We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but ready for a reno!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Perth City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Albany, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great but ready for a reno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a family room with teenage children. Family room had two rooms - one with two singles and the other a double bed (forgotten how small these are!!) Rooms and bathroom are spotless but ready for a renovation / upgrade. Lovely breakfast both mornings and a great dinner in the hotel. Fantastic location allowed as to leave the car parked (valet parking $29 day) and walk where we wanted. Many restaurants / cafes across the road and close by. Two minute walk to Hay Street Mall and associated shops. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Would stay again and recommend to others. As a Priority Privilege Member got a great rate on the room.

Room Tip: With older children would get two separate rooms instead of the family room so could have a QS bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear CUThere_69,
I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on our Trip site. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay our location in the heart of Perth which makes it very easy to explore our wonderful city and our delightful offerings.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing full breakfast (@ $29.00) which boasts a wide choice of fresh fruits, breads, pastries and you can order eggs cooked to your liking which is great.
We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Warmest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    192
    73
    16
    11
See reviews for
72
104
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot on hays street which is close to the city centre with all the shops. I stayed here for work on many occasions. The rooms are basic not very fancy but that was all I needed. The staff are friendly & helpful and I like the bar downstairs even has outdoor seating. I would stay here for work again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Frequentflyer122,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. All of us here at the hotel are delighted to read that you have enjoyed many stays with us. We hope when you stay with us you feel part of our family where you can just relax and be yourself which is what our fabulous team strive to achieve for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to you back to the Holiday Inn family when you next visit Perth.
Warmest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arriving in Perth on a Sunday is never auspicious but the Holiday Inn just added to the foreboding. Confusions over our group booking and unhelpful with a cancellation followed by arriving in a room more reminiscent of the YMCA in 1985. Dull and unwelcoming with everything looking worn out and knackered from the decor to the bedlinen and bathrooms more like (good) public conveniences.Yet again the staff saved it as they were friendly,pleasant and mostly very helpful but frankly they deserve a better property than this to work in...........given the location Holiday Inn should be ashamed of this place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel ,there are plenty of choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear johnnylavaBeijing,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved this Holiday Inn; the staff was superhelpful and friendly, our room cozy and big, the bed was just heaven and we slept very very well. The location of the hotel is perfect with a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. but watch out: "life" is shutting down early in this part of the world; after 9.00 p.m. it was difficult for us to find food ....which was disapointing for such a famous city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Doffa,
Thank you so much for writing your review on our Trip site and pleased to read you enjoyed your stay despite the early closures of the restaurants.
Your comments about how helpful and friendly our team are gratefully received. Our team strive to ensure our guests really enjoy their stay by always being helpful, caring and welcoming to all guests. Without doubt, our team are our strength along with our fantastic location right in the heart of Perth’s CBD, as we are stone’s throw away from the amazing Swan River and Kings Park, or for something closer we have the Apple store next door.
Sadly it can be hard to find restaurants that serve dinner late in Perth CBD. I would recommend, if you were to visit again to try some suburbs such as Leederville, Fremantle or Mt Lawley as there are restaurants that serve food till late.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you to Perth on your next adventure.
Kindest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed here overnight several times with teenage children for concerts and other city events. Great inner city location. Lots of shopping and sights within reasonable walking distance. Not a luxury hotel, but family friendly and great service. Have eaten at the downstairs Seven88 café for dinner. Quick service and reasonable food. Kids under 12 eat free. Only disappointment is there is no longer a swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Cathy B,
We very appreciate you taking time to enter a review of your recent stay on our Trip site and are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay overall. There is no doubt our location, right in the heart of Perth City is second to none and making it quick and easy to access popular venues such as the new Perth Arena, SciTech, even the Apple store which is right next door!
We are pleased to hear that your children got to take advantage of our great family friendly option of ‘Kids Eat Free’. Although I’m very sorry to hear that you and your family were disappointed that we no longer had a swimming pool at the hotel, which has not been a feature for the hotel for a number of years.
We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kindest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaoxing, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

the room are dirty and out dated, the toilet leaked plus a extra water leak from where in the bathroom unknown.

The disappoint was unbelievable for the extra money spend was a waste.

No cold drinks in the fridge

You could not recommend this hotel at all

Room Tip: stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear matthew b,
Thank you so much for your time to comment on our Trip Advisor website. I was certainly disappointed to read you had a number of issues during your recent stay and would certainly like the opportunity to speak with you about your comments. If you could kindly contact me privately on the TripAdvisor site I would be delighted to speak with you.
With respect to your comment regarding the lack of water in the fridge; our past survey’s of hotel guests, have tell us that most guests prefer to have an empty fridge on arrival so our guests can fill the fridge with their own preferences or we do provide the option to ‘Make Your Own’ minibar, should you choose to do so which is refilled daily. If your preference is have certain items in the mini bar fridge this can always be arranged so when you check-in your preferences are available immediately.
Once again, the team and I regret your stay was not to your expectations and would like to assure you that we are consistently striving to provide the highest levels of service to all out guests.
I do look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.
Kindest regards
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for a few days on business. Hotel is OK but a bit tired around the edges. Good beds and pillow choice. Staff are very helpful and restaurant food is good. Walking distance to lots of shops and restaurant/ bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Oldbolter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Address: 778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#9 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.