We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is excellent but facility not as good as other Crowne Plaza hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Perth to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Perth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Service is excellent but facility not as good as other Crowne Plaza hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions, the location is nice and the open park land across the road is fantastic and the views of the river breathtaking. The welcome and service from staff is great as you would expect from Crowne Plaza, the food the same. However the hotel itself is getting a little old and is need of refurbishment in particular the rooms, bathrooms and hallways, it is more comparative to a mid range Holiday Inn than any of the other Crowne Plazas I have stayed at. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, clean place to stay with friendly staff.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Glen D,

Thank you for your advocacy and we are delighted you continue to find our location, staff and ambience at a level you value and are willing to recommend.

We do have investment plans now under way to lift and refresh the public areas and guest rooms going forward. Hopefully this work when complete will make a noticeable difference to your impressions.

Kindest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    184
    113
    33
    12
See reviews for
40
176
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed only for one night and the check in staff were very friendly - parking is $27AUD per night which could add up over a few days. Our room was a river view room which had a lovely view of the Swan River basin. The bedding was clean, the office chair provided was rather dirty and the bathroom could do with a good makeover - the shower screen in particular. Room charges for the internet were very expensive but the hotel does off a 30min complimentary wifi in the lobby - just ask for a code at reception. The swimming pool on the 3rd floor looked inviting but I was unable to use it in the morning as it was being used by some team for their morning training.

Room Tip: River view rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dorla UK

Thank you for noting your observations on the recent experience you had as a guest at Crowne Plaza Perth.

We appreciate your comments and will review those areas we can to improve on the guest experience.

Kindes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it a poor experience due to the room.

The entrance, location, front desk staff and breakfast buffet were all average-above average, however my room was bland and the bathroom felt dirty.

This is a short review, because there's really nothing special about the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Chanell F

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Perth.

Needless to say we are disappointed you found the guest room experience was not as you expected.

If there were any specific aspects you feel we should be aware of please let us know directly; we also appreciate your comments on the front desk staff and welcome experience.

If you are travelling to Perth again please let us know.

Kindest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love the location of this hotel for many reasons. I can run the bridge to bridge when I'm here, I can walk to Safeway if I need, or i can just stay put. The buffet in the morning is up there for one of the best buffets for a chain hotel I've had (in Australia). The reception staff are always welcoming and are knowledgable of the area. You can also rent bicycles and cycle around Perth which is always a nice to do. This hotel gets my tick for a great night sleep. Decent size bathroom with a separate bath. I stay here weekly for work and couldn't be happier when I know I'm staying here. You'll really enjoy the experience crown plaza Perth offers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear RPKE

We are delighted you enjoy your stay at Crowne Plaza Perth. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel has very nice rooms, although small. The location is great as it is near the Swan River and all the walking and running tracks that surround the river. The service is okay, but not brilliant and the food is quite good. It is within walking distance of the City Centre and has great views of the river. parking is expensive, as is Internet. I like staying there, despite some of the downsides, as I find the positives outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mark M

Thank you for sharing your observations when staying at Crowne Plaza Perth recently. As much as we try to mitigate the cost of parking we are only passing on costs of this service which is not absorbed in the room rate. We lease parking bays nearby at a cost to provide a comprehensive parking facility for our guests convenience.

We are looking at ways of reducing Internet costs going forward, it is free in the business centre however if you wish to use this facility.

Thanks Mark, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very nice rooms with good air conditioning, great desk for computer and related works. Restuarant very good, service was a bit slow, but the food was second to none. The staff otherwise very good polite. I am very keen to stay there again on my next business trip to Perth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MichaelV

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Perth. WE know how demanding business trips can be and are delighted you found our facilities and services allowed you to conduct your business with out any fuss. We appreciate your kind comments relating to our colleagues who are passionate about providing friendly and courteous service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next have business in Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as it was in a great location to see the Christmas Pageant. Being senior citizens we didnt want to do too much walking. The hotel is a little dated but still has everything you need. The rooms have a modern decor and were very well equiped,clean and comfortable as was the bed with nice crisp linen. Large LCD TV. Bathroom and amenities supplied were more than adequate. Room aircon worked very well in the 40deg heat!
There is a small bar area inside the foyer. The attendant 'Chris' could do with learning a bit more about customer service. Even eye contact with customers would go a long way. Breakfast probably would have been great if it hadnt been so disorganised. The choice was great but so many choices were continually unavailable due to not being replenished. No glasses, cups and saucers,plates,bowls milk and having to asked for everything several times gets a tad annoying. One staff members made up tables after people had vacated but always put the clean cutlery on the seat of the chair that the previous persons bum had been sitting on, that was a bit of a turn off! In all fairness one lady said that the day before everything was great but the manager was not present on this particular day so possibly there was no guidance for staff. Valet parking is rediculous at $29. There is some street parking though.
All staff were very pleasant, happy and smiling(except Chris but maybe he was new!) Food prices were a little steep but the view was lovely from the restaurant,the pool has a very pleasant view over the Swan river. Dont see the need for the service charge for room service or the credit card fee. All in all though we had a very enjoyable stay and would gladly go back again but only on a 'specials package' which are much better value

Room Tip: 'River view' rooms have excellent views over the Swan River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Romavan,

Happy New Year. We appreciate your comments and look forward to demonstrating some of these issues we believe were a temporary lapse in our attention to the service standards we aspire too.

Parking unfortunately is at a cost to the Hotel as we use the services of the Hyatt centre to park, these fees with labour to valet park cars are recoverable with the parking charge, similarly the merchant service fee on credit card transactions is also a recoverable expense we do not include in the room rate as these costs are optional. We do provide however for other options of payment and parking which may be more convenient.

Again thank you for taking the time to keep us informed in this way as it allows us to monitor our operations more closely and take corrective action where necessary .

Kindest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowest Internet Rate Guarantee Book here first -- if you find a lower rate on another site, we'll beat it! The Crowne Plaza Perth is located on a quiet, leafy residential terrace in the City's fashionable Lower East Side. Overlooking verdant park lands and the river. Within walking distance of the central business district, the Bell Tower and Old Perth Port Just 11 Kms from Perth Airport and located for quick and easy access by road to Perth's business parks and metro area. For your convenience valet parking is available on site. The Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel features 189 rooms and suites. High speed internet is available in all rooms and public areas. The hotel also has an outdoor pool and sun deck to enjoy a lazy Perth day or to relax after a hard day's work. The well equipped business centre, fitness facility and laundry are available at no cost to accommodate your busy lifestyle. Gusti Restaurant and Bar is acclaimed as one of Perth's finest, offering a relaxed atmosphere featuring fresh seasonal menus and alfresco dining overlooking Langley Park and the Swan River. Crowne Plaza Perth is the Place To Meet for business or leisure.A Green Globe certified business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.