We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on James

Save Saved
You added Quest on James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on James
228 James St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Perth
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The apartment looked to be recently renovated, with all areas giving off a holiday home feel, that has recently been upgraded.
Enjoy 3 days in the apartment, clean, well kept and well organised.
I must say the highlight to my stay were how comfortable the beds were, furthermore the pillows given are majestic !! Amazing and relaxing feel to the place, within walking distance to the heart of the night life, shops and restaurants, however perfectly situated away from all the noise and mess of the main strip.
I understand the location has had a significant renovation, and will only get better. Very impressed

Room Tip: Don't bring your pillows, theirs are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay would recommend to everyone.. Great location, fantastic staff.. Room was amazing you can see they put a lot of effort into the quest on James... And the beds and pillows amazing it was the best sleep I've had in a very long time pure comfort and heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed Friday - Sunday it was 6 of us. We had the 3 bedroom apartment it was very comfortable everyone sleep well they all raved about the pillows they thought they were so soft. We went out to Northbridge so the location was perfect we walked down no need to drive and worry about parking. Staff are amazing so friendly and good to talk to. Actual apartment was amazing the decor is modern looks as if its been recently painted and renovated. Wifi didnt work but no biggy cause we didn't come for the wifi. Some of the tv channels didnt work but again we didn't come to watch tv either. A suggestion in the main bedroom might be good if there was a single chair or single seat arm chair to rest bag or clothes on in the corner could be handy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, the good things - We stayed there for about 2 weeks, and found the service and help to be always friendly and polite. There was a breakfast place right next door, and one could get it delivered. The location was great, it was at the edge of Northbridge, but not quite in the midst of it; it can get pretty noisy and rowdy at night if you stayed any closer. Lots of eateries, as well as clubs and bars to be found within minutes' walk. The free blue-line bus was also right around the corner, and one could pop in it and get a free ride into the heart of town.

We were given a one-room apartment on the ground floor. The first impression: it was pretty shabby looking, with a television that has passed its used-by date and couldn't get half the channels. Air con was blasting noisily and dripping water. Carpet was threadbare, and walls were discoloured.

The bathroom was kept extremely clean, and the kitchenette had the essentials. We received a gift basket from one of our associates in Perth, but the staff got it mixed up and brought it into another room but fortunately it was retrieved in time before another guest signed into that room.

The manager and staff were extremely nice, but I think the entire place needs a makeover. Ah, and having massive roaches crawling around in the middle of the night wasn't fun, and looking at how the cleaner made up the bed the next day was disturbing - she dumped the sheets, duvet, pillows etc, all on the filthy carpet floor whilst setting the bed right, yes, same floor where the roaches had crawled about, and where people trudged about with dirty shoes.

Bed and pillows needed to be upgraded too, and wifi needs to be provided, or at least charge less for the slow broad band service.

Probably will not recommend this to friends, unless all the other hotels are booked!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Cockroach infestation noted on entering kitchen and power fused in apartment withine first half hour. Reported roaches and was given own can of bug spray!!
Staff were pleasant and said would do something about roaches but no improvement. Walls dirty and patched, linen old,needs thorough makeover/ paint. Minimal servicing Of room. Spacious but would rather a clean small space.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here very recently for work in a 3bdrm apartment and to see comments that they have "refurbished" is obviously a complete fabrication! Horrible beds and linen, grotty pillows and poor room service. Rooms are very old and heavily used, that a if you make it to your room by surviving the derelict lift! Give this one a miss!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was extremely disappointing. The carpet was threadbare as you entered and on the stairs and the decor was extremely tired. The bathroom was not very clean and was chipped and damaged. The crockery was not clean when we arrived and all needed to be washed up before we were happy to use it. The kitchen was also dirty and tired. The furniture throughout the apartment was very tired and needed updating. The curtains were very damaged with holes throughout. Light switches on the landing also turned on lights in the upstairs bedroom and generally the light switches were not well placed and didn't seem logical in which lights they controlled - frustrating when a young child is up a lot earlier than other adults staying there!!
The 'servicing' of the apartment was also minimal - the only evidence of servicing was that the covers on the bed were pulled back over the bed - the beds were not made up fully at any point, and the bathroom and kitchen did not generally look like they had been touched.
When booking this accommodation we had been told it was luxury accommodation and would be a very high standard and it was extremely disappointing. We tried to find alternative accommodation but were unable to do so. When we mentioned our disappointment at the level of cleanliness and decor of the accommodation the Receptionist simply denied it!!
From other reports on here I assume not all apartments are as bad as ours, but I am surprised this has such a high rating for what we found to be extremely unpleasant accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidin, General Manager at Quest on James, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Quest on James is currently undergoing a full refurbishment and can confirm that all the issues raised by this reviewer have been rectified. It is 'extremely dissapointing' as an owner/operator that this reviewer stayed in August 2011 and only now decides to review my establishment which may give the impression to other readers that this is the current state of the apartments at Quest on James. The assesment of the whole property is understaken by the management on an ongoing basis. The issues relating to their stay were rectified in a pro active manner and not in responce to this reviewers comments. I'm not sure why this reveiwer would place such a belated review but I'm pleased to say that they apartment occupied by this guest has been renovated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest on James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on James

Address: 228 James St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quest on James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest on James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.