We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night out of romance without the children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Perth Langley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Perth Langley to your Saves list
Novotel Perth Langley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Ferndale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A night out of romance without the children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked the Novotel Perth Langley for a romantic night out without the children.
It is easy to find and parking was good. The staff were very attentive and we felt a bit like minor royalty. The room was a corner one which gave us excellent views of the city. It was large and we enjoyed a bottle of bubbly organised by my sister-in-law and a bit of loving before heading down for dinner. The menu was excellent and we tried unusual meals like kangaroo or was it buffalo. I think every staff at the restaurant stopped by to say hi and how was things going throughout the meal. After dinner a lovely walk on the foreshore and then back to the room for a bit more loving. Slept in and had a full breakfast with the paper and headed back home to reality just before lunch. A wonderful romantic night out at a wonderful place. Thanks Novotel Perth Langley.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    544
    267
    99
    31
See reviews for
203
507
133
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia, Argentina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

This is the first time that I would like to write a review about a hotel. Please excuse my english, I am a non native english speaker. We arrived at the Novotel and went to our room and there was a cockroach. I know that Australia has a lot of cockroaches. However I have spent a lot of business trips around Australia and there was never a cockroach in one of the nice and good hotels. So we called the reception. The men at the reception told us that we can change the room. YES - definitly we wanted to change the room. A woman came to our room and gave us the new key for the new room. Okay, we went to our new room. On the table there were strawberries, chocolates, fruits and a card on which was written that a MR..XXXXX was welcomed and somebody wished him a nice stay. So we called again the reception...asking if this was a mistake and they gave us the room from somebody else. The answer was ......yes, this was the room from somebody else. Somebody from the Novotel came and picked up the fruit and chocolate platter and told us that he will put these in another room. So my advise if you want a cockroach free hotel and a good service including no double booking for a room, then don't go to NOVOTEL. There are plenty of other nice hotels in Perth.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, May 18, 2009
Dear Bermuda 14,

Thank you for taking the time to record your impressions of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies that some aspects of your stay were below expectation.

We have a regular pest control program in the hotel however we have organized our pest control company to fully treat the room as a precaution. The pest controller found no other evidence of insects in the room & believes the insect probably came in on a guest bag. I am pleased to note that the staff did offer a room move to you. However in allocating a superior room type to you during a time of high occupancy an error was made & a room that was blocked for another guest arrival was used. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused.

Regards

Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Booked the Romeo and Juilet package for Valentines Day - picked this package for the delux suite, booked early Jan. This was the first time we had spoiled ourselves for a number of years. Upon dropping the kids off with babysitters we had been delayed and was 30mins behind our indiacted check in time.

This is when the weekend went wrong, 5 mins from the hotel we recievced a phone call saying that the hotel was going to have to down grade our booking to another room, they would compensate us $70 only, yet we had investigated the options when booking and knew that the lesser room was over $100 cheaper, as we had debated which room to book. The staff did not offer any extra bonuses or further compensation.

Hence we decided not to pay for something that wasn't what we had booked, the staff beleived that we would take the offer as it was now 3pm on Valentines evening - what other option did you have. hence we returned home, had left over dinner and spent a quiet evening at home - without kids.

Not what we had planned.

The hotel have now offered us a return visit with a free upgrade, I reserve any further opions to after our stay.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, March 20, 2009
Dear Me2577,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience with our hotel. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with the incident that occurred and felt that the discount offered was not satisfactory. Unfortunately there was extensive damage to the room that you had booked from a previous guest the night before. This made the room unavailable for sale.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We recently stayed at the Langley on business and were very impressed. After a long work day and 3 hour drive to Perth we arrived very late in the evening both tired and hungry. On checking in the staff were friendly and efficient and we found we had been upgraded to 1 bedroom suite on the 9th (Advantages) floor.

We were pleased to find we could get a meal as late as 10.30pm in the pub off the lobby and the fish, salad and chips were well above average pub fare and served as though we were dining a la carte - most impressive service.

The 9th Floor was very quiet and serene and the appointments of the one bedroom were above expectations, the floor area being more than adequate for 2 people, with modern decor. A spotless kitchen area, with hotplates and microwave, reasonable size bar fridge and all cooking utensils, modern dining table and chairs, 2 comfortable sofas, a small writing desk and an LCD flatscreen TV.

My husband and I have both had back surgery and hotel beds are often a issue, however the king bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, with 6 pillows and a doona adding to the luxury. The unit housing another flatscreen LCD provided ample storage drawers.for clothing plus the large mirrored robe had sufficient hanging space as well as housing an iron and ironing board.

The bathroom was very modern and by most standards average size for Australian Capital citiy hotels, however the small dressing table in the bedroom, complete with power point and light made it easy for a couple to get ready without crowding each other in the bathroom.

After the first night we were suitably impressed and decided to book an additional night and the rate for the same suite was very reasonable, as was the undercover parking at $15 per day (most other Perth hotels charge $25 plus). Our large 4WD complete with roof rack fitted comforably into the parking area (sometimes a problem at other hotels due to narrow bays and low clearance)

We would have liked lunch the restaurant and were dispoointed to find it closed, but did have dinner there that evening and found the staff very attentive and friendly, the food was excellent (the sharing plates are exceptional value) and the wine list was extensive and varied enough for any wine buff.


Early check out the next morning was effortless and our luggage was promptly collected at 4.45am with the account prepared ready when we arrived at the front desk making our departure smooth.

Used to stays in luxury resorts, we were pleasantly surprised by the level of appointments in this city hotel, the place was surprisingly quite, relaxed and calm, the staff more than willing to assist when necessary and we were made to feel that nothing was too much effort. Well done to all concerned.

I can fully recommend the suites , especially if like me you can only tolerate rich a la carte dining in small doses, as on longer stays, as you can prepare your own snacks and meals.

The Accor Advantages card is a bonus offering a free nights accomodation, 10% discount on advertised room rates, 50% discount on food in the hotel and additional rewards points - to be recommended for those travelling frequently or holiday makers. We have already booked 3 nights in this hotel at Easter and 14 nights in the Benoa at Bali and gained 10% off the best advertised Accor internet rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, May 20, 2009
Dear Balilass,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Perth Langley. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your kind comments about our hotel services and staff have since been shared with our team directly. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Alan Burrows
General Manager
Novotel Perth Langley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Having read several negative reviews after booking this hotel, I decided to contact the hotel direct to ask if we could have a refurbished room complete with new bed, pillows, etc. and thereby avoid some of the problems others had apparently experienced. I received a prompt reply from Mr Burrows who assured me that most of their guests were quite happy with their stay at the Novotel Langley and that the staff would be attentive to our needs.

Unfortunately when we checked in we discovered that the hotel had been expecting us a day earlier than our actual booking date which we confirmed by showing a copy of our own paperwork. The details were then updated on their system and everything seemed okay. We were then told that we had been upgraded to their Advantages Floor which included larger beds and had been recently renovated. The room indeed was very nice and spacious and equipped with everything one could need. We also had a side view of the Swan River which was lovely.

The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. The shower had lots of pressure and hot water was plentiful. Lots of lovely big, soft towels were provided too.
The room also had a large LCD television which was useful although the picture was not very good and when we mentioned this to the staff they admitted that this was a problem throughout the hotel, but did offer to send someone to check if the picture could be improved.

We do agree that breakfast was quite expensive and as such we only ate there a couple of times and this was because it was Christmas time and other local eateries were closed for the season. However the breakfast choice was fairly extensive and the hot breakfast really was good and hot. The only slight criticism here was that the women staff seemed very absorbed in their own chatter and were not very attentive to those waiting to order coffee, tea, etc. We did later discover that there was a coffee machine and hot water provided so that you could serve yourself, but I found that the hot water was not anywhere near boiling point and I admit to being fussy when it comes to making a good pot of tea when only boiling water will do - it just does not taste the same otherwise. Also, considering the price of breakfast I would have expected to have had everything automatically served to us. There are places close by though where you can find a very good and inexpensive breakfast.

The position of the hotel itself we found very handy for walking to the main shopping areas and just generally getting around. It is directly next door to the Sheraton Hotel which was another hotel we had considered for our stay. Our car hire company "Thrifty" also turned out to be just a hop, skip and a jump from there which was really handy for picking up and dropping off the car. The free bus service is also very close by and covered quite a lot of ground and therefore helped prevent sore feet. There is building work going on nearby, but we were not affected by this and found the hotel to be very quiet. We also found parking at the hotel quite easy, but I imagine that it just depends on how many others also wish to use it at the same time. We were told though that if there were a problem with parking that the Sheraton Hotel car park just opposite was also available at the same price.

On checking out of the hotel we did notice that they tried to charge us for an extra night, being the first night when they had expected us due to their own input error, however this was soon sorted and everything was resolved. Having said that, I would have thought that due to the original booking error on their behalf that they would have double checked all paperwork before presenting it to us.

In spite of this we really did enjoy our stay there and came across some really lovely staff on reception and around the bar area and nothing was too much trouble. In many ways our stay there exceeded our expectations and we would certainly stay there again.

Many thanks again to Mr Alan Burrows (General Manager) for his assistance in our very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Dear Littlegeegee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Novotel Perth Langley. I am pleased to hear overall you had a pleasant stay with us.

Your comment about the service at breakfast is duly noted and we have since spoken to the staff members concerned regarding their mannerisms. The error with your invoice on checkout has also been forwarded to the Front Office Manager to ensure attention to detail by our staff is maintained at all times.

Thank you again for your kind words about our hotel and staff members and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Booked this through the advantage plus group.

Checked into wrong room. Asked for 2 doubles and got a King bed. Advised reception and was told to wait in the room unitl sorted out. 20 minutes later we were moved.

Parking is absolutley attrocious. Laped the block 4 times and when I went to reception for help the guy behind the counter really didtn give a damn. When I said what if it takes me hours to find parking he just shrugged his shoulders and said so be it.

When the booking was mad it included breakfast. Afer being ignored by the person at the restuarant ( she was to busy playing around with the coffee machine) was told t we had to pay for our breakfast as it hadnt been included. Three times I was told that no breakfast was ilcuded yet I had a voucher to prove it.

Will never stay at this place again. I will go back to the Mecure where the staff are always pleasant and helpful. Parking is a breeze.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
Dear kazza2904,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Novotel Perth Langley. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your incorrect reservation and the response you received with regards to the parking have since been forwarded to the Front Office Manager and we will speak to all staff members concerned regarding this incident. I am sorry to hear you did not experience a pleasant start to your stay. The miscommunication with the breakfast inclusion has also since been shared with the Restaurant Manager and we will revisit some training issues.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

This is a very nice hotel, even if it is slightly 'tired' in some of the room. The staff are always friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is slightly over priced in my opinion.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Extra charges for Internet connection
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGM, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, February 17, 2009
Dear clcroux,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in relation to your last stay.

With regards to the Internet, there is some cost to the hotel in providing this service and we are unable to absorb these costs. However, we have introduced an Apple Mac corner in the lobby area allowing 20 minutes of free Internet access for in house guests.

Thank you for your kind feedback about our staff members being friendly. This has since been shared with the team directly and I am sure it will serve as a great support as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards

Alan Burrows
General Manager
Novotel Perth Langley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Perth Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Perth Langley

Address: 221 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Perth Langley 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Perth Langley is located in the Perth city centre, within easy walking distance of shopping malls, cinemas, sporting grounds and tourist attractions. There are 256 well appointed rooms, offering views of the city and Swan River. The hotel features award winning Senses Restaurant & Wine Bar, and Fenian's traditional Irish pub, sauna, spa and gymnasium facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Perth Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Perth Langley Hotel Perth
Accor Perth Langley
Perth Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Perth Langley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.