We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for the value only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Perth to your Saves list
Travelodge Perth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay here for the value only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

As my heading states it's great value for money as its in Perth.

I have stayed here 6 times, unfortunately this may be the last time. I stayed at another hotel on the north side of town on Sunday and it has a lot better value for money in cleanliness and modernness.

Unfortunately, little thinks irritated me this trip.
1. The bed sheets didn't reach the end of the bed, when I jumped in both nights I touched the mattress with my feet as the bed sheets were either too short or bed not made properly.
2. I found a cockroach in the bathroom.
3. The right hand mattress was sunken, based on most people sleeping on that side as that's the side the tv is on. The other side of the bed was much firmer. I would have organised for mattresses to be moved around every few weeks to you get a even use.
4. In the restaurant (this is a comment I
Made last time), in the area where the coffee machine is the cleanliness under the bench is woeful, there are spoons and general dirt on the floor under the bench. As this is in clear view if you sit by the window looking into the coffee machine area it should be cleaned constantly. Obviously cleaning is only done where you can see.

In stating this this is a convenient hotel, however value for money is getting low as I have stayed in better in Perth for less.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear fabian1982,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the issues that caused you irritation during your stay at Travelodge Perth.

I have passed your feedback regarding the sheets on to the housekeeping manager and asked her to retrain the team on correct bed making procedures. We have full pest prevention measures in place, one cockroach may have slipped through but please be assured there are normally none in the hotel. We rotate our mattresses in accordance with the manufactures instructions. The breakfast service area is cleaned everyday after service, some times during service it can get a little messy but is always cleaned afterwards.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me, please feel free to contact me at jbristowe@travelodge.com.au

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    315
    157
    47
    25
See reviews for
85
238
83
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Staying here is like staying in a central business district college dorm, the whole place smells horrendous and the walls are paper thin. Also the internet is expensive and very slow? Do not stay here if you are a business traveller, this is a place for guys who work in the mines and just need a place to crash and are used to sleeping in the desert. Steer very clear

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ChaseWashington,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Travelodge Perth.

Last year we installed new doubled glazed windows in in all our standard rooms to improve their noise reduction and make for a much more comfortable room. In July we will be installing double glazed sliding doors on all our balcony rooms as well although they are already quiet and peaceful rooms. I do not know what smell you are referring to throughout the hotel as all carpets are regularly cleaned as part of our maintenance schedules and we have received no other comments in regards to odours.

We are definitely one of the most competitively priced hotels in the Perth market. You will always get are best rate guaranteed by booking online or directly with us.

For the internet please just connect to the Travelodge network with the strongest network signal and you will enjoy high speed internet.

If you would like to discuss your stay, please feel free to contact me at jbristowe@travelodge.com.au

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

An ideal city hotel at a very competitive rate. Great having a 'Red Cat' bus stop(part of the free city bus service) right outside the hotel for easy access to Perth Underground and the shopping centre.
Bernard and Kevin on reception could not have been more helpful and courteous. The restaurant manager and waiting staff were all very polite and helpful.
Will definitely stay at the Travelodge again.

Room Tip: It was great having a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel but it can be rather noisy well int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear HMC58,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found your rate to be competitive.

We pride ourselves on having a team that will always deliver good service and everyone here will be delighted to red your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

You get the basics but that's it. Everything can be best described as adequate but nothing more. No complaints and no compliments.

The location of the hotel is close to st. George's terrace but there are quite a few more options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Gaurav K,

Thank you for taking the time top provide us with your feedback.

Our hotel provides guests with everything they need to have a comfortable stay whilst visiting Perth for leisure or for business. There are other options within the city but you will find Travelodge to be of excellent value for money.

You can always get the best rate by visiting our website or calling us direct.

We hope to see you again soon at Travelodge Hotels.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Travelodge Perth. It was very good. I drove straight from the airport, which took me 20 minutes. They have a car park downstairs. Checking in was easy and welcoming, specially when you arrive at 11pm after traveling for 5hrs. I got a room on the 3rd floor. King size bed, all working facilities and a good size bathroom. Room service was exactly what I was looking for. Not fancy, but very tasty. I can recommend this hotel at anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Maurorisch,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just for your reference, we do not actually have guest parking onsite but there are numerous options near us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked through Internet booking service - price was good value for money as Perth hotels can be expensive. Good location - 10 minute walk east of the main shopping mall and the same to the Swan River walk and cycle paths. Also handy for law courts precinct. Desk staff are pleasant and helpful young adults.
Rooms are clean, comfortable king bed, everything needed for an overnight stay. Ask for an east facing room - great view overlooking St Mary's Cathedral. These rooms have balconies and big sliding doors - lucky really as one minor issue is that my room did not have individual air con control - as beds have cotton covered covered quilts it was too warm for me at this time of year. This end of Hay is fairly quiet after midnight (stayed on a Friday night) so traffic noise low - and it is good to have fresh air.
One thing - NB Tourism Perth!! It is disquieting to see day time drunks in the Murray street main shopping mall.

Room Tip: East side of the building for a good view ( fronting Hay Street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear overflow,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review on Tripadvisor.

The team and I are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are ideally set up for both business and leisure guests and our hotel is everything you need without the fuss.

All of our rooms have individual Air-con controls in them. Please accept my apologies if this was not made clear to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Another very average hotel
What is it with Perth accommodation?
No parking, dated rooms and corridors but .... Friendly staff and an ok bed. Sick and tired last night so opted to order room service. Mistake!
$32.00 for nasi goreng and a diet coke/postmix. Terrible meal of gluggy rice crap
Disappointed and won't stay here again. They charge for Internet and the place is so noisy. Ongoing maintenance maybe no idea

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Garth O,

Thank you for your review.

As you pointed out we do not have onsite parking available but there are numerous options available in the vicinity. Please see our friendly reception team on check in for more details.

The hotel is currently going under extensive modernisation works, this includes new elevators that will be installed in July.

The Nasi is our bestselling dish on our menu. Please accept my apologies if yours was not up to our usual standards. I will be passing you feedback on to our kitchen team to help them better improve upon their service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Perth

Address: 417 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#17 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new generation 4 Star Travelodge Perth is ideally situated in Perth's CBD, a short stroll from City Malls, Swan River, Perth Concert Hall, with a free city CAT bus stop at the footsteps of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Perth Hotel Perth
Travel Lodge Perth
Perth Travel Lodge
Perth Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.