We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Perth Langley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Perth Langley to your Saves list
Novotel Perth Langley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Christchurch
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of Novotel's and this unfortunately is the worst. I will finish with the good points for balance, well will try to.

We stayed here for our annual holiday as a break from the cold of our home in NZ. We were offered a small apartment on the top floor for another $30 a night. This had a kitchenette and was generally bigger in size.
It was 'sold' to us as haven't great river views. Technically it does....if you look out the window to the extreme left. The view directly out the window is the building next door.

Two of the bulbs in the bathroom were blown and it looks like it has been painted in the lounge area recent;y as there was still masking tape around the ceiling rose of the lights.

The vent on the range hood was on an angle and full of dust and cooking grease. Weirdly, there is a gap between the gib cove and the wall of about 8mm. Not sure why.

The main thing is the smell. I couldn't point my finger on exactly what it is. I think it is a air conditioning thing but I could also smell it on the sheets so not sure.

We need to do some washing. Took the bags down to the Lower Basement where the laundry is and my room key card wouldn't work in the door. Back up to reception to be told, 'oh yeah, sometimes it doesn't work'! So got a separate key. Was told that it is $1.20 per load and do I have change. I said yes I have lots of change of different value coins. Nothing more said.

Back down to the laundry, clothes into machine, put $1 in the machine on the wall to get some soap powder and it drop about a tea spoon into a cup. It was a big load so needed more soap. Then realised washing machine only takes $1 and 20c pieces and it is $2.20 a load, not $1.20.
Back up to reception to get more change.

Back down to laundry and started first load and loaded other clothes into another machine. Went to get more soap powder from machine, put $1 in and nothing happens. Back up to reception to report it and they sent someone down who went and got me a full cup of soap powder. Dryer is $1.20 per load and doesn't dry jeans in 1 full cycle. you need to pay for two cycles.

The lifts are being upgraded to the advertised 'need for speed lifts'. One of the three has been installed already and is the same speed as the others. I meet a guy in the lift who was quite angry as he couldn't get to sleep because of the air con noise and he was on his way back to reception to get his money back and change hotels.

We choose the hotel because it had a spa and sauna. Went to use it, both spa's were 'temporarily out of order'. Disappointed, I went to reception to see if they were going to fixed in the near future, Rachel on reception said 'I don't know'. This women should not be on reception as she had no personality for the role. Surely it can't be too hard to say,'I don't know sir but I will find out and let you know if that is ok'.

On the positive side, it is close to town and the river. It also has free internet for the first 24 hours. Dining is quite expensive but I was surprised with that. We ordered a salad and it was $15 but it was fresh and lots of it.

I would suggest if you want to use the minibar products, replace them the next morning from the convenience store across the road as they have the same types.

Will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    597
    279
    102
    33
See reviews for
229
544
141
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Always a great place to stay in Perth very convenient to everything very friendly staff comfy rooms good bed and shower modern decor recommend for business
Would be great if lobby bar was open past 10 pm

June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bree C, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Novotel Perth Langley, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and managed to see some of the fantastic events in Perth at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the next great stage show or event that comes to town!

Regards,

Bree Creaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed there last weekend. Everything was good. Friendly helpful staff, good location, clean rooms. We are from Country WA always nice to have somewhere reasonably priced and close to where we need to be (Cirque de Soleil) and (Jersey Boys) at Crown Theatre. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here overnight when we went to the football one Friday night. The hotel itself is fine, clean and tidy. The check in staff were friendly enough and were helpful pointing us to the free Cat bus, which we needed because the hotel is quite a walk from the CBD and train station. The room itself was roomy and very comfortable. The hotel breakfast is one of the best I've seen in a long time, good coffee and a wide range of hot & cold dishes and with excellent service. Overall the hotel is very good. BUT!

Unfortunately, it seems the entire restaurant and hotel industry is under the impression that every single Western Australian is earning a kings ransom in some dusty mine. While true for a few, most of us just have regular jobs with regular pay and paying for accomodation is a treat. We used a third party website to get a great price that included breakfast, without this deal we couldn't have stayed in Perth that night. Thank goodness for a good deal! Go the Eagles!

Room Tip: The lift is very slow, travelling up then down and then eventually settling at your floor. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bree C, General Manager at Novotel Perth Langley, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Eagles Fan!

Thank you for your recent response about your experience at Novotel Perth Langley. I am pleased you enjoyed your city location and breakfast with us. I am sorry that you feel the restaurant at the hotel is not valuable for the price paid, please allow me to look into this with the hotel's Food & Beverage Manager.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again during the season.

Best regards,

Bree Creaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived at the hotel early as we were going to a matinee performance receptionist did not look happy filled out paperwork and asked about parking told it was next to the building and cost. Was not told about ticket and how to validate it. Evening meal at the restaurant was good and service was also good. Room was ok clean bath had large chip at the bottom of if size of a 50c coin would not bath in it. Grey shower curtain looked silly in white bathroom. One bathroom light not working could not leave bathroom door open and apply makeup as main light was behind door service at breakfast was good if you drank coffee they served you if you drank tea serve yourself I expect equal service. At evening meal and breakfast was asked for loyalty card do your computers not talk to each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location is fairly good for a stay in Perth exploring the city.
The hotel is dated although they have tried to do it up a bit with new shower head, furniture etc. Good size room and nice having a little table and chairs looking out the window.
I didn't have much to do with the staff but on check-in and out they weren't very friendly. Just doing their job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff understood how important it was to soften the impact of their renovations on the customers. The lifts were very slow so they offered complimentary drinks and nibbles as we waited. Breakfast was very pleasant with excellent service and a huge variety of freshly prepared hot and cold options - coffee freshly made to order as was my omelette. We were also given a free upgrade to a junior suite - which while tired had a great bed and view of the swan river.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Perth Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Perth Langley

Address: 221 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Perth Langley 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Perth Langley is located in the Perth city centre, within easy walking distance of shopping malls, cinemas, sporting grounds and tourist attractions. There are 256 well appointed rooms, offering views of the city and Swan River. The hotel features award winning Senses Restaurant & Wine Bar, and Fenian's traditional Irish pub, sauna, spa and gymnasium facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Perth Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Perth Langley Hotel Perth
Accor Perth Langley
Perth Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Perth Langley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.