We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Hotel Perth to your Saves list
Pensione Hotel Perth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Pier Street | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
1 review
“wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was a wonderful stay. And is a very clean and great hotel with fabulous staff
The bed was fabulously comfortable and i did not want to get out.
Location was founded to be in a brilliant locyion.
I Will deffinatly be recommending this hotel to others.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Dannyelle E,

Thank You for providing such a positive review!

It is so fantastic to hear that you found the team to be fabulous, your room clean and location brilliant. We are always receiving positive feed back in regards to our beds and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy them for yourself.

We can’t wait to welcome you back when you are next in the city!

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    144
    52
    18
    5
See reviews for
28
105
55
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed that parking was not available as advertised and had to find our own parking in a public car park. Room size is small which would be ok if there were some way of organising your suitcases. Price was good but overall could do better.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Henry P,

Thank You for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I would like to sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We do have limited car parking on site which does need to be pre-booked to guarantee a spot. This information is included on our website and all third party websites however sometimes cannot be as prominent as we would prefer. We do have numerous public car parking options close to the hotel and I hope our friendly team was able to direct you to one of these.

It’s fantastic to hear that you found the hotel to be of great value, although in regards to your room size we do have a number of different room types that may have been more suitable for you. Our Deluxe Corporate room features a large working desk and our Premium room feature a small lounge area with two arm chairs.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again so please contact myself or one of our friendly team members directly and we will look after your requirements.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night in Apr 2013 on working trip. This used to be the Aaron hotel now renamed and part of a bigger change.

The location is excellent for the price. The rooms are newly renovated and modern although very very small. You would have trouble moving around the room with a regular size luggage. The room comes with the usual complement of coffee n tea. The toilet has towels, soap, shampoo n conditioner. There is wifi avail although there are charges if u wish to connect with a computer. That's all.

Would probably not stay here if I m travelling w family. Not much service either.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Jangtravels,

Thank You for your feedback!

I am so glad to hear that even after our full refurbishment last year you found our hotel great value and the location to be excellent.

Please keep in mind our other room types which provide large working desks or a sitting area with 2 arm chairs as I am sure these are ideal for the traveller wanting more space to enjoy.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that you found our service to be lacking. We pride ourselves on providing a positive guest experience and we regularly receive fantastic feedback on our customer service and I sincerely apologise that this was not the case on this occasion.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so please contact the hotel directly when you are next visiting Perth.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in a standard room. It was clean, with modern decor but TINY. I had to store my bag in the bathroom as there was no space in the room. The "desk" was so crowed it was impossible to work at and had a little stool rather than a chair. I would not stay here again.

We had purchased the room through WOTIF and it was acceptable for the price. I would be outraged to have paid the rack rate for the room. We were there for a conference so fortunately didn't have to spend much time in the room. If you are looking for somewhere central and inexpensive then this may suit you but next time I will pay extra to be able to hang my clothes up so they don't get crushed and work in my room rather than the foyer.

I also felt that it missed some of the attention to detail I expect from a boutique hotel. The wardrobe is not full length so my dresses and coats were crushed. There is an iron and table top-ironing board in the room but the 'desk" is so tiny you would have to place the board on the floor. There was a guest laundry so I could iron there. There were no hand towels in the bathroom, just full towels and face-washes, no showercap and no conditioner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Water-eng-girl,

Thank You for your constructive feedback.

I can appreciate that our standard rooms are cosy and we do recommend these for solo travellers especially for short stays. We do have a number of room types available which I’m sure would have been more suitable. If given the opportunity, one of our team members would have organised a room move for you immediately to ensure that you would be comfortable for the remainder of your stay. Our deluxe corporate rooms feature a large working desk which is ideal for corporate travellers.

I am saddened to hear that you found the size of our cupboards unsatisfactory. A full refurbishment of the property was completed in 2012 and we are always looking at ways to improve the designs in our rooms. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will certainly be passed onto our head of design so that they can be considered in any future works. I am pleased however you were able to utilise our laundry facilities.

I sincerely apologise that the amenities provided in the room were not replenished properly. All rooms should be provided with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap with additional items such as shower caps and vanity kits available on request at reception. Further training has been provided to ensure this improves in the future.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so you can experience the hotel in a more positive light. Please contact me directly so that I can personally look after your reservation and provide you with a complimentary upgrade to one of our larger rooms.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a central location. Just a few minutes' walk from the trains, buses shopping and restaurants. Very helpful reception staff and 24/7 service. Room small but all you need. I will choose this hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear NevilleB,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted you found us to be a “Great find” due to our central location and helpful service.

Please consider our Deluxe Corporate or Premium rooms when you next visit Perth as we would love for you to experience one of these larger rooms.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel has all the requirements I like. The staff were excellent in their service, and genuinely interested in making our stay comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant/bar was comfortable and our meal was served quickly. The food was tasty. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear jennifer1254,

The team always love to receive such positive reviews and we genuinely strive to make all our guests' stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We can’t wait to look after you again in the future.

Thanks for posting.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in a deluxe room. Room could do with lick of paint and wardrobe space is limited but apart from that could not fault the hotel. Reception staff very welcoming, room cleaned on a daily basis and location is so central that we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear SMZ17,

Thank you for your review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the size of the wardrobe and the quality of the paint in your room. This particular room was done as a trial before the complete refurbishment last year and has a different colour scheme than the remainder of the rooms. We are currently in the process of repainting and enlarging the wardrobe.

I am pleased however that you found the friendly team very welcoming and our location to be central and perfect to explore the city.

We would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Address: 70 Pier Street | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.