We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Perth

Save Saved
You added Pensione Hotel Perth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Pier Street | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A small but well appointed room in a central location close to the CBD malls and a (long)
walking
distance to the WACA (cricket!). There was a noisy night-club next door to the lobby but it remained quiet upstairs in the room. As per the other reviews this hotel was clean and quiet, good value for money. The front-desk staff were friendly helpful and courteous. I went for the deluxe upgrade so I guess my room was slightly bigger/better perfect for someone who was going to be out and about and not spending too much time in the room. I had a lovely spaghetti meal using the discount voucher at the place next door downstairs - can't remember the exact dish but I remember being very impressed! Overall, as others have said, highly recommended as a place to stay in the Perth CBD.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Xomex,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed the central location and the benefits of the extra space in our deluxe double room. We strive on offering excellent service to our guests and are glad you found the team to be friendly, helpful and courteous. Room rates in Perth can be quite high especially during peak periods and we are glad to hear we were able to offer you good value for money.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the meal you were served from My Place bar and restaurant I will be sure to pass your kind words onto the restaurant manager.

Should you be travelling to Perth again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    115
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
23
83
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days while scuba diving in Perth. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There is a street parade of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The bar and restaurant attached to the hotel is clean with great food. The staff was wonderful, happy and smiling throughout. They stored our bags due to our red-eye flight that night and arranged for a taxi to the airport for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to the business traveler as well as the leisure family styled traveler. I will be staying at this hotel again the next time I am in Perth.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor and away from the main street for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear DiverDerek,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope this was also the case with your scuba diving.

We receive a large number of comments on the comfort of our beds and are delighted you were able to experience this for yourself. I am pleased you found the team to be wonderful and that they were able to store your bags and assist with your onward travel.

I really appreciate that you would recommend our hotel to both corporate and leisure guests and should you be planning on returning to Perth please contact the hotel directly as we love to welcome back return guests.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good location, friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean. What more do you want from an overnight stay. We booked a standard room which was a little small but was well appointed having been recently refurbished as was the rest of the hotel. Although not spacious the room was adequate for our purposes. We stayed at this hotel either side of a trip to the Kimberley and the good people at the Pensionne kept some of our luggage for us so we didn’t have to take anything unnecessary with us. The hotel is located very centrally so almost everything is within walking distance and there are some very good restaurants in the same street so great all round. Would recommend but remember the standard rooms are smaller than is generally the norm in Australian hotels, so if space is an issue go for an upgrade.

Room Tip: If room size is an issue go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear DrasanWales,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel.

We are delighted to hear your positive comments in regards to the location, staff and cleanliness of the room. Your kind words will be passed on to the team and are much appreciated.

We are thrilled that your stay with us was pleasant and trust your trip to the Kimberly’s was enjoyable. It is our pleasure to have assisted in storing unnecessary luggage for your trip.

Should you be visiting Perth again please contact us directly as we would love welcome you back and for you to experience one of our larger rooms.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location was great, very central. We stayed three nights, including a Friday and Saturday night, and although the joint was jumping downstairs, it was quiet in the room. The bed was also very comfortable.

Close to shopping areas, ferries and Kings Park. Lovely and clean, and very friendly and helpful staff.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear DebsHobart_Australia,

Thank you for such a positive review on the hotel.

It is fantastic to see our guests enjoying the central location with shopping, transport and the beautiful king’s park all within a short distance from our front doors.

We are pleased to hear you were able to escape the downstairs noise and trust you had a pleasant sleep with the comfort of our beds and I have passed on your kind words regarding the team.

Please contact us directly when you next plan to visit Perth city as we love to welcome back return guests.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our stay in this hotel was very good overall. We stayed from the 12th of December to the 16th. We had a few minor hiccups regarding a misunderstanding about room service and a couple of other very tiny quibbles but these were vastly outweighed by the good points of the Pensione Hotel.

We found the bed to be extremely comfortable and both of us slept soundly. The fact that 4 pillows were provided by default was great as one often has to ask for more than the standard two supplied in other hotels. The room was very tiny but with some creative juggling of our stuff we managed. The air conditioning was terrific, cooling the room in no time at all, much appreciated on the very warm days we experienced in Perth.

The bathroom was very clean and well ventilated with fans and the water pressure was excellent, making a refreshing shower there a happy experience. The bathroom mirror was nice and large and the toiletries provided (shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and cake soap) smelled beautiful, a lovely combo of eucalyptus and lemon grass. I could have done with a third towel when I washed my hair because the towels were a little small and quickly became very damp upon use. The towels were nice and soft and very clean though, which is very important.

The reception desk girls provided us with charming silver ice buckets on request and they were much appreciated as the fridge was very small and we could not fit much in there at all but adding ice to our drinks was just perfect.

Check in and check out was very smooth and took no time at all, both procedures accompanied with courtesy and smiles. Being able to leave our luggage at the hotel prior to flying out of Perth was very much appreciated as was being able to have our shuttle bus arranged for us by reception.

The room service menu was quite extensive but the food was a little disappointing in temperature and just a little on the bland side but this is only a very small quibble. There are plenty of eating places nearby to choose from, well within walking distance.

We spent 5 days and 4 nights in the Pensione and had a very nice time there. I would stay here again to enjoy the comfort and cheery reception service and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. Perth is a lovely city and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear JGirlSydney,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review, it is comments such as these that reinforces our desire to provide the best possible guest experience and to also continually improve our product and services.

We are delighted you were able to enjoy a sound sleep and found the beds and extra pillows comforting, along with the air conditioning and amenities provided.

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding our team. I am pleased we were able to assist with your onward travels and store your luggage before departing from Perth city.

I would like to sincerely apologise for your experience with room service. We generally receive positive comments about the food and are disappointed this was not the case on this occasion. I have addressed this with the restaurant owner to ensure this improves in the future.

It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning to stay with us on your next visit to Perth city. Please contact us directly when making your reservation as we would love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Easy check in, nice staff. Room was small but super clean, good Internet and all the silly stuff like TV, bathroom features etc.
Don't understand how the water costs $7.50 a litre but this seems to be this hotels only negative.
Beds super comfortable.
Definitely a place I will reuse as work requires.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear teddyedward666,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It’s so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be everything you need including a comfortable bed!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to our beautiful city.

Have a safe and enjoyable Christmas and New Year!

Warm regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this hotel. Have been here 4 nights already. Yes te rooms are small but as a solo traveller it's fine. Very comfortable beds. All very clean. Girls at the front desk have been lovely. Breakfast at Miss Maud's across the road is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Blakjassy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review while staying with us.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our beds very comfortable. We have had so many comments in regards to how wonderful they are and I am so pleased you got to experience them yourself.

I have passed your kind words onto the team. It’s great feedback like this that reinforces our desire to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

We hope you have a very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Warm regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Address: 70 Pier Street | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.