We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the dud rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Perth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Perth to your Saves list
Rydges Perth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Lapstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Watch out for the dud rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Don't accept any room near the lift well because of the continual noise from the lifts.

Shortly after returning to my room on the 8th floor after dinner I realised there was a major problem with a frequent aggravating noise from the lifts – which was not the best way to get a good night's sleep. The front desk person advised I could not change rooms as there were no more rooms available and questioned whether or not I had requested a quiet room when I booked! My opinion was that the hotel had an obligation to advise potential customers that their "nice queen room" for the special rate of $309 (normally $500!) had problems.

The next morning I requested a price adjustment of 50% and was offered a $50 credit plus a free breakfast. My complaint was escalated and I obtained a $100 credit which was unfortunately still not good enough to compensate me for a poor night's sleep.

I have to say the front line staff were very pleasant and professional, but that doesn't absolve the hotel from selling a flawed product. If I had more time I would have taken this issue up with the WA Dept of Commerce.

Room Tip: Confirm your allocated room will be quiet and located away from the lift well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Peter,

My apologies that you found the room allocation not up to your expectations. Should you be willing to give the hotel another chance in the future - I would be happy for you to contact me directly upon making a reservation so that I can make up for this recent stay.

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    287
    155
    41
    22
See reviews for
54
233
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We found the staff were either inattentive or rude. Have not experienced such poor customer service since travelling in the USSR in the 1980's.

Beware the room rate changes! My first night was $145, the second $270 and the third $445. When I asked the staff about this when checking out they simply said they are "flexible rates depending on demand".

Avoid this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Brad,

Pretty harsh comments regarding the young team - but will take them on board.

Also doubt you will find any hotel with static rates accross the week anymore in any market. Perth is definitely in high demand mid week - but we are then able to offer leisure guests much better deals on the lower demand weekends, which is generally accepted as a positive thing. Just like the airlines, the market prices rooms per night and based on the corporate sector if during the week.

Again, thanks for the post, and I apologise if you felt the staff were "rude".

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Needing a place in central CBD for a work function this hotel was close to everything.
I booked through their hotel site as a priority guest which saved even more $$$.
I stayed on the executive floor which was great value for money as drinks and nibbles free for 2 hours.
The executive lounge is much smaller than other hotels and range of nibbles and canapé were a bit dissapointing however the staff ans service was professional and friendly. Room was a nice size and set out comfortably. would stay again and consider other Rydges.

Room Tip: I have stayed twice and all rooms are quiet good .If travelling with kids or friends you can request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Valerie,

Thanks for the great feedback and for returning to Rydges. I loved your comments but would make mention that the fitness centre next door does not have a Pool anymore (they built over it to add more gym gear) - just incase other travellers read your "Room Tip" comment.

Again, thanks for the post.

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at Rydges on a business trip. It's nicely located in central Perth. I slept well, even though the room was facing the street. It was a double. Very comfortable bed. The shower wasn't so great... it was a tricky piece of work trying to get the temperature right, although I don't really miss the skin I lost. Kidding, Rydges, it just fired hot and was hard to get right. The hotel is fine. The staff are friendly. It's a lot like a Marriott... a chain hotel, a little nicer than most, not as nice as some. Extremely expensive, but then what isn't in Western Australia? I can't call it a memorable hotel stay but it's a fine, reliable, upper middle of the road hotel. As I recall, breakfast was priced ridiculously even for breakfast in a hotel restaurant. And don't order a Manhattan. They have their own recipe. Tasted so terrible we took to calling it a Hoboken. Apologies to anybody from New Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Toronto,

Thanks for the great read and indeed for posting yet another review on Trip Advisor - you seem to be well travelled based on the 22 reviews you have posted to date.

I appreciate your comments and hope we can look after you again in the future.

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We paid $37.00 for the lamb dish and received the two smallest bits of lamb you had ever seen. Presentation was good. We went out for a kebab after dinner as we were still hungry. Jotel id good. Give the restaurant a miss. n

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Ian,

Thanks for the post - sorry your expectations were not met with the pricing of food - they are indeed a bit higher than over East. However it looks like you enjoyed the hotel so I hope we see you back again one day.

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The reception at the Ridges was poor especially when booking out. They were absolutely incapable of being flexible, more importantly they simply refused to believe what I was saying to them..The technique they used was to simply repeat the same sentence to me over and over. In the end I was able to show them that they had the incorrect information. Took some effort then they had attitude no attempt was made to provide even a small apology. I I hadn't insisted it would have cost a friend almost a thousand dollars!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Mezza,

Shame you didn't wish to contact me directly - as it reads as though you had a significant issue on checkout. Thankfully you mentioned it was sorted and I apologise if the staff did not appear concerned about this. No mention of the rest of your stay - so I trust you enjoyed yourself before the departure issue.

Thanks for the post

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wow - this hotel has really deteriorated. Had to stay for three nights and could not believe the deterioration in what was once a good hotel.
It's really a litany of many small but very irritating things that add up to a dreadful experience;
* Late flight dropped me into Perth @ midnight & check in @ 12.30 am. Was met by 2 bored staff who insisted I fill in some sort of loyalty program on an iPad that wasn't connecting..
* Found myself on an "executive floor" in a room that was very tried - no easy access to power boards for laptop, a shower over a bath, damaged furniture, dirty carpet and a TV that was not working.
* breakfast order on two mornings missing essentail items eg no coffee and cereal / toast
* mix up with laundry - was given two dressses instead of one shirt & one pant - took 3 hours to find my clothes
* 3 items on the "ALL DAY DINING" were only available after 5 pm
* had a breakfast meeting in the restaurant & we all found the staff grumpy & unfriendly
Perhaps the mining boom has translated into poor recruitment & poor customer service
Aviod this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Murray,

You obviously had a few too many little issues during your stay. I apologise and offer you to contact me directly to allow me to make up for the issues you encountered. I think dreadful is a tad harsh, considering the many guests that stay with us and have a great stay, but take on board your comments.

Appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Perth

Address: 815 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Perth
#19 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Perth's central location in the heart of the CBD makes it the ideal choice for leisure & business travelers. Located adjacent to the West End retail & entertainment district with the city shopping mall a mere 2-minute walk away. Offering guest rooms overlooking the City of Perth or Swan River and the award winning alfresco style CBD Bar Restaurant at your service. Rydges Perth has 245 well-appointed guestrooms including 6 river view spa suites and 46 king rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Perth Hotel Perth
Rydges Hotel Perth
Perth Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.