We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Perth

Save Saved
You added Rydges Perth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rydges Perth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 hotels in Perth
Emu Plains NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great hotel, staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We recently went on a business trip to Perth and normally we stay out of the city centre, but this time chose the Rydges in Perth’s CBD. It was really a great place to stay, the location was great and the staff could not do enough to ensure our every need was met and mostly exceeded. The room was bright, clean and quiet and the food in the restaurant where we had breakfast, drinks and meals was really lovely, tasty and fresh. We are so glad we chose Rydges as we could walk to all the shops, restaurants and tourist locations. We valet parked our rental car and it was never any bother to have it retrieved. Overall a great location with great staff, thanks and we will be back in April.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Frannys59,

Thank you for your recent glowing review on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to see your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We look forward to looking after you again in April.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    229
    129
    37
    18
See reviews for
41
190
43
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've stayed here several times over the past few years. Although we live here in Perth we stay in the city if we have funcitons to attend as getting a taxi home to fremantle can be a very long (and I mean very long) wait during any holiday season. Rudges is in the perfect spot for the city, access to buses, trains, taxis and right in the arts precinct and a short taxi ride to the Northbridge, Mt Lawley and Highgate scenes.

Not bad prices - we chose to stay in the club lounge floors as there is a nice quiet and complimentary bar on the 16th floor, King size bed and large room. Service is what you expect but I must say that the maintenance program needs looking at. Our shower/bath diverter was faulty which made showering difficult and whilst we were checking out two other guest also complained of faulty amentities in their rooms.

Hey management correct this before it all degrades into a second rate facility.

All in all we will continue to stay here unless the maintenance issues prevails.

Room Tip: If you can afford it use the club floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Soosie999,

Many thanks for your comments and thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay while attending a function in the city. Sorry about the shower issues - will certainly take your comments on board.

Again, thanks for choosing Rydges for your needs in the CBD

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

For a city Hotel it was a great location. We had a guaranteed upgrade however this didn't happen. We arrived early hours after a long haul flight from the UK via Dubai. Our room was ok but quite dark. We asked to move to another room and this was achieved for our last night stay. This room was much better. If staying there I would ask for a room on a higher floor so you get a view.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Nelley68,

Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. Glad to see you had a good stay. Apologies regarding the upgrade issues - I will look into what happened there. Hope we get to cater to your needs again in Perth one day.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at the Rydges one day on business. Worked all night and needed a comfortable and quiet room to catch up on sleep during the day. Excellent choice. Room was quiet, bed very comfortable and airconditioning able to be controlled manually.

The room was on the 10th floor, and even though the view was limited to the building next door, the room was clean and modern. The bathroom had the shower over bath setup and was spotless.

The restaurant on the ground floor provided great menu options and overlooked the hustle and bustle of Hay and King Street. A little on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for, or in this case, what work payed for!

The staff were polite and helpful, they even managed to deal with my cranky, over-tired colleague in a courteous, professional manner....I would have slapped her!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear TQ30,

In response to your recent review of Rydges Perth I would like to pass on my thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Perth. Thank you also for the positive nature of your comments and for providing an amusing end to your thoughts regarding your business colleague.

I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Rydges Perth is in an excellent central city location close to cafes, bars and shopping. The staff were helpful and friendly and all our requests were met promptly.
The room was spacious and clean, the bed in particular was extremely comfortable!!!
We had breakfast included in our package, and we were not disappointed......a wide range of hot cooked food as well as cereals, croissants and muffins, fruit, teas, coffee and fruit juices. If you are planning a night in the city, I would highly recommend The Rydges as a value for money hotel in which to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Tandylands,

Many thanks for your recent and most positive review on Trip Advisor. I very much appreciate that you took the time to post your comments online and thank you for choosing Rydges perth for your needs.

Hopefully we can be of assistance again in the future.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I just had a good six nights at Rydges, Perth.
Room was fine and the location is excellent.
Check-in/out was painless.
Staff very helpful.
I found the wired internet to be too slow. Imbedded video on any web page (eg BBC news) was too choppy to be watchable.
Contrary to some other posts, the price for full breakfast was not way in excess of neighborhood restaurants. The only hazard at the buffet was the possibility of overeating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Helge,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see you had a long and pleasurable stay. Loved your comments regarding breakfast and take on board your comments regarding the internet which we hope to rectify in the new year.

Again many thanks for the post and maybe we can look after you again one day.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed for a night away.The room was spacious and clean.All staff that we dealt with were very friendly and courteous.
The meals that we had in the restaurant were excellent.

Will definately be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeRutherford, General Manager at Rydges Perth, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Raymond,

Many thanks for your comments - so pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get to accommodate you again one day soon.

Regards
Graeme

Graeme Rutherford
General Manager
Rydges Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Perth

Address: 815 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
#18 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Perth 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Perth's central location in the heart of the CBD makes it the ideal choice for leisure & business travelers. Located adjacent to the West End retail & entertainment district with the city shopping mall a mere 2-minute walk away. Offering guest rooms overlooking the City of Perth or Swan River and the award winning alfresco style CBD Bar Restaurant at your service. Rydges Perth has 245 well-appointed guestrooms including 6 river view spa suites and 46 king rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rydges Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Perth Hotel Perth
Rydges Hotel Perth
Perth Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.