We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay in Perth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Maud Swedish Hotel to your Saves list
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place to stay in Perth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights and found the hotel to be great for our visit to Perth.
We stayed in Room 233 which has a balcony, not the best view across the street of multi storey car park but look left or right and you can watch everyday life going on. Bit of noise from the road but didn't disturb our sleep.
Room is comfortable, clean with everything we needed- bath with overhead shower, to soak in after long day of sightseeing. Hair dryer, toiletries , iced water left in fridge, coffee,tea making facilities , mini bar if you want it.
There is a laundry room ,washing machine (2 dollars, washing powder provided) ,tumble dryer (2 dollars) and iron and ironing board. Great for us as we are travelling for 4 weeks.
We like this hotel because it is run by friendly, knowledgable staff, it's not one of those big impersonal hotels. There are free safety deposit boxes at reception which is manned 24 hours a day.
Breakfast is excellent, will keep you going most of the day which is just as well as it's a very expensive city to eat and drink in! The restaurant reminds us of Betty's Tea Rooms in Harrogate, very much an institution around here, popular with the locals.
The location is excellent, easy walking everywhere. The CAT buses are free and make it easy to get around the city. Trains easy to use to get to Freemantle and beaches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    228
    90
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
206
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Spent four nights here and would recommend it. Centrally located beside CBD but is an older building with great character. Room (see below) was reasonable size with a balcony and while a little old in decor, suited our needs. Excellent buffet breakfast that is strongly recommended. Staff very helpful, except for a disinterested night porter on late arrival. That first night we had a spacious interior room with windows high up and onto a dark light well - a bit jail like ! However staff at reception in the morning could not be more helpful and quickly found a new room.
Would also recommend the restaurant, a smorgasbord of great quality and quantity. However the musical entertainment is not a strong point ! Different in a good way from the usual chain hotel.

Room Tip: make sure it is an outside room, even better if one of four with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

was a wonderful time here. Loved the food, very tasty. management were really helpful. The rooms were a little old looking but it was still a nice stay. The food was great, no complaints to be had. The premises was located in a good spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

the hotel is ideally located for downtown Perth, and it has a multi-storey car park literally across the road

the rooms are tiny, and dated..if you have a lot of luggage, you may find yourself struggling to get to your room, as there are stairs at the strangest places!

the breakfast is just amazing - pastries/bread are stunning, which one would expect given that Miss Maud owns a chain of Swedish bakeries, but I simply overdosed on the mountain of berries that is served every morning..helped down with a pancake or two! (or three...)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Walking into the hotel that was located in close proximity to the Perth CBD, we arrived in Miss Maud Swedish Hotel which had a warm Swedish touch to the entire setting of the hotel building. Check-in was quick and efficient and we moved into our room.

The lift was somewhat rustic and required you to pull two doors open after it arrives upon pressing the button on the side of the lift, as we walked into our room, it looked really simple but had all the basic necessities required, the bed was really comfortable and the entire room was clean, hygienic and tidy. Wi-Fi was a huge plus especially in a city like Perth.

Breakfast next morning was lovely. Delicious Smorgasbord breakfast with lots of choices from scrambled eggs to grilled tomatoes with cheese, sausages, bacon, waffles, fruits, pancakes with cream, blueberries and lingonberries etc.

For the price of AUD$189 I paid per night by e-mailing them directly, it was value for money if you would to calculate that the breakfast buffet alone costs around AUD$27 per pax. Hotels in Perth are also extremely expensive so this was a rather reasonable price.

Service was lovely and efficient. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This little hotel in Perth has fantastic staff that will bend over backwards to help. The staff almost got the hotel up to 4/5 rating.

The hotel does not have enough power points. In my room, the desk was against a wall that had no power points - the nearest power point was on the opposite wall. If you did not want a trip hazard in your room you had to plan your day based on the battery life of your laptop. This problem could be solved with simple rearranging the furniture.

The hotel is like staying at your grandmothers house in the last guest room. If your grandmother is a little old lady (LOL), the wall paper looks LOL, the pictures on the wall remind you of a LOL, the narrow twisting corridors remind you of a LOL, and the lift. The lift has a manual door, and has a clean but very pungent and unpleasant LOL chemical smell.

Location is fantastic. And the mini-bar had some Miss Maud cookies/biscuits.

Would I stay there again with my money? Probably not. Would I complain if someone else put me up there? No.

And remember, it is in Perth. You can find a lot worse for a lot more money in Perth.

Room Tip: If you are under 50 you might be the youngest guest in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is located near to CBD and within walking distance to the malls. You are also able to take the free CAT buses to popular tourist attractions like Kings Park and Harbour Town. The rooms are small but adequate. There is a small lift in the hotel for those who have walking problems or who does not want to take the stairs carrying heavy luggages. We took the room package which included a Smorgasbord Dinner and breakfast. Simply love the buffet dinner spread and since it was around Christmas, we had party poppers too! I wouldn't mind coming back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Maud Swedish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.