We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay well clear !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Duxton Hotel to your Saves list
Duxton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stay well clear !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

An unfriendly place to stay, very overpriced, with near complete lack of service, mixed with an unusual level sulky arrogance. Where the 5 Star rating come from is more than questionable, this Hotel is a dated and faded with an endemic attitude problem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    198
    114
    51
    37
See reviews for
47
206
19
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

For a 5? star the room is dated/tired. Availed of the $259 weekend package and really don't think it is worth it at all. We had a shower before going to a concert and found it to be boiling with no cold water coming thru. To get a decent mix you need to almost turn it off and then there is no pressure. To make matters worse it then alternates between hot and cold as in 20 seconds hot and 20 seconds cold and then hot again etc. Rang reception who sent up a maintainance gentleman who said he would replace taps. As we were going out (which we told him we were) he said he would come in with a card to fix. We left him to it. The next morning the shower was the same! Mentioned it on checkout and that maintenance had been called. They asked if we had been offered another room, we weren't. No apology was offered.
I have sent an email to management of the hotel and yet to receive a reply.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the Duxton with work on Sunday 19/2/2012. Arrived at reception at 6am after a long night and looking forward to a good sleep.

After a hassle-free check-in it was time to grab a quick breakfast before retiring for the day. The hotel restaurant is great. An outstanding selection of quality food to chose from.

The room was located on the 9th floor with excellent views of the Swan River. There were two queen size beds, a desk and couch by the window and a large flat screen TV. The room was tastefully decorated with quality fittings. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom has separate bath and shower, and was spotless. The shower has proper screen doors, so no issues with water escaping onto the floor. The bathroom, like the rest of the room, has a modern, quality feel to it.

Once up and about, it was a 10 minute walk to the main shopping precincts of Hay and Murray Street. Before leaving for work I ordered room service. The meal was good and arrived in less than 20 minutes.

All in all a very pleasant stay, I would be more than happy to stay at the Duxton again.

Room Tip: Try for river-side rooms above floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed in the Duxton for an extended period while doing some work in Perth. I found it a very mixed experience:

On the positive:
-The rooms are large, and if you are on a high floor at the back of the hotel (8+)you will have a nice view over the river.
-Rooms have a comfortable work desk and comfy chair to relax in. Ample cupboard space and well appointed bathroom.
-Housekeeping was good: the rooms were cleaned thoroughly and bathroom was always well stocked with products.
I used the complimentary limousine service which was a nice touch

Negative:
-There is absolutely no noise isolation between rooms: I spent quite a few hours listening to my neighbour in the next room snoring through his night. It is hard to ignore the noise if someone in the next room turns on the television.
They sell the hotel during the weekend as a romantic get away: I am not sure how many couples realised how public their private moments were.
- Airconditioning in the rooms is loud
- Service is nowhere near as good as in Asia, but I found it ok. Staff at the reception and concierge were friendly and helpful. I agree with some other reviewers that the restaurant staff was slow and not very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel immediately impresses when you drive up. Very classy and an excellent inner city location. Check in staff were helpful as were staff in the club lounge. My room was fantastic, huge with a king sized bed and leather sofa. Bathroom was great also, big, marble, separate shower and bath. Worth paying extra to get on the club level, the view from the club lounge is to die for. The only constructive criticism I would give is that the concierge is not very good. No one to greet me when I arrived and no one helping guests with taxis when I was trying to get to the office.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Maybe it was because we had not long before been in friendly cambodia but we didn't find The Duxton to be at all friendly. The pool is too basic for a smart business hotel such as this. Also, a hotel ofthis standard with no wifi should not charge for the internet. Despite good breakfasts, this hotel needs to try harder. The excellent location is a bonus though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The service is shocking. The restuarant staff cannot be bothered making sure diners are given the service you would expect. Slow and mediocre service. Staff do not bother checking the tables and seem very inexperienced. What a let down, shame on you Duxton management team for letting the standards slip so much. Overpriced food with bad service is not acceptable. Too many other nice places now so don't waste your time or money on the overated and poor performing Perth iconic Hotel that should be able to do a lot better for all it's fancy frills and shiny exterior. This place is froth and no substance. Expect to be let down like I was ..walked out angry and let down and the staff to whom I complained stared blankly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Address: 1 St George's Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.