We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea a Bit stale” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Duxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“High Tea a Bit stale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Off to the Duxton to have high tea. A group of us celebrating a birthday , and there where not a lot of others there, $38 for tea scones some finger food sandwiches and other sweets, and for $10 extra you can have a glass of champagne. Unfortunately the sandwiches were air dry from being made and left out, the cucumber had leaked through the bread and some of the tarts where soggy from being left out before being brought to the table The scones where nice though but for the price I was expecting more . Maybe we might try again but if your not into unusual types of snacks be sure to request what you would like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Nautilus1958,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Firewater Grille high tea. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef and Firewater Grille Manager for review. We are very reputable for our High Tea and we look forward to welcoming you back and I reassur you that you will be impressed.

Sincerely

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    160
    101
    45
    34
See reviews for
40
172
15
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on their ' relaxing break' deal. This is a top class hotel, well appointed, great staff, and well positioned. Had a great Thai meal at "Red Opium" round the corner, a wonderful nights sleep after a nightcap in the Duxton's comfy bar. Breakfast was as good as you'd expect from a five star hotel. Great birthday treat!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear dallanhk,

Thank you for your review on the hotel and it was a pleasure to read that your stay was superb. The team will have the opportunity to read your review and I have passed on my sincere appreciation on their service excellence.

Warm Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in a One Bedroom Suite. This room included access to the Club Lounge. The Duxton is about the only hotel that we have not experienced the Club Room at and I have to say it didnt disappoint. In fact, it may rate as one of the best. Our suite was very spacious with a separate living/dining room with a TV, dining table and 4 chairs and a 3 seater lounge and TV and a study desk. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and bath and the water pressure was perfect. Our King size bed was wonderfully comfortable - the only thing we wished we had done was request a room with a view over the river. The evening drinks and canapes were wonderful - so much so that we didnt make it out for tea on either night. The quality of the food and drinks was exceptional and the service wonderful. My husband is very fussy about breakfast and generally loathes buffet breakfasts but he did make comment that the breakfast in the Club Room each morning was one of the best. The food was all hot (his main gripe) and the choice was more than enough. We had no complaints at all. The staff are really something special - nothing was too much trouble. If I had to find something to complain about it would be the internet and mostly that I found it frustrating to have to continually log in every time I used a device. It seems to log itself off very quickly. I also had difficulty in getting internet in the bedroom. But that said, everything was so lovely that I really didnt need it that much. We will certainly be back

Room Tip: To remember to ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Fabbo8,

I was pleased to read your review and I also appreciate the comments on our Club Lounge facilities and that your husband enjoyed the food so much.
I will ensure that the Duxton Team has the opportunity to read your TripAdvisor review.

Thank you for selecting the Duxton Hotel and we look forawrd to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in February of this year .The location is excellent with easy access to the local buses which are incidentally free.The room was nothing special ,breakfast choice was limited ,staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Anne550,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that the team provided their usual friendly service. During the month of February we were renovating the restaurant our apology for the inconvenience caused to you. Please I encourage you to view the website of the new restaurant called Firewater Grille.
We are continuing with room modernisations this year and also early in 2014.
All feedback is welcomed.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard king on a Saturday night. The lobby wows you as you enter, and check in procedures are quick friendly and easy. The room I believe is not 5 star, it's well equipped just not special, the bed is extremely firm, small tv for the room, decor a tad to plain and dated, bathroom incredibly dated. The only other concern was the sound proof ness of the rooms, you could here the people sneezing and laughing next door and as a lot of the airline staff stay here there were doors slamming at all times of the night. The rejuvenated firewater grille is beautiful inside and breakfast has a good range. Nice hotel but rooms let them down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Travelwhoopwhoop,

Thank you for your review and I appreciate your comments on the room. We will be making changes to our rooms over the coming weeks to improve the comfort of our beds and early next year further design changes to all rooms.
I am thankful on your positve comments on the service from our Team and the Firewater Grille.

Thank you for selecting the Duxton for your recent stay and hopefully we have the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Warm Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Five star service that began with opening the cab door for me. The staff were all smoothly professional and helpful.The foyer is lovely and the bank of elevators very efficient. My room was large and well appointed, though the bathroom looked a little tired. The bed was comfortable and the room perfectly quiet.

I would have appreciated more accessible power points in the desk area. I had to unplug lamps in order to plug in devices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ausbirdlover,

I am glad that we were able to make your stay very enjoyable and that the Duxton Team were to provide excellence in service. Thank you also for your constructive remarks and I will consider these improvements.
I appreciate that you selected the Duxton Hotel for your recent stay in Perth.

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time, brecky very nice. Service great at this hotel, nothing was too much trouble! We even were given a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were celebrating a birthday. We were very impressed and would stay here again. All the staff were great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear franknbettyPerth,

I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your wonderful coments on the overal service by the Duxton Team. Once again thankyou for selecting the Duxton Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Address: 1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.