We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy hotel, massive cockroach in rooms!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Hay to your Saves list
Mantra on Hay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Peterborough, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Filthy hotel, massive cockroach in rooms!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

We booked the Saville Suites in Perth, Western Australia for 4 nights in September and booked a 1 bed apartment. When we got to the hotel, it was 1:30 in the afternoon and we were told that the room was not ready until 2pm! how pathetic! when we got in the room, we had just come off a 5 hour flight and wanted to go sleep, so we opened the bed and there was blood stains on the sheets and filth on the pillow, and used toilet paper on the toilet, no hand towel although there was a towel rail for a hand towel and there was a massive stain of human URINE all down the side of the toilet!

It was proberely the most dirtiest room i have ever seen for a 4* hotel, but then again we have stayed in 3* and 2* and the rooms have been cleaner! We complained to recpetion and they tried telling us that the urine stain was from a rusty nail! yeah right! and that the blood on the sheets was a stain from the washing machine! i have never been told so much rubbish to my face before! We changed rooms and got a bottle of champagne, but the new room was still quite dirty and on the day we left there was a massive cockroach walking around the floor, we got out so quick we were 5 hours early for our flight to Sydney! By the way, Sydney is a much better city than Perth!

Definetly not a recommended hotel, its in quite a rough part of town and alot of drunks and roung people hanging around at night. The restaurant accross the road from the hotel is very poor, they charge the same amount for breakfast as the hotel do and do a buffet, talk about price fixing!

Not recommend!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go there!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    58
    29
    20
See reviews for
66
53
12
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occassions over the past few years and use it frequently for work colleagues travelling to Perth as well as for small meeting (less than 20 people).

I have always found the rooms excellent quality and with very high standards of cleanliness. The staff are excellent and the prices extremely reasonable.

I can thoroughly recommend Benson's which is located adjacent to the lobby. It is a casual dining and bar area that has excellent cuisine, a large range of local and imported beers as well as fine wines from all over Australia.

All in all a very comfortable and charming hotel. The group also has hotels in other states including Melbourne (Victoria) and Sydney (NSW) and each hotel can book you in free of charge.

I recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience quality at an affordable price.

  • Liked — Neat, clean and affordable.
  • Disliked — Nothing really however, some may find it a bit out of the way as it is not in the central CBD such as Sheraton etc.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Concierge to book ahead if travelling interstate.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

Wow, this hotel is one out of the box!
We were actually booked into a hotel down the road that was way under our expectations, and so bad that we needed to rebook!
I first rang to see if a suite was avaliable the woman I spoke to was extremely helpful and even matched the price we had just spent on the other grotty hotel. When we got there I asked to inspect the room (so as to not be disappointed agin) they were more than happy to show us around etc The suite (2bdrm) that we got was stunning, very clean, lovely linen, quiet and very good value for money. Room service was excellent and the food good too. The only gripe was our hot brekkie arrived warm, but when we told this when checking out the staff happily credited our account.

  • Liked — fantastic service
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — ask if the are able to reduce the rate, they did when we asked
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Upgraded us to 2 bedrrom suite as twin beds not made up in room booked. Great facilities for long term stay and in walking distance to all points of interest. Free bus servcie outside hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Newly refurbished apartments conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike** Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay offers guests Hotel Rooms and newly refurbished 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.