't eat Lunch.
Lovely hotel. Had a wonderful stay. I can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

3 of us stayed in a spacious room with 3 separately beds for 4 nights. We were happy though the windows faced other rooms with no outside view, as we were out the whole day. Therefore the room is quiet which we are happy to trade in for noisy outside view. Price was expensive, but the hotel is less than 10 minutes' walk from 2 pedestrian malls. We had all our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel which can be very expensive if not packaged in with our room rates. We are not too pleased that the range of salads and fruits at breakfast or dinner is very limited and there is no non-fat milk available. Service staff at the restaurant is prompt, polite and efficient, but the same cannot be said of the hotel reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room at Miss Maud's as we were tired of hotel rooms that all looked the same! This quaint hotel in Central Perth was an interesting change, with its old cage lift (currently being replaced), the winding corridors, and themed artwork. Our room was well-appointed and clean, and the location meant we could explore the CBD on foot. The smorgasbord breakfast at Miss Maud's restaurant was fabulous!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

if like my cousin and i who are having a family reunion in perth over christmas do not like feeding the kids things like mcdonalds for junk food. then take them to any miss maud especially thIs one. the atmosphere is great the staff are competent. Quick and friendly

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Miss Maud's restaurants made a name for themselves in 1970s Perth when the city was much less cosmopolitan than today. This Hotel was a later edition but it is based on a similar Swedish theme, which today, unfortunately, no longer means much. We spent a weekend in one of the larger rooms in August last year and the experience was enjoyable but not at all special. The hotel is in a remodelled older building with bizarrely twisting hallways leading to the rooms. Our room had a high ceiling (good) but the windows were high on the wall and unreachable (bad) and the view was of a brick wall (very bad). The room was clean and functional, nothing more. The breakfast we had been looking forward to but it turned out to be our biggest disappointment. I guess we are spoiled by the variety and quality of fresh fruits and vegetables that one gets these days in European hotels. Miss Maud's heavy emphasis on high sugar foods was a big disappointment. On a positive note, given that prices of Perth hotels match or exceed those of London and New York, the cost of staying at Miss Maud's was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I booked the hotel as it is said to offer good complimentary breakfast and also reasonably priced for a single room in the middle of the city. The staff at the reception were friendly and efficient, they matched well with the homely decor of the place in making you feel warmly welcomed. The single room I stayed was clean and enough room for one, it has a pinewood-top desk and a standalone wardrobe that kind of made me felt like I was staying at someone's house. Wi-fi was provided free, and the breakfast was indeed great! What I appreciated most is the location, it's only a block or two away from the main shopping area, and I was glad to discover a yummy ramen (Japanese noodle) shop just a few doors from the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Maud Swedish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.