We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Perth

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Perth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 57 hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2013. Our Room was very clean and spacious and all the staff were warm friendly and very helpful. Pool was a very welcome oasis. The building was very dated but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    275
    129
    44
    32
See reviews for
60
259
60
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in August 2012 and was very disappointed. It's all a bit dated and a little bit grungy for the price; not fantastically clean or terribly well-maintained. Early on Monday morning, when I was meeting a client for coffee in the lobby coffee shop, I had to go to the bar and ask for someone to come over and take our order. On top of all that, it was host to a large cohort of young men (FIFOs?) a group of whom, with last night's beers and glasses of red wine still in hand, were ushering their lady friend (euphemism for hooker) into a cab early on Sunday morning. Also, and this is not specific to the Hyatt, I find it simply unacceptable that large CBD hotels charge $25 per day for wifi usage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Kirsten L
Thank you for posting your review and I am very sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay, particularly your experience in our Conservatory. Clearly our service and presentation on this occasion were not up to their normal standard, and I apologise this was the case; I will certainly address these issues with my team. With regards to the interior décor, we are continually looking to improve our product and are currently in discussions with our interior designer in regards to some soft refurbishments we hope to be able to implement in the near future.

Also, for your information and possible future reference, please be advised that since the beginning of the year we have been offering our in-house guests a choice between a complimentary and premium service ($12 per day) for wired and WiFi internet connection, the appropriate service being dependent on speed and download requirements.

Once again my apologies for the issues you encountered and I hope you may consider staying with us again on a future visit to Perth.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

In my book not a 5 star hotel. Hairs left in shower from previous guests, needle and thread similarly not cleared away. Cheap plastic bedside alarm clock which didn't work. Sophisticated TV which made very loud sign off sound when turned off, not great when wife asleep!!! Austere interior reminiscent of Freo prison which we had toured the previous day. This hotel needs a big shake up, it is trading on the name and not living up to it!! Will not go there again, plenty of other good hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Peter Y
Very sorry to note that you were less than impressed with your recent visit; the issues you highlight clearly indicate a lack of attention to detail when the room was refreshed and I will have our Housekeeping Manager follow this up with his team; my apologies for any inconvenience caused. With regards to the interior décor, we are continually looking to improve our product and are currently in discussions with our interior designer in regards to some soft refurbishments we hope to have in the pipeline soon.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope may consider staying with us again on a future occasion.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed here January long weekend and arrived Friday around 5.00pm to very welcoming staff.
Check in was good but the room we wanted was not correct ,within 5 minutes staff had changed us to a more suitable room (a big plus from us).Breakfast next morning was average ,if it was not included in our rate would have been poor as the price was $36 per person (have had a lot better in close by hotels)the pool area is great with drinks and light snacks available at better value than breakfast and staff always there to service any requirements .Rooms were good ,clean with good bathrooms .One poor show was the tea and coffee the jug cord was too short to reach the power point unless the desk was pushed to the wall and then only just reached (someone will scald themselves one day )above average but not quite at the top

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear froggyroy
Many thanks for your review. It’s good to note that you enjoyed your stay although disappointing that you were not allocated the correct room from the outset – pleasing to note however that this was quickly resolved. Thank you also for pointing out the issue with the kettle lead – I will ensure our Housekeeping team check these when they are refreshing our rooms.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will choose to stay with us again some time.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was Australia Day eve, staff were frazzled. After a 15 minute wait for check in we ended up in a room with disabled facilities, which meant the shower did not contain the water well and thus the bathroom ened up with water everywhere. For $300 per night for a King room which had no view, I expected better. I guess I needed to be more demanding on check-in like other guests.

Room service food was luke warm on arrival, so we were glad to have prearranged an alternative dinner option. Our 9am arrival for the buffet breakfast met a long que and stressed staff. We ended up in the lounge area as there were no tables in the cafe restaurant. Food was average, not a patch on the Pan Am's buffet breakfast.

Thankfully check out was uneventful and efficent

Not sure we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Nicole76oz
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel was certainly very busy on Australia Day, but like all other busy periods throughout the year, this should not have affected the level of service or quality of experience you received. I am very sorry you had such a disappointing stay with us and will look into this with my management team to ensure improvements are made.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your views and I hope you will consider staying with us again on a future occasion.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Perth Hyatt over 20 times (they actually gave me a nice gift or my 20th stay). It is a solid Hyatt property. He service is always of a high standard, unfortunately not something that is common in Perth. It is well located within walking distance of the CBD (although you can catch a bus in from the front door for free) and the WACA (cricket stadium). It is located on the beautiful Swan River which is great for a walk or run. There are several good dining choices in the building, my favourite being Joe's Oriental Diner. There is a coffee shop and a great sports bar. The gym is hotel standard and the pool is great.

The downside here is that with Perth being central to the WA mining boom the room prices are ridiculous. Weekdays are up to $640 a night, this is not a $600 hotel. Weekends are usually cheaper. Check pricing as it can vary but when judging the hotel on price remember its the mining boom that makes it so expensive and everywhere in Perth is the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Redaussie8
As one of our regular guest, it is really great to receive your comments and to learn that you have been able to use many of our facilities and enjoy the local surroundings. Also pleased you liked your gift - it’s one way that we are can say thank you to guests like yourself who continue to choose to stay with us. In terms of our accommodation rates, these do tend to fluctuate, however our Reservations team will certainly be able to advise the best rates available – for either just a room or one of our many inclusive packages.
Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well worth staying here. Really nice hotel. Good location, Service was fantastic and the buffet breakfast is so yummy! There is a convenience shop about 20 metres next door to the Hyatt and a bottle shop just down the road - so handy! The Mall is not too far either. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamMyott, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Perth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear liliz
Good to hear you enjoyed your time with us and many thanks for the great comments about our service and buffet breakfast, they are very much appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Adam Myott, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Perth

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel
Perth Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Perth
Perth Hyatt
Address: 99 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#8 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Perth 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the banks of the Swan River, on the eastern edge of Perth's central business district and shopping precinct. Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel is convenient to arts, parks, entertainment and convention centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.