We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery of Western Australia

Art Gallery of Western Australia
James Street Mall Via Roe St | Perth Cultural Centre, Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)
(0)8 9492 6644
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Perth Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #19 of 78 Attractions in Perth
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1895, the Art Gallery of Western Australia has the pre-eminent holdings of Western Australian art, craft and design from 1829 to the present. Our collections and exhibitions offer visitors exciting encounters with the art of Western Australia, traditional and contemporary Australian Indigenous art and the art of the world. Entrance is free, donations are welcome. We’re located in the heart of the Perth Cultural Centre and easily accessible from the Perth Train Station.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a modern building with a wonderful collection. It has a very open and airy feeling. I liked the blend of art, artifacats and sculptures in the same area.. The indigenous art was quite fascinating but there is a lot of western art also. Great blend and best of all it was free. Love when I can just make a donation to get entry into viewing the beauty of history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    102
    38
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited the Van Gogh ,Dali and beyond exhibition.It was a lucky find at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon. I thoroughly enjoyed it and the late cuppa and cake in the café. Canberra's national gallery could learn a lot from it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Van Gogh Dali and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This s well worth a look, and if you have an iPhone I would recommend downloading the app before entering the gallery. It was great to have the photos and commentary right there on my phone as I did the tour. The highlights for me were the blue Matisse, the hauntingly beautiful and powerful Frida Carlo, and Laurie Anderson's self playing violin. I was fortunate last year to hear the violin in a performance by Laurie, so it was amazing to get a close up viewing. Luv'd this exhibition :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great collection, average gallery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It has amazing works of australian and international art, but the lighting and display order is terrible, it shows a poor curating work.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"Van Gogh, Dali & Beyond - The World Regained"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

So lucky to see Part 3 of a 6 Part Series between the AGWA & MOMA = Museum of Modern Art, New York, it was fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Gallery of Western Australia also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Art Gallery of Western Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery of Western Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.