We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Maud Swedish Hotel to your Saves list
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Good value, cosy hotel in a decent location.
We stayed here for 1 night, mid-week, as we were going to a concert in the city. The location is easy to get to and you can walk anywhere in the city from here. We had a balcony room which was good as the rooms are a little small, but what you would expect from a hotel with character. It's not a modern box style hotel, like an ibis, but feels more like a comfy old sofa. Staff were polite and breakfast was delicious. If you have to stay in the city, especially with mid-week prices, there is no point in staying anywhere else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    227
    90
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
205
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff were very friendly the rooms very comfortable if a little dated. We stayed here for 2 nights, a Friday & Saturday. There was a hotel opposite our rooms & the noise until after midnight made sleeping impossible. In view of the noise I will not have stayed at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rms160 to 165 as very noisy. I am not sure if they are the only ones affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

just fantastic stayed one night this weekend fabulous food and very comfortable room
smorgasbord breakfast and dinner were a winner for us they had everything
got the package deal very good value
very friendly people and staff will stay again and tell friends

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, CT
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Quirky humorous hotel well located, but be careful of somewhat seedy shops nearby. Rooms are small. Wi-fi is uneven. Breakfast buffet is included and is of good value. As Perth is expensive, it is a good idea to have a hearty breakfast so you can eat a smaller lunch.
If you are driving, an important tip is that parking overnight between 6 and 8 the next am is free, so you don't need to use the parking lots.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Check-in quick and efficient. The antique 1930's style elevator was just big enough for two people and a large suitcase. The double layer doors required manually opening/closing and it moved slowly and noisily, but smoothly. Our room was on the top (2nd) floor and we found it quicker to use the stairs although I found the lift fun to use.
We booked a standard queen room but after reading other reviews I wonder if we were upgraded as the size was good. Being a corner room we had two opening windows. Bathroom and plumbing was modern. Corridors and room clean and in good condition. While the theme is 1970's Swedish, hotel looks like it has been refurbished recently. Our room was at the back of the hotel. It was quiet, except for the odd plumbing noise and creaky floorboards. No view. Everything worked fine. Bed was firm, clean, comfy pillows. Well serviced every day of our six day stay.
Restaurant had good selection for breakfast and food was of good quality except bacon which was tough. Pastries and pancakes are nice. The theme was Swedish and the waitresses were cheerful and helpful.
10 min walk to bus, underground, malls. Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby but very little nightlife as everything seems to close by 9pm.
Due to our evening flight I asked for a late checkout. The desk offered 11 am and any longer would have cost us a half day charge.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Central to most of Perth's attractions great breakfast nice room, on the bus route, little noisy at night need to invest in some simple soundproofing change of doors and thick curtains would help, friendly staff will be back.

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in your room rate was a great start to each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great location in a short walking distance of everything. Fabulous breakfasts. The lift was a bit tricky with heavy suitcases until a passing staff member suggested tying the door back with the rope provided (I hadn't actually SEEN a lift like this one for decades). The room was fine. Definitely a better choice of a place to stay than the second hotel we stayed at :).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Maud Swedish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.