We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Top place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We shared a2 bedroom hotel accommodation in Mounts Bay and had a great time.our unit was modern,very clean and with most of the cavities we required.quite central P ERTH CITY LOCATION close to everywhere and near the free city Cat bus service.recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    99
    70
    22
    15
See reviews for
113
83
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for work and the location is great. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and functional. Location is ok and restaurants are a walk away.

Service is a match for do roc the larger branded hotels. Very intuitive, responsive and friendly. Would recommend. The pools are tiny but at 35c who cares?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location (except for units facing Mounts Bay Road). Units are adequate but many seem to be a bit past their shelf life and in need of renovation. CBD is easy walking distance. Nearest "grocery" is a very basic C-store. Woolworth's on St Georges Terrace is closest and fairly close to a Blue CAT stop.

Room Tip: Look at the unit you are renting first. Unless you like traffic noise, seek an inner/upper location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for our a daughters wedding with her bridesmaids and friends on 19/20th October 2012. Check in was ok but you are made to pay the whole balance at once, so obviously if its over $1000 you have to pay by credit card as there is a limit on daily debits. Not happy about this so asked to pay for one night, and the rest in the morning, they reluctantly accepted but kept reminding me to pop in before the wedding to pay the balance.
Apartment was a 3 bedroom bug enough, but very dated and dirty carpets all around the edges, furniture worn out needs replacing. Kitchen and laundry well equipped. Breakfast a disaster! On the Sunday morning after a beautiful wedding the day before we all went down for brekky. The place was empty with only one other diner in there. No greeting off Middle aged waitress at desk on entry didnt even manage to look up eke we said 'Good Morning' anyway we chose a table a browsed the menu. We waited and waited. Waitress hadn't moved from her computer screen...I duly went up and asked to order, she actually tutted and said I will come over. We ordered 4 big breakfasts and 2 eggs Benedict. The big breakfasts were all missing the sausages, and the Benedict's were covered in mayo not hollandaise sauce. When we enquired about this she just argued back and forth with us that 'its not mayo, it's hollandaise' repeatedly about 6 times!! I decided I couldn't eat it as so much vinegary mayo was just disgusting. The sausages never made it to the plates. There was no apology and no offer of any other breakfast. On check out I was charged $18.90 for a cup if tea and slice of water melon! She said she hadn't charged for 1 eggs Benedict but noticed a had a cup of tea and piece of melon so that was charged as the buffet breakfast. We have not stayed anywhere with such bad service in a restaurant. If she didnt want to be working in hospitality she should quit, staff need to have people skills when working with the public and Chefs should know the difference between mayo and hollandaise, it is completely different. On checking out of the hotel that morning, the middle aged waitress saw me speaking with the Manager of the hotel and just laughed! Having said that the waitress who was on Saturday morning was a delight. She actually greeted us and chatted with us through breakfast and when clearing our table noticed I had left an uncooked pancake. When signing off to our room she mentioned she hadn't charged me for the pancakes as she had noticed one was not cooked through. She also wished us all a beautiful day and good luck to my Daughter for her wedding. What a difference in personality!
On check out and speaking with. The duty manager they did not offer any refund for the breakfast. Spoiled an absolutely beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great 2 bed apartment, fully fitted kitchen, washing machine, dryer. House keeping everyday, in a great spot if you love city life. Staff helpfull, tried the restaurant by reception, wasn't great food, not a great menu choice. Swimming pools clean, my husband took advantage of the gym. Overall great apartments would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for three weeks on work trip to Perth.

One pro is a good location. It is walking distance to all of downtown (we walked to work in the city center every day) but yet the hotel just outside the bustling downtown, by the water and at the bottom of Kings Park. Jacob's ladder (which is a great and quick workout if you are in a hurry) is literally right beside the hotel, and when you climb it you are in King's Park, a BEAUTIFUL park that is huge and overlooks the city. Stunning views and plenty of distance to run/walk/whatever your heart desires. So I found the access to King's Park to be excellent. Would run there before and after work when I had time. There is also a convenient store and restaurant both right beside the hotel.

Another pro is the apartment like set up for a long stay. Having a washer and dryer in the unit was key! Nice amount of room too. The bedrooms were adequate in size and the living/dining/ and kitchen area were all generous in size.

Finally, another pro was that the staff were always friendly and house-keeping was very responsive. Because were were there for work and staying so long we asked for several things including extra hangers and they brought them no problem. Also, we did not experience the problem others have noted with not having toilet paper and such to start, so I'm hoping that means they are learning from their reviews and improving! They even provided little milks for coffee and a box of teas and instant coffee that they replenished twice a week. We never bought toilet paper or dish-washing liquid or things like that. We DID buy our own laundry detergent, but I thought that is to be expected.

One major con is that it just isn't that "nice" of a place. When you first walk in, it looks pretty nice, and it's clean. But then you start to notice stains on the furniture (so much so you feel gross sitting on it), cracks in the walls (and I'm talking cracks that run the entire distance of a wall), poor quality patch work, doors that stick, stuff like that. Also, there wasn't enough lighting at all. Just some overhead lighting in each room/area that was pretty dim. We were sometimes working so not a good environment at all. You get the sense it could be a really nice place if they just put some more work into fixing it up. And really nothing decorative to speak of. Some nice decor could really improve the place also. The ONLY decor in our apartment was a motel 6 looking picture that detracted from the place more than added.

A few other minor cons, the gym was pretty small. Only one of everything so if someone had the type of machine you want to use, your out of luck. And quite a few noises at night. I can deal with that ok so I was able to sleep, but my roommate is a light sleeper and had to wear earplugs.

Final piece of advice for the other Americans, they have french presses you can request for the room since there are no coffee pots, but they call it a coffee plunger! =) And the instant coffee they provide in the room isn't so bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

When in Perth I normally stay in the city center however on this occassion when my usual hotel wanted to charge me over $500 a night I sought a different locale and came up with Mount Bay apartments. I was pleasantly surprised. I'd forgotten what a pleasure it was to stay in apartments when travelling. So for a fraction of the cost I stayed in a 2 b/r apt, could cook myself meals and enjoy a different, more relaxed location. The directions provided for arrival were clear and I arrived there in no time using the free bus service (the blue line). Quick and easy commute into the city where I had to work for several days. Definitely will do this again. Delightful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Address: 112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is situated in the secluded Mounts Bay Village; a sanctuary of landscaped gardens complimented by swimming pools, tennis courts and furnished apartments. The village is located between Kings Park and the Swan River and is the perfect vantage point from where to base your stay in Perth. Located within the city's Free Transit Zone, this allows you the freedom to explore the City easily although for those who enjoy the walk, we are only ten minutes from the bustling CBD or five minutes from the Perth Convention Centre.This contemporary apartment Hotel comprises of one, two and three bedroom, fully self-contained apartments and penthouses which address most of our clients' needs so whether you are on vacation, relocation, a business trip or just a leisurely break from routine, Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is your ideal accommodation choice when visiting Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mounts Bay Waters Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.