We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plesent stay in Perth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A plesent stay in Perth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I have just stayed here with my wife and two children aged 5 and 11 although we only stayed a couple of nights I have to say the 1 x 2 bed apartment room we had was large as well as nice and clean, it had every thing you needed, from a toaster to washing machine and tumble dryer. The fridge freezer made our few food and drink items for the two days look like they were not worth putting in and there was even a dishwasher for the washing up which pleased the wife. The beds were nice, large and comfortable which we felt right at home in and we all had the best nights sleep of our holiday.
The view from the windows was not the greatest but then we were out all day, and as our room was behind another block we had very little noise so this more than made up for it.
The centre of town was not very far away and the Swan river jetty only about half an hours pleasent stroll with our 5 year old. A free and frequent bus service ran from outside the apartments to points around the city centre if you did not want to stroll in.
All in all a pleasent stay.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    112
    75
    23
    15
See reviews for
122
90
17
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. The rating is more like 3 star....very expensive for what it is. The day staff on reception were not very friendly, we were there for a funeral so it's the last thing we needed... however there was an american guy on in the evening who was very lovely and helpful. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — the cleaners were very good at their job and very friendly
  • Disliked — Rooms were run down, girl at reception during the day was not friendly or helpful
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

Apartments are very minimalistic and very poorly designed. What's a huge ground floor terrace being located from the bedrooms? Balconies were less than one foot apart from neighbouring unit. Tennis court was squashed in the middle of the blocks. A lot of the apartments are sold or rented as permanent accommodation, so I found the mix of short term travellers with residents a bit strange. Located in the middle of nowhere seemingly, although a five minute walk to the conference centre. I found the reception staff to be unfriendly and abrupt. We paid $220 AUD per night for 2 bedroom apartment from Hotelclub website which was cheaper than the $260 they quoted over the phone! Breakfast was average and I didn't like the fact that I had to make my own espresso coffee. Mum had roomservice burger which was $22 and served in a paper doggy bag. The walls are thin (brick veneer) so you can hear the noise from adjoining units, particularly the noise coming from the elevator. Ventilation in one bedroom was non existent.
I would definitely not stay here again. One would expect more when paying more than $200 per night!

  • Liked — proximity to conference centre
  • Disliked — bland accommodation, dull fitout, no lamps, poor ventilation, poor design etc
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

As South African we found the hotel/flats to be expensive and certainly not as upmarket as most 4 * hotels at home. However, it was clean, the parking and security were good. The first visit was for 5 nights with our family which included 2 small children. We had a 3 bedroomed apartment. The balcony was scarey as we were on the top floor, but the view to the city centre was attractive. Close to Kings Park ( lovely day's outing ) and within walking distance to the CBD . We did this a couple of times and other times used the free bus ! The second visit in January 07 was for 2 nights before returning home. This time we had a 2 bedroomed unit. The air con was so noisy we eventually switched it off and died of heat! Some serious upgrading is needed for the price we paid. Breakfast wa so so. The rolls were stale but the coffee was good. Still , nowhere as good or cheap as a Wimpy.

The pool was used by the children and was clean. Management friendly but the place needs an upgrade.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

Stayed 3 nights. Clean enough 2 bedroom apartment, one room with a queen bed and the other with 2 singles. Kitchen with everything, laundry and lounge area. The bathroom is unique - it has soap in an upside-down bottle fixed to the wall by the basin, and the same arrangement exists for the shampoo in the bath/shower about 10 feet away altough it does not have a soap dispenser. I guess if you are old fashioned enough to want to use soap in the shower you either use the shampoo as a substitute or dispense some soap into your hand and carry it across from the basin.

In the morning the road is busy with traffic outside. In the evening there are no convenient food outlets or shops nearby. It is at least 10 minutes walk to pubs or restaurants and while probably safe, perhaps not the best neck of the woods to be walking around late at night as it is away from the main part of the town.

Very hard to find entrance and reception especially if arriving by car at night. It is off the main road, you need to turn down any of the 3 side streets after you pass the Waldorf sign. Parking in secure underground facility was included in rate. Nothing really wrong with the place but hardly value for money - quite pricey for what it was at about $240 per night. Although it has 'hotel' in its name, in my opinion it is really a holiday apartment. Many of the apartments appear to be residential so some noise from parties etc is a possibility and there were people chatting and laughing on their balconies of the next door building after midnight on my first night there.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

I stayed in a two bedroom apartment with my family of four for two nights. It was basic and I am amazed that it is rated as four star - with a little work it could potentially be three star. On the plus side: the location was good - you could walk or take the bus into town, there was a pool and tennis on offer and the cafe food was better than expected and they tolerated our one and three year olds well. Staff were friendly. However, it is a large, depressing looking complex and inside the furniture was worn (and smelled of smoke even though it is a non-smoking hotel) and fixtures poor - the bathroom needed retiling desperately. Price was probably right compared to others but in no way is it four star.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

We booked 8 nights stay at the Mounts Bay due to it's proximity to Perth city and the WACA!
There were four of us staying, we booked a 2 bed apartment. Our friends had a 1 bed apartment in a different building. Apart from the room not being ready when we arrived at 2pm check-in time on the dot, we were pleased when we did get in there to see it was quite spacious and nice and clean. We had a proper kitchen (which one night handled cooking a meal for 6 with ease) which was fairly well equipped. The lounge was a little on the small side but we had a dining table and it was comfortable enough, although the sofa was a little worn and could have done with cushions.
Bedrooms were a good size and very comfortable and most importantly, the linen looked like new. We also had a bathroom for each bedroom, towels were changed daily and I didn't mind at all having soap to squeeze out of a bottle!
One point I would make is that it's very close to freeways and busy roads, so specify having a room in a building at the rear of the complex otherwise I can imagine it being very noisy. As it was we just had to contend with a very vocal crow who seemed to live outside our window!

They have good parking, which is free, and very secure - your door keycard operates the garage doors also.
Getting a cab was very easy out the front of the building and I found them to be very good, Northbridge and Subiaco were only $10 cab trips, and had no trouble getting return taxis either. It was a ten minute walk into the city centre for great shopping.
The only thing I'd add to previous reviews regarding where to go and eat is that unfortunately often, the service was terrible. Greek Taverna and the first Italian on the left down James St before that, were awful - and management were bolshy when we complained, even though we were getting mains at about 11pm at night! Great restaurants were the Dusit Thai in Northbridge, C Restaurant in St George's Terrace in the city, and the Mussel Bar in Freo. Pay more and you will get the service and terrific food.

Overall I would stay there again unless I wanted a romantic getaway with my man, but with friends and family - perfectly adequate. Enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Proximity to city
  • Disliked — Potential noise and average pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room at back of complex
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Address: 112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#5 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is situated in the secluded Mounts Bay Village; a sanctuary of landscaped gardens complimented by swimming pools, tennis courts and furnished apartments. The village is located between Kings Park and the Swan River and is the perfect vantage point from where to base your stay in Perth. Located within the city's Free Transit Zone, this allows you the freedom to explore the City easily although for those who enjoy the walk, we are only ten minutes from the bustling CBD or five minutes from the Perth Convention Centre.This contemporary apartment Hotel comprises of one, two and three bedroom, fully self-contained apartments and penthouses which address most of our clients' needs so whether you are on vacation, relocation, a business trip or just a leisurely break from routine, Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is your ideal accommodation choice when visiting Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mounts Bay Waters Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.