We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear. Is this really a 5 star hotel!?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Duxton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 hotels in Perth
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Oh dear. Is this really a 5 star hotel!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

General experience over a 3 day stay:

- unprofessional checkin
- old room that is in desperate need of a makeover
- room service sloppy
- water pressure non existent
- wifi constantly drops out
- can hear the guy in the room adjacent to me loud and clear as he talks on the phone! What the?!

Do yourself a favour and look for something better. I'm regretting the choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear gza222,

Thank you for advising me of the faults during your stay. We are addressing the areas that require attention as you have mentioned. I apologise that you have been inconvenience during your stay.

Sincerely

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    162
    102
    45
    34
See reviews for
40
173
15
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights thanks to work as we were moving to the USA. Staff lovely and go the extra mile, lobby, rooms and pool all immaculate! Even though there was renovations going on i hardly even noticed it. I was working in the room most of the time so room service couldn't get in although would always come back and make up room when I was out to lunch. Very impressed by this!
Only bad point is the WiFi is terrible. Very hardto connect too and drops out every 30 seconds. Considering it was free during our stay due to renovations I didn't complain but if I was paying the usual $8 per day I would have been very upset. Moving around room, corridor and even the lobby didn't help. I even changed laptops and asked the staff but no help could be given.
So if your someone like me who desperately needs the Internet to work make sure it's working properly before staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Ashleyw123,
Thank you for your words of praise for the service your recieved. I apologise for the inconsistency of the WiFi. I have made some adjustments to the our WiFi system to prevent the reoccurence of these faults in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to advise me.

Sincerely

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has the look and feel of a hotel that would have been great 10 years ago however they forgot to stay on top of maintenance. They are doing some renovation work now and whilst the rooms are very large and comfortable the overall quality of service and presentation lets it down.

I've stayed here a number of times and based on my experience, you have a 50/50 chance of having a pleasant stay. I’m undecided on whether to recommend this hotel and have split the pros and cons below. Depending on what you are looking for and the high prices of accommodation in Perth, you may still wish to give this hotel a go.

Pros
Large comfortable rooms
Large bathrooms with separate shower and bath
Friendly front office staff
Free internet
Easy to find free parking near hotel
Views over the river

Cons
Disclaimer: Not all issues occurred on the one night

Rooms not cleaned properly (hair in bathroom from previous guest)
Rooms not cleaned properly (towels / face washers soaps not replaced)
Rooms not cleaned properly (toilet cleaner left in entry way to room)
Hot water can take up to 10 minutes to start running in some rooms
Poor room service – hair in apple crumble
Poor selection at buffet breakfast

I did complain to management and whilst they rectified the situation, it felt as though they were accustomed to the complaints and did not really care to improve / believe there service was of a high standard.

Best of luck...

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a room close to the lifts on the river side. The best chance of having a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear noneedformaps,

I appeciate your feedback and wish to reassure you that all renovations are now complete and I have address our shortcomings to the relevant departments for assessment and the neccessary training to be conducted urgently.
We have upgraded our hot water system to prevent any guest experiencing a delay in recieving hot water.
Thank you once again and hopefully we are able to offer you a better more efficent experience in the future.

Kind regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Considering the noise and facilities are pretty much taken up with renovation I felt there really could have been a little more friendly help from front desk. The hotel takes very large charges on one's card even for short stays against incidentals and it's handled in an abrupt and unhelpful way. So service could be vastly improved, I had to request things over and over from front desk.
Breakfast was super good, especially the pancake machine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Pheephox,

I welcome your feedback and appreciate the oppportunity to improve the efficency of the front Office team. I have personally followed our shortcomings with my Front Office Manager. I apologise that we have not handled your requests in a prompt and efficent manner.
I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection and I have passed your comments of praise onto our Executive Chef and his team.

Best Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this hotel was very nice to stay at comfy beds nice rooms and the overall hotel was very nice, very old fashioned but nice. The food was great and the cocktails were really tasty with a great range on the menu, i loved the pool quite a small pool but really relaxing area. close to everything and the Indian restaurant across the road is great to so that's really handy. Also we had hired a Lexus to drive around on our holiday and they were great with parking it for us and they actually parked it right out the front at there front door the whole time so that was really handy. good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear nikkie d,

Thank you for your kind positive review. It is rewarding to get such positive feedback and I will ensure that the Duxton Team receive accolades for their service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with spacious, clean, and comfortable rooms. The service is excellent, except for the rude woman in the downstairs bar who clapped us out of the bar at midnight like school children. Very rude.
But aside from that, a great hotel. Unfortunately the restaurant was being renovated so breakfast was served in a downstairs ballroom. It was good enough considering they were in a temporary location, but the new restaurant looks like it will be lovely.
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the bathrooms, while spacious, are starting to look a tad dated and could do with a renovation soon.
Location is good, a bit of a walk from the city but we had a car so it didn't bother us. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the building have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear 22bld22,

I enjoyed reading your feedback, thankyou for your gracious words. I will address the Bar member and her action it was not approriate at any time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and again have the pleasure in being of service to you.

Sincerely

Bruce G Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Very surprised by some poor reviews the Hotel is very good rooms spacious beds very comfortable , we travelled Australia for two months staying in this type of quality hotel and this one is right up there

Breakfast excellent advisable to book in your package

Only poor side was on final night after coming back from a day touring would liked to have dined in Hotel restaurant but found a note left by room service on return advising they had a Lord Mayors banquet and guests had to use the ballroom , they must have known months in advance ? Why not advise on check in ?
Maybe as a non paying guest the Mayor should use the ballroom !

Not cheap but you get what you pay for
Would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Weldge,

I read your comments favourably and appreciate your welcoming feedback. I will ensure our team recieve praise for their efforts, it is always encouraging to read that our guests are satisfied. I apologise that the restaurant was not open on monday evening due the the official opening of the new Firewater Grille. It is always very difficult at construction time to set the correct official opening date and not to inconvenience guests at the same time. Its is done now and sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perth very soon.

Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Address: 1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.