We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated Hotel - well past its best days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parmelia Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Parmelia Hilton to your Saves list
Parmelia Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Perth
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Dated Hotel - well past its best days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

Excellent staff, very attentive and a real asset to the hotel. Assigned a room on floor 10, very noisy and the windows would not close properly. My room looked over a really busy freeway so it was difficult to sleep. Also was 42 c (110 f) when I was there and the AC was ineffective since the windows had gaps and let the heat in. The room was clean but had a very dated feeling. I did get a bargain rate on hilton.com though. Excellent inner city location. Would return if rate was very cheap

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    396
    240
    88
    40
See reviews for
90
360
99
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

This is 2nd visit to Perth, and returned to Parmelia Hilton - this is great hotel and well worth the visit. Roooms are modern, service is great, and breakfast well - has more than you can possibly want. Although I went to beach each day and did not really need downtown Perth location, the hotel is only 15 minutes to beach by car. For parking, recommend, Convention centre half-block from hotel which is open all night and has reasonable rates.

Will return to Parmelia Hilton on my next visit to Perth.

  • Liked — Personality of staff
  • Disliked — No Business Lounge
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Dont expect sheer luxury and you wont be dissapointed. The rooms are nice and clean and the service is great. They offered 2 free drinks in the bar on arrival and I got a paper in the morning. The pool is nice, however the sauna was a little dodgy. The gym is small but adequate . The hotel is near the convention centre, river and shops, there is a pub and restrauant in the same complex. Its a good location and its hard to find any major turn offs. Look for the bargains on this one.... I got it for $99AUD a night. Bargain price for a 5 Star hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Sauna
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Bring on the “Pro Hilton” Alumni

Its funny and ironic I started 2007 with the Hilton brand and end it in the same way;
I assure the brand conspiracy theorists it was never planned although I am sure I will be attacked in the same way as with the Melb Airport Hilton.

So get ready,
Yes it was a good price AUD $155.00, it needs to be.

In a nut shell Parmelia is very old and needs a good “kiss and cuddle.” I realise the facts and the difficulty maintaining an old hotel but upon reading a few reviews I feel I need to add a couple of key points consistent with my experience.

After being in the room for about 3 hours (due to work and phone calls) I noticed crumbs and drink rings on the bedside table. Further investigation led me to find dust, mould, & used ear buds in the bin!! (in a cleaned room!) and dirty light switches and carpets.
3 nights stay the A/C was noisy and archaic, TV was from a $70 a night budget hotel and 3 globes in the room did not function.

On the positive, great location, good parking/ concierge staff, solid room service and menu

I am glad Hilton discounts to get the occupancy it needs.
However with Media Barrack Street now in full swing it needs a refit more urgently.
I was very surprised some airline crew still put up with it.

  • Liked — The room service and menu
  • Disliked — The poor housekeeping
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

I remember when this place was the number one hotel in Perth. All the celebs would stay here and it had an aura about it. That's when I lived in Perth.

I booked a business trip back there last year and since I hadn't stayed at the Parmelia before, I thought I'd check it out.

It's easy to get to, is very central and has a nice feel about the reception area.

I found the service very good and the Adelphi restaurant next door has an fine menu, the steaks are top notch. Breakfast was good and you can get in and out quick.

Although the lobby area still looks good, the hotel rooms are very small and very dated, they seriously need a refurb.

Car parking was a breeze with the valet service, they fetched the car quickly which is a plus.

I liked staying here, however there are more modern hotels which I guess are more appealing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old, small rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
295 hotel reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
2,710 helpful votes 2,710 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

The Hilton is located in a fantastic position for easy access into Perth CBD. We have stayed at numerous hotels in Perth and found the Hilton to offer the best for location. The Hilton is approx 25minutes from the airport and basically situated next door to the convention centre.

Our king river suite was on the 10th floor and had lovely views across the river and city surrounds. The suite was enormous, traditionally and elegantly furnished with a large lounge room with a balcony, separate dining room, an equally large separate bedroom with a beautiful king size bed. There were two bathrooms in the suite both exceptional, the en-suite also had a small spa bath too.

We absolutely loved our suite and had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay. If you can afford to stretch the budget then you will not be disappointed with this superb suite.

The Hilton also has an outdoor swimming pool; although small it was extremely private and offered a health gym centre on the same floor.

There are two terrific restaurants and three bars; the Globe Bar was very impressive and relaxing for having drinks after exploring or work. Staff were brilliant offering first-rate service and a credit to this establishment.

We only ordered breakfast as room service, as why let the dining table go to waste! And found everything to be just perfect.

The suite was expensive but worth every cent, we had an exceptional stay at the Hilton. I'm not sure why this hotel gets such mixed reviews, as after staying at other hotels in Perth we absolutely had no problems.

  • Liked — our spacious suite.
  • Disliked — not meeting my TA Perth friends.!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

I was in Perth for business for the second time this year and was looking forward to a stay at the Parmelia Hilton as last time I was in town it was booked out. The location is great, just behind St Georges Tce and a very nicely concealed location with an impressive, while humble lobby.

CHECK IN
Check in was friendly and helpful but nothing out of the ordinary. I was given a room on the third floor and made my way up. Although I checked in at 11pm local time there were still a number of staff in the lobby.

THE ROOM
The room was OK. The entry is a little tricky if you have a lot of luggage. The bed was very comfortable and spacious while the room was big enough to feel like you could spread out. TV was standard (why do most hotels still skimp on TV size when they are so cheap?) however everytime you changed the chanel, even on mute, the TV gave a loud clicking sound.

THE BATHROOM
There are two pet hates for me. A hotel room without a decent bath/shower and the shower head. Full marks for the shower head - while being energy efficient it still had great pressure for a relaxing shower. The bath however was a shower combination and was tiny. On top of this a large hand rail for disabled access jilted right out into the middle - so a bath was out of the question.

ROOM SERVICE
Room service to 10pm is the full menu. I had a surf and turf meal which featured steak, prawns and scallops. Full marks for this dish however the side cesar salad had a supermarket feel about it. On the second night I had a late dinner on the post 10pm menu. I grabbed a toasted sandwhich which was impressive for the late hour.

THE EXTRAS
The gym is getting a little dated but was good for a quick workout. Treadmills, bikes and most weight systems are in there. The pool is external so unless it's Summer or Spring forget about it. I ordered a massage one night and was impressed. The hotel sources this locally and for $100 I had an in room massage. A deep tissue massage was just what I needed after a long flight.

THE VERDICT
While the room was standard, bed and shower head impressive, the biggest letdown was the location of my room. I was in room 301 which is just behind the lift shaft. Being in property I should have checked this out before I settled down. All night I was woken by lift doors opening and closing, the fire stairs being used and the gym downstairs kicking on till the late hour.

Overall a nice hotel if you are in town on business but if I did come back on a personal holiday I would not stay here one minute.

  • Liked — Location in Perth
  • Disliked — Noisey Room!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parmelia Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton

Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city’s most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From Guest Rooms to Deluxe Plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Steak House & Bar. The Hotel’s meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parmelia Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parmelia Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.