We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Stay Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Stay Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
City Stay Apartment Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 Wellington St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (West Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fair value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment (#217) at the rear of the property and were very satisfied with the quality of the apartment for the price. The apartment was clean & functional and the staff were pleasant and obliging. The hotel has a well presented mini mart where you can buy your breakfast essentials for a reasonable price.

The hotel is located right on Perth's excellent free transit CAT bus system.

The swimming pool/barbecue area layout - at the back of the car park, is not very attractive however the pool was clean and refreshing in the hot summer weather.

Yes, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    46
    19
    7
See reviews for
72
15
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was not the best hotel we stayed in for our 9 day trip around Perth and Albany. I don't think I have encountered such selfish guests in all our years of travelling. Children playing chasing in the corridor at 6.30am and people continuing a drinking party at 1am around the pool area the next night, thank heavens we were only there to sleep (although with difficulty) and to shower (which was very nice) and change. There was parking available which seemed to be rare in Perth city. Close to highway to head north and close to the airport. If not fussy go for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth - Western Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is brilliant, Yellow Cat (free bus) just outside the entrance, Harbor shopping town across the street, and parking is free! Yes the rooms are simple, nothing fancy but they were clean. Would recommend highly if you needed to stay in the city for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at City Stay for 2 nights recently due to a medical appointment in Perth.
Unfortunately there is very little I could say that would be positive about this hotel.
On checking in we discovered that we had been booked into a two bedroom rather than a one bedroom apartment, we realized this when the cashier asked a much higher price than we were quoted. He was able to find us a one bedroom room and changed us there, however, still charged us a higher price than what we had initially been quoted.
The lifts was broken, 'until further notice', and we were on the third floor. As I have mobility issues we had specifically chosen a hotel with a lift... so it was disappointing to have to climb 3 flights of stairs. The hotel staff did not know when the lift would be repaired.
The first trip on the stairwell, I noticed that there was litter on the landing (gummy lollies and lolly wrappers.) These were not cleaned up for our entire stay.
The room smelled quite strongly of chemicals, and was not as clean as I would have liked. The hotel is 3 and a half star, but given the cleanliness and the very budget fittings, I would only describe it as a two at best.
As the apartment was self contained, we asked the cashier for directions to a supermarket. He drew us a little map, which showed a supermarket 2 blocks away. After walking for more than 5 blocks, I was no longer able to continue, so my husband left me outside a store (which was closed being a Sunday, so we couldnt ask directions) and continued on for 2 blocks. He could then see the supermarket, a small convenience store, still another block away that was closed (due to Sunday trading) This was fairly frustrating! My husband then took me back to the hotel and walked for another 45 minutes before he could find a take away venue.
The hotel was quite noisy during the night, it was a mechanical noise, perhaps air conditioning units? We are both very heavy sleepers but I noticed it when getting up during the night, it would keep any light sleeper awake.
A menu in the room suggested that we could ask for a top up of milk, tea, coffee and sugar each day for free, (We were given 4 tea bags, 6 sugars and 200ml of milk on arrival) However when I asked at reception I was told this was incorrect, that top ups were not allowed, and it would cost me $1!? I have never heard this in a hotel before.
The biggest and worst shock came though when we went to check out. The receptionist told us there was an outstanding amount on our bill due to us being in a 2 bedroom apartment. We told her we had been changed, even pointing out the staff member who changed us. She then decided that we had been given an incorrect rate, so even though we were in a one bedroom, we still owed the amount. She was extremely rude and aggressive, raising her voice and insisting we pay the difference. Eventually when I was close to tears, my husband pointed out that there is absolutely no way we would have accepted a higher rate and stayed there, but instead stayed in the city, so she said she would let it go this time.
I will never stay at City Stay again, and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book on the internet so that you have something in writing which shows the price, do NOT book over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 1 night just before flying home. We chose it for the location - for some great shopping at Harbour Town (just across the road!). The room was very basic but clean & has a little kitchen. Parking was free but the car park lot was very small! Given the price & location, it was good value.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quairading, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is great value when compared to other places. The hotel was clean and offered free parking but like most city parking it's very tight. The staff were amazing. I had a toddler and newborn with me and I was offered trolleys for luggage on the way in and on the way out when I was really loaded up one of the cleaning staff pushed my luggage trolley for me and another staff member even helped me load the car. It is a little noisy with traffic but once the fans were on I didn't hear anything and that was on a Friday night.
I booked through another site and requested a cot and didn't get a reply so would recommend phoning for special requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and away from smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Is easy to go town center and fremantle by public transport if you are staying there. We had no transport while we were staying there for 3 night and for us the apartment was acceptable with that price and location. Don't expect too much, the ceiling fan inside the master bedroom may be too low to you, the window may not impress you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Stay Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Stay Apartment Hotel

Address: 875 Wellington St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > West Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Stay Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Stay Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Stay Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Stay Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.