We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Hay to your Saves list
Mantra on Hay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Perth
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast was delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed in a 2 bed apartment while passing through Perth to go to Sydney. We had been booked in to the wrong room but staff quickly rectified that and found us one that more suited our needs as I had requested when booking. The room was clean, tidy, had en suite bathrooms, kitchen and a little balcony so you could sit outside. The hotel was a bit of a walk from central Perth and it did seem that the restaurants locally closed early, however we ventured down the road and did find one about 10 minutes away. There is a free bus that runs you in to town so you could always hop on that to save your legs. Breakfast was a reasonable price, unlimited choice, and actually very good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi DavisG

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    59
    29
    20
See reviews for
66
53
12
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After 1 weeks stay on business. Cockroaches in kitchen. Probably entered the kitchen through a gap behind the sink which was thick with crumbs and other horrid stuff. When reported to reception, in person, the response was "Gee thats not good". Needless to say nothing was done. Room not serviced until requested. When finally taking place the making of the bed was the only service that took place. Rubbish was left & towels were not replaced. Bathroom so in need of repair the inch thick silicon behind the basin was thick with mold as were the basin & bath plugs. A shelf fitting in the shower was missing. Obviously broken and never replaced as the fittings were still there to hold the shelf.

Stains on furniture fabric.

No shower gel.

Breakfast snack box supplied was out of date by 2 months.

The pool water level was at least 45cm below what it should have been making it virtually impossible to swim properly.

When checking out be absolutely sure if you have not used anything from the minie bar as on two occasions now i have returned home to find days later i have been charged for items not used.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi 255100255100Sue

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her staff. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A great set up in the two room ground floor apartment for a one week stay. Comfortable and very high standard of cleaning service. Not one ounce of decor in this room but excellent size and space with kitchen and laundry facilities. Good location for driving around or free public bus use easily accessible at the next block. Easy walking to attractions like the Pert Mint, shopping and restaurants for lunch and dinner. The pool on the top floor is very well maintained and has a good view. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Dispirit

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback of your experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is well appointed, unfortunately the location could be a let down for some people. There is a bus service which takes you into town, thankfully.

There isn't much within close proximity, so if you are wanting restaurants, cafes, bars etc, this isn't the place.

Parking isn't guaranteed, there are limited bays.

Heating didn't work in the apartment we stayed in, so it was a tad chilly.

I would only stay here again from absolute necessity, there are better choices closer to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Tangojo

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide feedback of your experience at Mantra on Hay.

Whilst we are a leisurely 10-15 min stroll to the city centre and the many restaurants, cafes and bars on offer we are in close proximity Queens Gardens, Burswood Complex, NIB Stadium, Swan River and even the iconic Bell Tower.

With regards to parking you are correct in that we do have limited bays and unfortunately at times does inconvenience our guests.

My apologies to you regarding the heatin issue you had and i will certainly liaise with the Manintenance Manager to ensure this is rectified.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location of the Mantra on Hay was perfect for my group of 3 as we were easily able to walk to the CBD and cafes or catch the free Red CAT bus service that runs down Hay st to the CBD and train stations. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating and our 2 bedroom, 3 person apartment with kitchen was clean and had plenty of room for us.
The only negative was some dirty marks on the ceiling which could be cleaned off if someone noticed them. However I would definitely recommend the mantra on Hay for a Perth visit if you want something spacious and low key which is not far from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi OliverAus

Thank you for providing positive feedback of your stay with us here at Mantra on Hay.

It is always delightful to hear that we were able to leave a memorable mark on our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Hay in the future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My colleague & I stayed 2 nights on business in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. We also needed guaranteed secure parking due to equipment in the car. We arrived only to discover parking was a fist in basis. The room was at best average to poor, the beds and bathrooms were clean but the carpet was filthy & stained. No hair dryer. The kitchen floor was sticky and the kitchen benches were filthy with large burnt out chips in the laminex. The lounges were badly stained, dirty walls and the aircon sounded likea jet engine & had all the vents blocked up with cardboard as it blew too hard in the bedrooms. Staff were good, restsurant was convenient and ok but at $380 a night it was a dump to come back to after a 14 hr day working. I'll never stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to to a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Andrew L

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide constructive feedback of your experience whilst residing at Mantra on Hay.

My apologies to you with regards to the issues you have raised. I have liaised with the respective managers to ensure the standards that we strive for are adhered to.

We are currently working through our refurbishment plans which will give the apartment an overall lift to ensure future guests can enjoy the comforts of a home away from home.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at Mantra on Hay for 3 nights. It's about half an hour ride by taxi from the airport which cost about A$40/-. This apartment is self-contained with all that you need to set up a home. There are 2 rooms with 1 king and 1 queen beds. It's very convenient with the free Red Cat bus stop at the side of the hotel. About 4 or 5 stops away is the main city mall and Perth station. Opposite there's Carlton Centre with a Singapore/Malaysia Restaurant and a supermarket. On the 1st floor there's a restaurant offering daily set lunch (changes weekly) for only A$10/- if you find it a hassle to cook. On the top floor which is the 8th there's a indoor swimming pool and a gym. I find this hotel very convenient and will surely stay again if I ever return to Perth.

Room Tip: Choose the 8th floor if you are using the gym and pool daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi KFong

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience with us here at Mantra on Hay.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back should you return to Perth.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Newly refurbished apartments conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike** Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay offers guests Hotel Rooms and newly refurbished 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.