We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel if your looking for something basic and not flashy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Perth Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Perth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Warnbro, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad hotel if your looking for something basic and not flashy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night and I must say we had no problems at all, but it was only the one night. It was a basic room, nothing flash, just what we needed for the night really. Decent price - what made the whole stay was the included buffet breakfast!! That was the best! Was the whole works - bacon, eggs, sausages, croissants, bagels, cereals, yoghurts, toast etc. Very nice way to finish of a nice night. Would stay here again, however I wouldnt reccomend it if you are planning it for a romantic time away or anything like that but if you just need somewhere to stay whilst in the city this place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    104
    76
    33
    57
See reviews for
32
84
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived in Australia after a long trip from England, I pre-booked the hotel through hotels.com and it only cost me £292.59 for 5 nights and I was in a Superior room.
The room was well decorated and I had a double bed and a single bed, the bed was VERY comfortable. The rooms were cleaned everyday and tea and coffee topped up.

The staff were great and helped me when I was booking the next part of my adventure as I only booked this section and then looked where I wanted to visit next in Australia.

Breakfast was buffet style and you got what ever you wanted on a morning, again the staff were friendly and polite.

Yes parts of the Hotel defiantly needed updating but this should not put you off using this hotel as a base for visiting the rest of Perth as its close to all of the free CAT buses and a short walk to the ferry.
I also liked the free wifi as it enabled me to keep in touch with home for free using skype.

Would I use again??? You bet I would.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived in Perth on a very late flight so decided best to stay in the city before catching up with the family. So we were tired and it was very late when we arrived, the check in went fine but the room was quite dissapointing .the decor is very tired and well overdue for some major refurbishment. Everything worked and it was clean enough but the dated atmosphere and feel of the place let it down. We booked a double room and it had 4 beds!The hotel is very centrally located and is rated 3 star . On the positive side breakfast was included, it is buffet style but generous and served in a nice downstairs area.

Noise from adjoining rooms can also be an issue

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in central Perth and are not looking for a more modern and upbeat style then it will probably meet your needs but afraid we won't be staying there next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hallway of floor 8 smelt a bit funny and so did the elevators. Everytime we used the elevator it felt as if it would be our last ride on it as it sounded terrible. The room was clean however our balcony room door's didn't close properly at the top and the wind could blow through being quite noisy. The room was a bit out dated however the tv was good. The shower didn't have enough power in it and wouldn't hold a decent temperature. We could hear everything the next door room were talking about even them going to the toilet. The breakfast was good the next morning. It's in great location to walk to Hay Street and Murray Street for shopping and very close to some awesome restaurant's and pubs! The parking next door for $15 a night was okay better than paying the $30 amount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clearly stuck in the 70s, everything about this hotel was disgusting. Ridiculously over priced, dirty, noisy and even slightly smelly. Paper thin walls, which meant you could hear next door going to the toilet. Maids "hoovering' the landing at 7am. Kings Perth may be located in central Perth, however in what has to be the rough area of the centre, lots of suspicious looking characters lurking around outside. Do not waste your money by staying at this "hotel". Says it has wi fi however this only works in the reception area. The so called discounted parking next door reduces the price of a days parking to the bargain price of $20.00 a day. All in all, positively grim.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked the hotel last minute and in comparison to what else was available in Perth (add parking fees and breakfast to most other places) we were quite pleased with the inclusion of a breakfast buffet (good choices, quite tasty) and discounted parking at Wilson's carpark right next door. Yes, the public places and the rooms are a bit tired, but the price and location make up for it. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this noisy, out-dated hotel. Bathroom floor clearly wasnt cleaned and the hallways on floor 4 were gross. Stained carpet and just not maintained.
Our bed was comfortable though, and the pillow was great. There was a movie channel on TV which wasnt too bad.
Overall, the place is shabby and out-dated and not maintained and SO noisy at night (not just from the road but the hallways/elevators/housekeeping staff in the middle of the night). Fantastic location and clean bed though.
Wish I'd read the reviews before I stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Perth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.