We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive, but attractive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very expensive, but attractive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with my family of 5 persons as part of my relocation package for 7 days. As we are a larger family we had luxury accomodation in the top floor apartment with its own roofterrace. There are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The facility is of high standard but disappointing was the very limited cutlery. A few plates only and in one size and just enough spoons and forks and knifes. So regular dishwashings as also the dishwasher was faulty. The first 2 nights were very hot as there was a heatwave in Perth and the airco in bedroom took 2 days to fix.
The view from the apartment however was breathtaking and the cleaning was good. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The roofgarden was phenomenal but for children outright dangerous as the barrier to prevent falling off the roof is very low. To my surprise it complied with AU regulations!
A big point of criticism was that for a nightly price of $700, ( employer paid this), there is no Internet included. Internet can be bought over Tomizone for 8$ per hour. I find this outrageous in 2013 especially given the high roomrate.
The location of the hotel is great with easy access to the CBD, major highways and public transport
All in all a good experience for us, but I understand from other reviews here that it may be different in apartments on other floors.

Room Tip: Top floor with roofgarden, but be ready to pay 700 $ per night plus 8$ per hour for Internet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    80
    61
    22
    14
See reviews for
93
74
12
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We are visting our family in Pert once a year and it was the first time we decided to stay in a Mounts Bay Apartment. We were very pleased with our choice. he 2 bedroom apartment was very modern with great beds and good kitchen and internal laundry. The facilities in the hotel are very good include tennis court & restaurant. Good on site security and good value. We liked the breakfast and will be happy to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great place for families or couples in a central Perth water front area. just on the edge of the city with a free bus shuttle taking you to various attractions in the Perth area.
We had a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment with a balcony, overlooking the pool. The kitchen is well equipped enough to cook a family meal, good internal laundry . The rooms are large, with loads of cupboard space & there was a washing machine & tumble drier in one of the bathrooms. Air con in the main room cools the whole apartment. Pool is unheated but clean and a good size.
We were on the 3rd The insulation is good too as there was no noise at all from surrounding apartments. There is a safe entry system to the reception area which operates 24 hours a day so it was very safe, which we thought was great, but the area felt safe anyway.We would denifately stay here again if we went to Perth. It was clean bright & fresh. Higly recommended espcially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in November for a business meeting in Perth. A lot of accommodation in Perth is very expensive so a 2 bedroom apartment for about $500 per night was good value.
The location is close to town and the Entertainment Centre, though the walk under the freeway at night might be a little off putting for some.
The rooms were clean and bright, with a small balcony looking towards town.
the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had to find a self-contained accommodation in the last minute. This was the only one was available. We're travelling with my husband, our 2 y.o. toddler and a 3 months old baby.
1. I booked a 1 b.r. thinking as the baby sleeps in the porta cot he wouldn't need a bed. Wrong - 4 people, was forced to upgrade at a 'special' internet rate. Ended up very dear for 1 night.
2. Was't clear where to park while checking in. As I mentioned in my comments to reception staff we're coming with very small children, but had to wait at the check in for a very long time as the reception lady were also attending other quires, clearly not adequately staffed on Friday night. She was very apologetic though.
3. Again, not sure if there was anything else more suiteable available or if other apartments are the same. Balcony wasn't safe for the toddler at all, in fact my heart sunk when I couldn't lock it our properly. Balcony had very big gaps underneath and it was a 6th floor. There is no way to securely lock it out, it only has a manual latch, not the type you will find in a newer type of houses/ apartments and it was on the same height as my toddler, he has undone in a matter of a second. Very scary.
3. Although it may be updone very nice inside, the place needed some uplifting. Furniture had broken corners, carpets were going undone, blinds were getting torn, bathroom had very poor sealing. Seriously for $410, is it a 4 star? Lounges were saggy and stained.
4. Very poorly done meals we have ordered from the restaurant. Overcooked, with not much salads or healthy options arrived in Chinese style boxes.

Good points:
1. Reception accommodated our car park just near the lifts so we didn't need to carry many baby things far.
2. Great location.
3.Spacious apartments

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice spacious serviced apartment at a very Central Perth Central area overlooking the Swan River. Quite good on site facility for guest and nice on site restaurant for breaky. There is a free shuttle bus in the hotel entrance road that can take you to various Perth local attractions. Weenjoyed our 4 night stay in this central and secured hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We shared a2 bedroom hotel accommodation in Mounts Bay and had a great time.our unit was modern,very clean and with most of the cavities we required.quite central P ERTH CITY LOCATION close to everywhere and near the free city Cat bus service.recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Address: 112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is situated in the secluded Mounts Bay Village; a sanctuary of landscaped gardens complimented by swimming pools, tennis courts and furnished apartments. The village is located between Kings Park and the Swan River and is the perfect vantage point from where to base your stay in Perth. Located within the city's Free Transit Zone, this allows you the freedom to explore the City easily although for those who enjoy the walk, we are only ten minutes from the bustling CBD or five minutes from the Perth Convention Centre.This contemporary apartment Hotel comprises of one, two and three bedroom, fully self-contained apartments and penthouses which address most of our clients' needs so whether you are on vacation, relocation, a business trip or just a leisurely break from routine, Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is your ideal accommodation choice when visiting Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mounts Bay Waters Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.