We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but clean and tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Perth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Perth to your Saves list
Mercure Perth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Irwin Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New restaurant now open!
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Frome, Somerset
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but clean and tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a one night stay at the Mercure after a long flight so was quite tired on arrival.
Check in was hassle free, and friendly enough. No help getting bags to the top floor though!

The room was spacious, but dated. TV was limited, and the bathroom was in need of an overhaul, but was at least clean.

The restaurant downstairs was OK. Not very busy but it took nearly an hour to get our food after ordering which was not impressive. The menu was a typical Grill type list of food. Portions were not that great, but it tasted fine.

Breakfast had two options, cooked or continental. Only eggs on offer were scrambled, and the sausages were awful. The coffee was insipid. There was a good range of fruit and cereals though,

By the morning the room access key had stopped working, and this took three (!) return visits to the front desk (from the top floor) to get it working again. My work mate had exactly the same issue!!

In all OK if you're passing through. Not cheap but then nothing in Perth is. Though Beer at the downstairs bar at $7.70 for a small bottle was still cheaper than the nearby pubs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear CAFCDarren,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Mercure Perth. You have raised some really important points here that we need to follow through. These comments are invaluable to us to ensure we are always improving/maintaining the standards of what we extend to guests and we thank you. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the Mercure Perth should you wish to discuss any of the details further. I can be contacted on 08 9326 7000. Thank you again, best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    569
    319
    89
    27
See reviews for
278
463
140
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hassle free stay at Mercure Perth; room was immaculate, cleaned superbly every day, laundry service excellent, staff exceptionally friendly, efficient & competent. I did not make use of the dining facilities so unable to comment on that aspect. A neat and comfortable bar area on the ground floor was well frequented by patrons too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate people taking teh time to share their stories with fellow travellers. Be sure to let me know of you are ever back at the Mercure. Thank you again, best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

While I appreciate the free upgrade given, I was not too please with the "worn-out" condition of the room. In the bathroom, the tap was rickety and the ventilator was not working. It makes me wonder if I was given a room in the old wing because of the free upgrade or because I'm an Accor Advantage member and was given discount for the room. Thinking that the standard check-out time is12 noon, I asked for a late check-out. To my dismay, the staff told me that the check-out time is 10 am and the latest they could extend was till 11 am and that I would have to pay for another day if I want an extension beyond 11 am. Honestly, this is the only hotel I have stayed where check-out time is so rigid. However, I must give credit to the spaciousness of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear shirlene01,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Mercure Perth on Trip Advisor. From what I can see from your comments you were upgraded to our East Tower which houses our Superior and Deluxe Rooms. These rooms are as you have mentioned are very spacious and a more recently refurbished . The unfortunate part was the bathrooms was not refurbished at the same point due to increase in bulding costs and budget conrsaints. I am sure you would agree the size of the bathrooms are great and being in the same tower as the roof top swimming pool, gym and spa is convenient. Thank you again, it is always good to hear from our valued Accor Advantage Plus Members. Best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at 11am and were able to check in to our room and were also given an upgrade. This was fantastic after a long flight. The service from the restaurant to room service to front desk services was impeccable noting was a problem. The bathroom was a little dated but room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear smacshouse... Wow what a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to make such positive comments about the wonderful team we have and the facitilites on offer....Thank you again, best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really struggle n Perth to find good accommodation at a reasonable price. I'm still looking. I have stayed here before and it's in a central location however the rooms, bed and bathrooms are standard. The breakfast buffet is average and it would be great if they lit the dining room to create a better feel in the morning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Honkin243,

Thank you for your comments and the time you have taken to review the Mercure. We will take your comments to the relevant teams to discuss because although Perth is Perth , we at the Mercure strive to be better and by taking on board feedback this how we are going to do it. Thank you again, best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelling on business and advised reception I am allergic to dairy products and require rice milk for breakfast. Not only did the manager on duty go out and buy rice milk, they called me up that night to let me know it's been done and just to ask for it at breakfast. Also received an upgrade to a superior room which was greatly appreciated. Definitely recommend this hotel to business and holidayers alike. Will return to this gem of a hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear beboundryless......Thank you so much for sharing such a great story from your recent stay at the Mercure Perth. I had to go down and share this with the team before I could even respond because this is the type of service we aim for on a daily basis. I have passed your thanks onto Kai and Anthony who were responsible for getting the milk and they too are equally appreciative of the time you have taken. Thank you again, best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a very pleasant weekend in this hotel which is situated close to the ferries, train station and main shopping area of Perth. Since we we were upgraded to a very spacious suite it seems a little ungracious to make adverse comments about the room but it looked out onto a multi-story car park and had an adjoining door through which the rather strident voice of a female neighbour was all too clear. The separate bedroom, however, protected us from this and allowed us a very quiet, comfortable night.
The hotel staff were very efficient, friendly and obliging and responded quickly to a minor problem with our room safe.
The buffet breakfast was a little on the expensive side but offered a good choice of hot dishes.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Perth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear john_collingwood,
Thank you so much for all your feedback and for taking the time to complete a review on the Mercure Perth. You should nerver feel bad about giving constructive feedback, we welcome it and where possible it allows us the opportunity to make positive change. My response to your feedback regarding the view would be, hopefully we make it up with fantastic service and a terrific location. Thank you again and best wishes, Mandy Rodgers - Executive Assistant Manager, Mercure Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth

Address: 10 Irwin Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Perth Central Business District, Mercure Hotel Perth is close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Swan River, Perth Mint and Supreme Court Gardens; you'll find many of Perth’s attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Perth Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.