We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but booking direct does not offer the best rate...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Perth

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Perth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Perth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 hotels in Perth
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel but booking direct does not offer the best rate...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was in a great location and rooms were pretty clean but I would recommend booking through wotif, agoda etc to get the best rate (Even though they claim to offer the best rate when booking direct...). We booked for three nights originally at $130per night and decided to book an extra two nights due to the convenient location. When asking reception whether this was possible they told us the best rate available would be $250 per night and they could not budge on the price as it was not being offered cheaper anywhere else. After going back to the room we checked the website and it was on there for $170. So, due to the lack of helpfulness and honesty of the employee at reception we decided not to rebook the hotel and chose to stay an extra two nights elsewhere. Other than that, all was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear NLW1987,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies for our reception team quoting you the wrong rate. We do indeed guarantee the best rate by booking direct with us and will actually beat a rate for our hotel found cheaper elsewhere by 10% . Please be assured that this was just due to human error on the part of the receptionist all the rates we have online are available direct. I will be ensuring that the team is retrained on this.

If you would like to discuss the matter further with me, please feel free to contact me at jbristowe@travelodge.com.au

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    244
    130
    43
    16
See reviews for
64
200
57
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We had a room on the fifth floor, just at the end of the corridor without a balcony. It was a nice room, big enough and had everything we needed. Already on the first evening, there was a very strong and aggressive smell in the corridor, seeping into our room. Something like nail polish remover or turpentine. As we were passing reception on our way out to eat, we informed them. They said that there had been some painting done on the 6th floor, which might have imposed this smell on our floor, too. When we came back, the smell was not so strong any more and so we left it at that. When we came back to the hotel the second afternoon, we nearly gagged struggling to get to the end of the corridor to open our room door. It was dreadful and I went straight to the reception to inform them that we were not happy. Most of all, inhaling these fumes was not at all healthy. The receptionist was very helpful and showed me another room on the 7th floor. The smell was intense there, too, so we moved on to the 3rd floor - no difference. In the end we settled for the second floor room and paid $20 additional charges per night in order to have a balcony (with a table and one chair). I asked them if nobody else had complained - it seems we were the only ones that day! We must point out that the staff were all friendly and helpful (reception and restaurant). They even informed us that we would have to wait longer than usual at the restaurant as they had such a lot to do. That was fine with us and the delay was minimal. We do, however, criticize the way the management was handling the situation. They knew that the repairs were going on and it was clear that the stench of the chemicals used were being distributed throughout the hotel either by the air conditioning or just via the staircase. They could have informed the guests before or at arrival (like other good hotels do) and thus one can have the choice of living with it or changing hotels. We find this showed a lack in interest to the well-being of the guests.
Our meal at the restaurant was very nice.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ursula P,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies if some of our general maintenace work caused disruption to your stay. We had been doing some light repairs to some hotel bathrooms over January and normally the extraction in the room prevented any discomfort being caused to guests.

I am pleased that the team was able to assist you in finding a comfortable room to stay in.

Kind Regards,

John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at this Travelodge at the beginning of January on our way back to the UK. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel for our 3 day break in the journey and this hotel certainly didn’t disappoint.

Located on Hay Street the hotel is just on the edge of Perth’s main attractions BUT is still only a few minutes walk away from the main ‘attractions’ and with a bus stop right outside the entrance it’s easy to get about.

I have stayed in Travelodge’s before so I knew what to expect but I think anyone who stays at this hotel will be pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in was of a very good standard and was very comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect to find. The restaurant and bar was friendly and offered value for money. All the staff we very professional and helpful. We arranged a couple of tours through reception with no problems.

A great location and a great hotel for a short break in the sun!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Bob D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be such excellent value for money.

I hope that we continue to exceed your expectations on your future visits.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Finding a decent hotel in Perth at reasonable price point is a challenge. The Travelodge is a good option for a couple of days. The rooms are fine although a bit more attention to cleaning would be good, you can get hoovers these days which reach under the beds for example.

Internet in my opinion was expensive but then again I don't think Australia has caught up with the rest of the World in providing free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Adamworld,

Thank you for your review.

I’m glad you find us good value for your stays in Perth. Please accept my apologies for the cleanliness under you bed, I will be sharing your feedback with the housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Neat.And Clean particularly the bathroom. Quiet, Good service and pleasant staffs. All furnitures were in very good condition. Only the departure took long time as the staff was searching for the customer on the net without attending others and one of the staff left counter seeing us waiting long time which was very uncourteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear hira30,

Thank you for your review.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for the service you received on check out. This is not our normal level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is one of a very few with balconies on one side of the building which is why I chose it for Australia Day. Only $150 with a 2 for 1 breakfast voucher which was great so $23 for both us. We also had dinner at the restaurant there which looks out onto Hay St and the food was excellent with good smokers seats available. Full bar also. From there its an easy walk to the river, jetty bars and restaurants, city centre and Northbridge is also walkable but there are free Cat buses which frequently wizz past the hotel to take you around, but we wanted to walk everywhere, even though we live in Perth we don't often have a good look around. Plenty of parking around hotel too..Staff were great always a cheery hello , even when you come in at 2am. Not all rooms have a balcony as it only the street facing rooms that do so if its important to you make sure you stipulate that on booking. Nice part of the city with St Marys Cathedral over the road which is nice to visit if your into historical buildings in Perth. Bed comfortable, good thick curtains to block out the morning sun, room small but for 1 night was perfect. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms only face Hay St,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jenswaggerz,

Thank you for your review.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over Australia Day so much!

We have our standard rooms and balcony rooms available to book.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good location, polite and helpful staff. Special requests are solved immediately. Cleaning of the room is not appropriate. The TV remote control was so dirty that I only touched it with a tissue. Telephone and radio are the same. The wall was full of some disgusting stuff. There was no vacuum cleaning during our 4 nights at all. There is a connecting door to the other room which is without soundproofing therefore you can hear every worlds what the neighbour says. This is very unpleasant particularly night time. Air conditioning is very noise, seems to be a very outdated one. If you pay by credit card which is usual at a Hotel they charge an extra 1,5% which is totally forbidden in my country. There are courtesy coffee and tea in the room which is nice. Fitness area is OK. Internet is expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Krisztina234,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies if your room was not up to our usually very high cleaning standards. I will be passing your comments on to our housekeeping team.

All hotel chains in Australia charge a credit card surcharge. Some charge up to 3% for Amex. We only charge the 1.5% flat fee.

If you would like to contact me regarding your stay, please email me at jbristowe@travelodge.com.au

Kind Regards,
John Bristowe | Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Perth

Address: 417 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Perth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new generation 4 Star Travelodge Perth is ideally situated in Perth's CBD, a short stroll from City Malls, Swan River, Perth Concert Hall, with a free city CAT bus stop at the footsteps of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Perth Hotel Perth
Travel Lodge Perth
Perth Travel Lodge
Perth Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.