We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Perth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Maud Swedish Hotel to your Saves list
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Atherton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to Perth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My 2 night stay at Miss Maud Swedish Hotel was perfect. Daughter had booked a superior room for me and it was spacious, clean and had all I needed. I was tired after a long flight and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING. All the staff were friendly and helpful, including the bakery staff who were patient as I made my choices. Thank you.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite. Couldn't fault it - no traffic noise, plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    229
    90
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
206
75
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Miss Mauds, is a lovely place to stay in the city. It has real nice decor, nothing new. But that is alright. The rooms are simple, and Wi-fi is free (always fast too!). And the rooms serviced when you want. Price is reasonable (under 200), and very comfortable.

I would say, I had little issues with being there. My biggest trouble was typical city noises... Then I am used to the birds chirping all day long. And the sounds of the ocean.

I did not visit the bakery, though I have been told it is amazing. Down the road is a cafe called 'Negro Macardo' (or something like that), which make amazing coffee and all the staff are super friendly, with fast food and service.

The restaurant is a Swedish type buffet, I only tried a steak, so cannot be sure whether good or bad. Although it came overcooked still very tender. And the staff are super friendly, should you be interested in a chat.

In terms of accommodation in Perth, I would say, that this is one of the best places to stay. There is no parking, however 400m away is a very secure parking lot ($35.00/day). Reception is 24/7. And yeah, think that is about it. They even have an outdoor area on the second floor.

Room Tip: South end corner has many pipes running along side it. (A little noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quairading, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were that it is very well kept. Common areas & rooms were exceptionally clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely-lots of options for all tastes. Our twin room was quite small but had everything we needed. There is no parking at the hotel but there is a public pay parking directly across the street. Walking access to most city attractions is easy and the free city buses have a stop close by. If you are a light sleeper like myself I would recommend ear plugs-there was no noise from the outside traffic but I could hear other people coming and going, shutting doors late at night and their plumbing running (but I personally do find this at a lot of hotels!!). All in all I found this hotel perfect value for a one night stay and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: I have been told rooms at the front with a balcony are roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our superior room was large, well-furnished and spotlessly clean. Outside the room, the hotel is certainly different. The carpeted wooden stairways let you know they are made of timber and the tiny lift is quaint. Unfortunately it ceased working on our departure day and hauling luggage on stairs is not recommended for older people. The last time we saw a lift like it was in a Cairo hotel about 30 years ago. The smorgasbord/buffet breakfast/dinner is excellent value. We have seen better spreads but at a very much higher price. Our room overlooked Murray St, excellently located one block from the Mall and being winter we decided to open the windows rather than run the air con on the first night and regretted that as there was a lot of noise from the street due to a nightclub somewhere in the vicinity. We left the windows closed and ran the air con the second night and the noise was minimal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Murray St will be very noisy probably more so on Friday and Saturday if windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount martha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

By far the best hotel i have stayed in Australia . Amazing friendly and helpful staff from the restaurant staff to reception to in house service . The price of the hotel is very reasonable and the breakfast is fantastic , best danish pastries i've had in a long while . Rooms are perfectly adequate spotlessly clean and very quiet .
What is also great is that they have retained the character of the lovely building which sadly is not the case in most other hotels which become bland and all the same . The location is also perfect , it could not be any more central .
I will stay here always when in Perth and look forward to my next visit .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Found this place by accident and glad I did! Very comfortable accommodations with a HUGE smorgasbord breakfast included in the room price. The only down side was no onsite parking, but there was a car park right across the street and excellent free public bus service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Miss Maud Swedish Hotel for just one night during the weekend. It was an easy choice as we know how good their morning buffet breakfasts are, which is included in the price of the accommodation. Although the rooms are small and the hotel itself is not all that big it is a definite repeat location. You could hear little if any road noise, nothing from the "neighbours" and the beds were quite cosy. The water hot, the showers good and the TV had some Foxtel channels for those who wish to watch. Great location, about a block from the city malls, not far from Northbridge for food and entertainment and did I mention the breakfasts??? Smorgasbord breaky that is just fabulous! Will do again.... soon I hope.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Maud Swedish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.