We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location For WACA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Clare Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mont Clare Boutique Apartments to your Saves list
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Perth
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location For WACA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Monte Clare when we were attending the cricket at the WACA (about 800 metres walk from the hotel). The 3 bedroom apartments were very spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly. What we liked most though was the pool. It was 42 degrees at the cricket so we came back to hotel between innings for a swim. I would highly recommend the Monte Clare for any groups/families holdaying in Perth who want the extra space and self contained amenaties an apartment provides.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    77
    52
    42
    33
See reviews for
84
35
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Agree with previous review - location in East Perth, a 15 min walk from downtown, or a 5 min ride on the free CAT bus, is excellent.

Apartments at the front of the building can be noisey from the traffic on Hay St, particularly as opposite the Mont Clare is another set of apartments, so the sound tends to channel down the street. I'd always recommend the rear facing units, which overlook the small lap-pool.

Possible reason for the low price is simply the huge number of flats and apartments that have gone up in Perth. Mont Clare is remarkable value for money and in the immediate vicinity there are both good quality restaurants (Benson's under the Saville Park suites opposite Mont Clare) and budget food outlets, as well as a mini-supermarket only 1 block away.

The units themselves are not luxurious, but are very comfortable and all the beds we've experienced have been good quality. Fox tv in all the rooms.

The price we were quoted direct was about half of those indicated on the website. Never discovered why.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — No view, traffic noise if you are in a front facing apt
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the property direct for prices
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

Initially I was hesitant about the Mont Clare Apartments due to the location and the 'affordable' price. Funny right? And you thought I should be glad that for a 2 bedroom, I could get a rate as low as AUD#130, where other apartments in Perth city are offering close to $200 or more.

That's the problem with us travellers... when a deal is too good, we tend to be cautious.

But after reading some reviews from various sources, I decided to give it a go. We booked for our first 3 nights on our visit to Perth.

Mont Clare is not in the heart of the city but it's only 15 minutes by foot and less than 5 minutes by the Free CAT bus. And the best thing is the CAT is only a stone's throw away.

We were pleased to find that our 2 bedroom was spacious and pleasant. It was clean and cosy. The fully-equipped kitchen was ideal for a family like ours (3 of us) and could easily cater for more people.

The apartment is at the edge of the city, in EAst Perth to be exact. It is quiet and we do like the absence of the hustle and bustle of the main city. It is walking distance to the Queens Gardens if you like to take a walk or stroll in the morning.

The only shortcoming about the Mont Clare is the absence of a good view of city streetscape or the Swan River. It is surrounded by apartments and the balcony is quite small.

But how many of us really sit around the balcony to watch the view when we pick an accommodation in the city. If view is what you are after, go for a South perth apartment or sunset coast.

For the price, the Mont Clare is great value and we would recommend to families and anyone on budget.

  • Liked — Price and Space
  • Disliked — lack of view
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your own research about itinerary cos the reception doesn't offer much help except brochures on the shelves.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

Lovely apartments.Very clean-everything needed in a self -contained apartment.Full size kitchen,with dishwasher,microwave,Full size oven.Washing machine and dryer off shower room.Reception staff very helpful and efficient.

  • Liked — had everything that you need in a self-contained apartment
  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Excellent. Large spacious modern rooms. Full kitchen with full fridge, oven and dishwasher.

I am fussy, but could not fault the accommodation. Slightly out of the CBD, but not too far.

My first five star thumbs up.

  • Liked — Large comfortable and luxurious rooms.
  • Disliked — No internet.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have dial up.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

Great place for families or couples. Quiet location, just on the edge of the city but with good small supermarket, takeaways & restaurants very close by.
We had a 3 bed, 2 bath apartment with a safe balcony, overlooking the pool. The kitchen is well equipped enough to cook a family meal. The rooms are large, with loads of cupboard space & there was a washing machine & tumble drier in one of the bathrooms. Air con in the main room cools the whole apartment. Pool is unheated but clean and a good size.
There are 7 floors & I've read that the lift only goes to the 6th so make sure to ask for a lower floor! We were on the 3rd & it was great. The insulation is good too as there was no noise at all from surrounding apartments. There is a safe entry system to the reception area, which we thought was great, but the area felt safe anyway, so it was a bonus.
We would denifately stay here again if we went to Perth. It was clean bright & fresh. Higly recommended.

  • Liked — very clean, roomy & well equipped
  • Disliked — had to go across car park to get to pool
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

Reception was closed when we came from the airport, but we were told earlier to retrieve the keys and instructions from a secure compartment with a pin no. A plus pt for those who fly in at odd hrs.

We got a 2-bdrm-2-bathrm apt and it was of quite substantial size with plenty of space for the two toddlers. Air-con was located in the main living area. Rooms were clean, but pretty stuffy with the doors closed, as there were no fans / aircon in each room. Bathrooms were sparkling clean. Washing machine and dryer were easy to use, except that the lint in the dryer filter was so thick that clothes didn't even dry out after 2hrs of spinning!

Secure parking with proximity card. Receptionists were helpful with our requests and queries.

A supermarket nearby for our cooking needs.

Only 1 thing - East Perth is really quiet with no restaurants nearby. Approx 7 streets from main Hay St shopping area. Only small cafe outlets, serving Chinese takeaways, pizza, kerbabs...

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Clare Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Clare Boutique Apartments

Address: 190 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mont Clare Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mont Clare Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Hotel Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Clare Boutique Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.