We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, huge price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parmelia Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Parmelia Hilton to your Saves list
Parmelia Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Small room, huge price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First impressions are important. In my case, with regard to the Parmelia Hilton, they were not good and consequently I won't be staying there again. While the staff were friendly enough on check in, when I walked into my room I was met by a single bed. When you are paying $300+ a night I think you would reasonably expect at least a double bed. Mind you the room was so small, it probably wouldn't have fitted a double bed in it! The effect of the small room and the dark decor made the space feel quite claustrophobic and stuffy. The decor in the hotel generally was dark and dingy and while everything was clean, it really does need smartening up. Maybe I was a bit grumpy because of two not so good nights' sleep, but I put a lot of that down to the room. Had the price been a little more realistic, I would not have minded so much but this just a rip off as I see it.

Room Tip: Check the bed configuration before you book if you like a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear conatus

Thank you very much for your review.

It’s great to hear you were happy with the level of service you received, however I’m naturally very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room and have left us with a poor impression.

The Hotel offers a range of room styles currently and I’m pleased to let you know we are embarking on a programme of improvements to guest rooms commencing in 2013, so I am sure we can offer something more to your preference if you will give us an opportunity.

I would certainly appreciate the chance to resolve your dissatisfaction and would be delighted to hear from you direct at david.constantine@hilton.com or by telephone on 08 9215 2000 to discuss further.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    399
    241
    89
    40
See reviews for
91
363
100
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great resturant food, lots of choice, but dreadfully rooms, I hope that since I used to stay there a lot tat they have been updated, however close to town, but defiantly not worth the money, lucky my boss paid

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear kirisydney

Thank you very much for your review.

It is great that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Adelphi.

We are in the process of finalising plans for guest room improvements to be undertaken in 2013. This is in addition to new carpeting throughout, all new Hilton Serenity beds and an upgrade of the fitness centre and swimming pool this year. The Hotel offers a range of room styles so please let us know your preferences when you book again.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We did a mystery hotel through Wotif.com and were very happily surprised.
The rooms are dated but very comfortable and clean, staff are very friendly and accomodating. Location is great, walking distance to everything. We truly enjoyed our 24 hrs of freedom from our 3 kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Cherrybom

Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your break and appreciated our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a mystery hotel through a 3rd party website for a queen room, parking and breakfast for $199 and it was for the Hilton. On arrival we asked if we could upgrade...and for an extra $39 we stayed in a large suite, separate bedroom, bath, lounge and dinning table.
The staff are very helpful and even sent a bottle of complimentary wine as it was my wife birthday. The Globe restaurant/bar was closed for dinner so we headed to Adelphi's steakhouse...but unfortunitly it was fully booked. We ended up ordering room service...and it didn't disappoint. The Club sandwich was very nice..and was a good size meal for even me.
The bed was huge..and very comfy. Breakfast was in the Globe...and the selection was excellent.
We have stayed a couple of times here...and it never disappoints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Blackjacknz

So delighted you chose to celebrate your wife’s birthday at the Parmelia Hilton and thank you for sharing your experience.

I’m really sorry we were unable to accommodate you for dinner in the Adelphi, however it’s great to hear your inroom dining was such a success!

We hope to welcome you back for your next special occasion. There will be a warm welcome waiting.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Conveniently and centrally located hotel with thoughtful and friendly staff. The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and had everything I needed, with very comfortable bed and pillows. Perth is expensive during the week and this is no exception, but stay on for the weekend and enjoy Perth - weekend rates are normally much lower.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tess K

Thank you very much for your review.

I have taken great delight in sharing your lovely comments with all the Team Members. They work hard to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and this is great validation of their efforts – thank you!

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Perth.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Other reviewers have said it all. Rooms and bathrooms quite dated in style and small, with view of other buildings, so probably not the best venue for a holiday. For business though, the quality of the services and friendly and efficient staff more than make up for these shortcomings. Really comfortable bed with large soft pillows. One of the best range of choices for breakfast that I've seen in an Australian hotel - even a DIY juice machine! No surcharge for espresso coffee either - other hotels take note. A high quality room service dinner (try the Barramundi) and room service breakfast delivered in 10 minutes at 6.15am. From memory they don't put an extra service charge on top for room service delivery either. I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, and there was some 'party' noise on Saturday night even in my room at the back of the hotel but it quietened down quite early. Others in my group mentioned noise disturbance as well, so maybe double glazing is worth considering.

Overall a great experience. A stay during the week shouldn't have the noise problems.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear maxie88

Thank you for taking a moment to write your review.

It’s great to hear we got it right on all levels and I’m especially pleased you enjoyed the breakfast options and your Hilton Serenity bed.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in the Queen Suite and it was worth the extra money. Very big and spacious and nice views over the pool. Bathroom was slightly dated. Room was very big and clean with elegant old world charm. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear elishamaree

Many thanks for taking a moment to share your Queen Suite experience!

I am naturally thrilled you enjoyed the space and elegance, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parmelia Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton

Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city’s most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From Guest Rooms to Deluxe Plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Steak House & Bar. The Hotel’s meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parmelia Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parmelia Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.