We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woeful renovation rescue!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines St Georges Terrace

Save Saved
You added Citadines St Georges Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines St Georges Terrace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 St Georges Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Somerset St Georges Terrace)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #45 of 57 hotels in Perth
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Woeful renovation rescue!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The first 3 floors are being renovated. This meant plastic wrapped elevators, workman with wheelbarrow in our lift etc.
There was no help in with bags and we dragged them up very steep stairs.Later a luggage k
lift was pointed out to us but again no help to get a cab or lift bags into the taxi.
Our room was reasonable except there was a strong mouldy smell in our bathroom. I complained about it several times. They sent the maid up to disinfect the bathroom. IT was in the air-conditioning vent and extremely bad of a night. One night I sat on the toilet with a flannel over my face for fear of catching Legionnaires disease. I would have thought they would change our room. The motel seemed quite empty.Walls were thin.I overheared a couple next door. I'll save you the details!
Bed sheets were not changed and we were there for 5 nights. We had to ask for towels to be changed. Breakfast was overpriced and poor choices. Only 1 cereal (cornflakes). My poached egg one morning was hard boiled! I'm sure it was cooked for at least 10 mins. It was like rubber.
The desk staff were either disgruntled with management or just didn't care. Very little enthusiasm shown. One waitress on the weekend seemed to be in a daze.No hospitality skills there.
Our travel agent heard all about it on our return.She will not send people there again.
This hotel should have shut while renovating. It is owned by Chinese who are more interested in $$$ than service!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Julene M's,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologise that your expectation was not met and you were not aware the property is undergoing a refurbishment. We have information listed on all on-line travel sites and have communicated out to travel agents, however it seems not to have reached you. We will contact your travel agent to ensure they are aware of the process. I would like to highlight that we have thoroughly checked the air-conditioning unit in the room and please be rest assured it passed all cleanliness tests’, however these are all being replaced in the upgrade.

The Terrace lounge has recently changed management and they are making many improvement to the service and quality, it is unfortunate that your experience does not reflect this. We will pass this feedback on the breakfast selection and service.

On a side note, Somerset St Georges Terrace is owned by The Ascott Residence Trust a Singaporean REIT and managed by The Ascott Limited, the largest international serviced residence owner-operator with more than 200 properties across Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. Operating three award-winning brands Ascott, Citadines and Somerset in over 80 cities spanning more than 20 countries. Our owners are investing $5.1 million to upgrade the property to enhance the guest experience to ensure our guests’ are more comfortable.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again once the property is completed, we would like the opportunity to show you a wonderful new product and our great Ascott hospitality.

Kind Regards

Nathan Baker
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    35
    27
    19
See reviews for
16
34
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Checked in Sat 28th Sept 2013 at around 1.30am after a 5 hour flight to stay in room 508.
1. Blood Spots in the Elevator
2. Missing valance from bottom of the bed
3. Blood Spots on the wall beside bed
4. Disgusting huge stain beside the bed and all over the lamp cord (no idea what it was was more blood maybe!?!?!?!)
5. Numerous stains throughout the room.
Reception very unhelpful when advised of the above we were simply told we are full and have no other room for you, We were left with no where to go and stay at 2am in the morning!! Not even an offer to help find another hotel.
Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you Nikki88wa again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I’m not sure if you have seen my email response to you yet? as I did sent it yesterday.

I did personally view and addressed your feedback with our Executive Housekeeping Manager, and he has addressed those Housekeeping staff members that were involved in the servicing of your room, thankfully I can confirm the spillage was actually coffee and not blood and has immediately been removed.

I have also spoken with our Guest Service Team in regards to our standards and what is the most appropriate course of action to have taken in these instances. I can confirm that we had been 100% full on the night of your arrival so although we were unable to move your reservation to another room, alternative arrangements should have been made at another hotel in close proximity.

We would also like to take this opportunity to inform you of the ongoing refurbishment to Somerset St Georges Terrace. This refurbishment is budgeted at over AU$5 million and will include cooking facilities in all rooms, new bedding packages, new carpeting and new soft furnishings as some of the many new enhancements planned. The refurbishment is due for completion by the start of 2014.

Nikki88wa, please do let me know if you have not received my email as I do hope we may have an opportunity to make amends in the future.

Kind Regards

Nathan B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Checked in Sunday night with first shock being the lift. Got in the lift completely covered in plastic that is being used for renovations...why was I not told this upon booking?!
Rode the lift to level 5. The level has a distinct smell of dust and urine. Incredibly dark and long hallway riddled with damage and flickering flurescent lights of variable brightness.
Got inside the room: photos speak for themselves. Room felt dank and bathroom dirty.
Immediately called home in a panic. Barely coped through a stay of 5 nights.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks Rach C,

I can completely understand your shock when arriving to the property to find we are undergoing our long awaited renovations, though we do try and inform all Guest of our current refurbishment unfortunately sometimes this information does not get through to you are the Guest. We shall be sure to contact your Travel agent to ensure the information is passed on to prevent other instances and sincerely do apologise. As part of our current upgrade we are targeting the lights in all apartments also the hallways, just to name a few areas.

We are looking forward to showing you our new product very shortly with renovated stock coming online in mid October and by mid November all available apartments shall be refurbished. Rach C, I do hope you do choose to stay with us again when next in Perth, as we would love to show you our new product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Purchased the bubbles for two package online. Room lovely and spa bath bigger than expected. Located central so convenient location. Staff friendly.

Was not told about the 2% surcharge for credit cards or the $100 refundable bond payable upfront until we arrived at the hotel. No parking (hotel has SIX allocated bays) so had to find our own and had to lug a suitcase down the street back to the hotel. Also no wine ready on check in, hour later called to enquire but was asked to collect from main desk as couldn't leave reception. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty but semi cold on arrival.

All in all overpriced but convenient. Would try elsewhere if needing to stay in CBD again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello taanejen

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our Double Bubbles Package is one of our most enjoyable packages, so I am sorry to read that it did not meet your expectations during your stay. We sincerely apologise for the lapse in guest service which has lead to your comments.
The requirement to hold $100 as a security bond for incidentals is a standard hotel procedure which all hotels adhere to. Please be advised that the funds aren't debited automatically - we release them when you check-out. Our credit card surcharge is displayed on all booking confirmations although not everyone will read through all of these details.
You are correct in saying that we do have very limited car parking - this is due to our central location in the CBD. Please feel free to drop your bags off prior to parking your car if you choose to stay with us again, as we would be more than happy to assist you in safeguarding them. We hope to welcome you back to Perth in the near future.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset St Georges Terrace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once was 4 star property, but now looking 3 star in places, it is not to the standard that I was expecting, showing its age, tacky furniture, scuff marks on wall need painting. apparently they are renovating some of the rooms to a better standard. Good location, It is handy to the oil & gas end of town, not far from city mall. Restaurant & bar is run by someone else, which could also do with a make over, though the food and drink prices are reasonable. If you are paying 3 star prices then it is ok, but it is $260 a night for average room with a view of an internal light well. backed onto office block. Corridors felt like a rabbit warren.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello svEngineer

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our central location. Somerset St Georges Terrace will be going through a refurbishment to include new furnishings, LCD TV’s, carpeting, lighting and various other enhancements across the property including the lobby area. This is scheduled to begin at the end of September 2013. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience one of the refurbished rooms.

Kind regards

Ned Meyers
Marketing Executive
Somerset St Georges Terrace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Strange how a hotel can be soleless whilst simultaneously sapping the sole out of you? High price point and the web site suggests a chic classiness, but the hotel really doesn't deliver. Furniture looks like something from a charity shop, carpets are threadbear, and the facilities are all pretty bad quality. If it wasn't for the helpful staff this would definitely be a 1 star review. Badly in need of some serious refurbishment

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on your previous stay with us at Somerset St Georges Terrace. We were disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet some of your expectations. We are glad to hear that our staff service did meet your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to share with you that Somerset St Georges Terrace shall be undergoing a refurbishment budgeted at over $4 million to include all rooms with an addition of another. These works are due to start mid September 2013 and completed by the beginning of 2014. We are expecting to have our first stage of refurbished rooms back on line from the 18th of October and by the 22nd of November. Once again thank you for your feedback and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandurah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Walked into a very dimly lit reception area. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. The room was very dimly lit also. Would not stay here again.Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Citadines St Georges Terrace, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent stay at Somerset St Georges Terrace. We apologise that on this occasion our staff did not provide the expected standard of service that all our guests deserve. We shall investigate and continue to monitor our staff to ensure that the expected service standards are met if not exceeded at all times. With regards to your comments on the lighting of the room and reception we are pleased to share with you that Somerset St Georges Terrace shall be going through a refurbishment to include new soft furnishings, LCD TV's, new carpeting, improved lighting within the rooms and various other enhancements across the property including a new Guest Service area scheduled to be completed by 2014. Thanks again for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines St Georges Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines St Georges Terrace

Address: 185 St Georges Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Somerset St Georges Terrace)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines St Georges Terrace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the vibrant city of Perth, Citadines St Georges Terrace (formerly Somerset St Georges Terrace Perth) is the perfect home-base from which to experience modern city living in Australia. Positioned in the heart of Perth's Business District, Citadines St Georges Terrace has the picture perfect setting for doing business in the city. Its prime location is also within walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, bars, department stores and many quality boutiques at Murray Street and Hay Street Malls. To complete the picture perfect setting, the property is just a street away from the Esplanade that overlooks the Swan River.Upon entering the main lobby, guests experience a welcoming oasis of calm. A collection of local contemporary art pieces express the energy and verve that Perth has to offer and are featured in the lobby and residences. Offering 85 contemporary rooms, which range from studios, spa studios and spacious one-bedroom residences, you can enjoy vibrant city living at a prime downtown address. Doing business is easy with our business support services, large well lit work areas, telephones with speaker and IDD facilities, and complimentary WIFI. Our conference / function room facilities are also available for work or pleasure. After work, relax in the cafe or by the al fresco bar located on the ground floor -- just the work-life balance suited to the busy executive on business or leisure traveller looking for a weekend getaway. Citadines St Georges Terrace Perth is managed by The Ascott Limited, a member of CapitaLand. It is the largest international serviced residence owner-operator with more than 200 properties in over 80 cities spanning more than 20 countries across Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. It operates three award-winning brands Ascott, Citadines and Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citadines St Georges Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset St Georges Terrace Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines St Georges Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.