We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Melbourne to your Saves list
The Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   942 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I reported on this hotel after a stay in November last year. Back again for a few days business. generally its a nice older style hotel in a good location which could very easily be really excellent. Room accommodation is generally okay and the beds are comfy. The restaurant downstairs is very good with great food.

It unfortunately is unloved with lack of care and attention to finishes, materials, and spaces being very evident. Needs a new coat of paint, replacement carpet, and a general spruce-up. For the money charged there is no excuse. Very shabby and tired looking. This could be a really good hotel with very little effort.

Really irritating small things like the pen supplied in the room, with the hotels name emblazoned on it, having a broken pocket clip and bits of plastic at the point broken off. How much is a cheap plastic pen to replace?

Final complaint is that the wifi internet connection is extremely poor/non existent despite the fact that they have several alleged hotspots throughout the hotel. These days there is no excuse for this in a capital city, particularly when you tell guests that wireless connections are available.

All in all frustratingly disappointing because it doesn't need much to really lift its game. Whilst I'd love to go back (under the right circumstances) I probably won't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
9
42
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely old heritage building but the room I stayed in was very out dated. Paint was peeling from the wall and the cover of my ironing board had a dirty big coffee stain on it. I stayed here for a business trip and was forced to park at public car park as the hotel does not have its own. It cost me $32 to have my car parked from 6pm to 9am the next morning.Carpet on the staircase, as lovely as it was, was showing signs of age with frayed ends. On the upside, has a great bar and the M Cafe is great for breakfast. These 2 things were its only real saving grace.

Room Tip: From what I hear the balcony rooms are better maintained so I would ask for one of those but I dares...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Melbourne Hotel is an old hotel which has been refurbished. The building is beautiful and has lots of character. We stayed in a Superior Balcony Room. The room was clean and well furnished. The bathroom is bright and modern. The shower was an adjustable height shower which I love as I"m not very tall, but hotel showers always seem to be very high up. The staff are friendly and the breakfast in the MCafe was delicious!
We stayed there as it is only a short walk to the Perth Arena, so it's very convenient and reasonably priced.
Overall, a great stay. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have direct access to a wrap around balcony through double doors. Very nice to sit wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice both times in the honeymoon suite, just love the place the stunning wrap around veranda we had direct access to from our room was beautiful in the after with a cocktail in hand taking in they sights of the city, right in the middle of everthing so the locations was fantastic, has a beautiful restaurant with ornate ceiling and fabulous food. This beautiful 100 year old hotel has retained it's charm and beauty with been fitted out with all the creature comforts we could ask for, so so nice to not be staying in a hotel that looked just like a million other places, was truly special.

Room Tip: ask for a room with access to the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If fake country pine furniture from the pine shop. In a makeover in the 80s is your idea of the old Melbourne hotel. Then this overpriced lacklustre service hotel is for you. At 300 dollars a night for a 'superior room' on the balcony on the corner of a busy CBD street, this must be the best superior delusion that only the Internet could conjure. The beds are like sponge cakes and the pillows have zero support. God this place needs an internal renovation as its outside is renewed to maintain a grand building. In fact I have found most of Perth culture a triumph of appearance over substance.

Room Tip: If you looking for the best than the best at this hotel is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked a table for dinner at the hotel restaurant due to its proximity to the Perth Arena. We also stated with the booking that we were attending a concert and were not intending to have a leasurily dinner. The restaurant is beautifully maitained in its original style with ornate ceilings attracting your attention once you are seated at a table.

The service was generally good, the meal and wine menus were varied and moderately priced in comparison to other city venues. Acknowledging that the restaurant was fully booked we ordered only main courses and placed our orders within 15 minutes of the restaurant opening, unfortunately it was an hour later before the food arrived and only after a couple of requests to the wait staff advising that we had limited time.

The food was well presented and tasted devine.

We would use the restaurant again before a concert, hopefully the hotel management will address the needs of concert goers and streamline efficiency and deliver meals in a more realistic timeframe .

Room Tip: Book early on concert dates
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had breakfast in the Melbourne cafe.. Tired decor and i was given a dirty menu on arrival. The cafe was almost empty at 8:30 in the morning yet it still took a long time for my breakfast to come out, when it did it was without any eggs, which was the main part of the meal. I was told the chef 'forgot' the eggs as he was also working for a function. (customers don't need excuses, just for the problem to be dealt with efficiently and with a smile) Then the meal came back out 5 mins later and the eggs had just been put on top of the same meal which by this time had gone cold.
Their was only one waitress on which tells me they expect it to be quiet, but she was lovely and very friendly and offered me a cake to apologise.
Would not go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Address: 942 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.