We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised after reading reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Perth Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Perth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised after reading reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for business recently. I was dreading it after reading the reviews on TA but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, especially SIska. I was given a free breakfast and a welcome drink voucher which has earned it 4 stars instead of 3 The rooms are straight out of the 70's and could be easily upgraded but I guess they've decided not to bother. It was so old it was kind of trendy, it's come full circle!. My room was clean and not full of dust as I have read in other reviews. Cons: VERY thin walls and some of the staff need to work on their people skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    104
    76
    33
    57
See reviews for
32
84
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed for two nights for business and it has to be the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

There was dust everywhere in my room, and by the look of the light switches the entire hotel needs re wiring !

There was dust on the chair , on the light switches ,in the shower in fact on every surface

I pre paid for breakfast and it was a buffet style with food sitting for hours and it had no taste.

I was greeted at breakfast with " if you can find a seat just sit there".... therefore i had to clear a dirty table and then look for clean cutlery. On the second day i went across the road and had breakfast at a cafe !

At $220 a night it is absolute robbery for a filthy , down trodden hotel

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After reading the reviews for kings hotel i was really worried about staying there for my husbands birthday.we are local and stay in hotels in perth for a night quite often, so we can compare hotels.we have stayed in a few top hotels in perth.we decided to look at the room before checking in.the front counter staff (agee) not sure how to spell her name :) she was very polite and was happy to show us the room.we were shown to room 406,i think this was a superior refurbished room.it was clean,the sheets were spotless,bathroom was nice and clean.and the room was nice and roomy.for a three star hotel it was fine.the bar was very friendly,nice chesterfields to chill on while having a glass of wine. breakfast was great .nice and fresh.parking for the night only cost us $12.overall it was fine.would i recommend (yes) for a three star hotel it value for money..i could not fault the staff,they were excellent.thankyou for a pleasant stay :)

Room Tip: just ask to view the room before check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sài Gòn, Nam Ha, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I highly do not recommend for anyone to go to this hotel, the room that i stayed in wasn't deluxe so it wasn't upgraded, the interior carpets and wardobes were all from the 70's. As soon as we stepped into the room, it had a pungent odour, horrific. I couldn't sleep for the whole night. The bathroom was in terrible condition, there were bugs and it was pretty dusty. Overall this isnt even a 3 star hotel. Very bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a couple of nights over the weekend in the city recently, and chose the Kings for its location and, lets face it, price. Perth has become so expensive these days that staying at the Hyatt or the Burswood, even the Holiday Inn is only for the seriously well-off, or mine workers. The Kings is a winner on location being close to Pier St and the Hay and Murray St Malls, and quite a few good cheap eateries nearby, too. Downstairs looks great with new carpet, nice timber panelling and buttoned leather couches, but the room we had was pretty dated, the shower had mould, although the beds were clean and comfortable. A big tick for the staff, too who were all very friendly and helpful. We got breakfast in our weekend special rate which was good. Car parking next door now costs $15 per 24 hours single entry. If we don't win Lotto or get a job up north, we'll go back again

Room Tip: Cant say - ours was on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Happy with Kings as a restaurant. Service and food are good. Price is OK too. A definite option for me which I shall take up again living close by. We opted for the nasi goreng, Malaysian chicken curry and fish and chips respectively. All delivered in reasonable time. Was pleased to see that menu is not overly complicated so kitchen is probably well primed for what they do. Nothing wrong with that. Happy with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location the the Perth CBD but the rooms are a bit outdated. Some things have been updated/modernized but others not so much. The price was fine for what you got and it was clean and staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Perth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.