We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parmelia Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parmelia Hilton to your Saves list
Parmelia Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast, WiFi & Wine
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very poor value!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Paid 375 AUD per night for a room in dire need of renovation, 20 yards from major construction site. In fairness, the room was large, bed and bath OK, and breakfast respectable; but the furniture and carpet were from the 70s; and the room was directly adjacent to a major construction site which started early in the morning and went until late at night. Worst of all my complaints were completely dismissed by the front desk staff – not so much as a sorry.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    461
    269
    97
    42
See reviews for
103
438
109
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

what a great place to stay. service was excellent - staff were all very professional yet friendly. good location, nice room. clean

  • Liked — friendly professional service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Me & my wife stayed at the permelia hilton albeit for one night at the end of our holidays in beautiful australia, we had stayed in some really nice modern hotels in brisbane, melbourne & at the ayres rock resort, so i was very much looking foward to ending our stay at one of the worlds leading hotels, How wrong we were, when we arrived no conceirge collected our luggage from our taxi, then when we checked in my wife told the front of house that we had asked for a late check out with our travel agent because our home flight to the uk was not until 1.00 am the following day and could we at least have the room until 18.00pm on the day of traveling home, we were told that check out was 10.00am, & if we wanted to have the room it would cost us the full price again, i was preperd to pay a small fee for another 8 hours but not another £124.00!!, we managed to get the room after some negotiation with front of house we were told we could have the room until 13.00pm, and they would look after our bags until we departed for the airport,
After this we were given our card to our room and told where the lifts were, BUT again no one came to collect our luggage, we took them ourselves to the room, & this is the hilton!!!
the lobby was designed very swish, in marble & black. But that was as good as it got, the hallways onto the rooms looked like something from the 70's, i'd hate to think when the last lick of paint was put on, the white paint looked more like tobacco yellow, the carpets looked like a sick paisley, so old fashoned
the room itself was dated, plastic bath, fixture and fittings were brass looking, again very 70's,
the room was meant to be a queen size, well i would have hated to see the standard room size!!
the bed was a nice size and comfortable, but at 7.00am the building site opposite started work, ok i understand that people have to work but this hotel does not believe in double glazing nor were we told about this when checking in (i.e. that there was building work going on), so we were up at 7.15am until we had to leave for the airport 21.00 later that day,
in all i was very disappointed in the hotel, i thought the hilton regarded itself on being one of the leading hotels of the world, not this one im affraid to say!!
oh and for the record, when we did finally depart for perth airport we took our own cases from the hotel to the taxi, yes no conceirge AGAIN!!!
This hotel badly needs upgrading on all accounts!

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — old fashoned decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

It's Saturday night and there is a party somewhere in the hotel and the music is so loud our room on the fourth floor is vibrating. A complaint to the front desk resulted in us being told that, although they too could feel the lobby shake, there is nothing the management can do about it except change our room. I don't believe there is any place in the hotel that wouldn't be affected by the noise. It's 11pm and we have a very early start tomorrow and all I want to do is get some sleep. I definitely don't recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

I've stayed at several of the main hotels in Perth, and often not been very impressed. However, despite some of the reviews, I was impressed by the Parmelia Hilton. The hotel is quiet. The location is unsurpassed for downtown Perth - whereas some hotels are quite a walk/short taxi ride away. The staff were pleasant, from start to go. And the rate I paid was reasonable. Yes, this is a hotel built 40 years ago - but the room I was in had been nicely renovated, and had some charm that more recent constructions lack. The fact that airline crews (who need their rest) stay in a hotel always means something to me - and I saw several during my stay at the Parmelia. If you need to be in central Perth (for example, for a convention or business meeting), this may be the hotel you are looking for!

  • Liked — The central location and understated but welcoming service
  • Disliked — Older TV set
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel 4 times over a period of 4 weeks.

The rooms varied from atrocious (I'm assuming it was the original 70's room that has never been renovated and they may think it is retro trendy to keep it this way) to above average (renovated within the last 10 years).

When we checked in to our room there was a mighty big cockroach outside out room (see the picture) and when we checked out the cockroach was still there even though our room had been cleaned three days in a row as with all the other rooms on our floor.

The best thing that Hilton could do with this hotel is demolish it.

Hilton should be ashamed to put their brand on this hotel.

We got better value at a three star hotel in Perth than we did at this Hilton.

  • Liked — Buffet breakfast was very good
  • Disliked — The pool was dreadful
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We got a great deal through wotif at this amazing hotel which we found out a few days before our stay was the first 5 star hotel in Australia back in 1968. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a king deluxe room and it was just amazing - very sophisticated and elegant. Great location, just unlucky for us we stayed during a public holiday so the city was especially quiet but very central spot. We didn't use the gym or pool facility but they looked great. The breakfast buffet was extremely good with a huge variety of foods available and it is clear they look after international visitors very well. Staff extremely friendly and professional - would definitely want to stay there again. Apparently they're undergoing an extensive renovation also, we saw the beginnings of that on the work happening outside so can't wait to see when finished.

  • Liked — Pure elegance
  • Disliked — That we were only there one night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parmelia Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton

Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From Guest Rooms to Deluxe Plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The Hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Parmelia Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parmelia Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.