We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest hotel at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Perth City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Modest hotel at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a city centre hotel. For a start, beware the parking - about $30 a day to park! Rooms are small but clean, and small lifts to get luggage upstairs. Good, if small bathroom. Friendly staff - this is Australia after all - and very helpful. We chose the hotel because it is in the city centre but it is now, compared with some years ago, such a depressing place - scruffy and full of shops selling tat. Locals don't go there unless they have to and it's pretty clear why. You will be better off by the beach or in Fremantle. By comparison with UK, Perth is staggeringly expensive, partly because of the exchange rate, partly because of the distortion of the economy caused by the presence of mining workers who fly in with vast sums of money to spend. If locals and visitors form abroad can't afford they really don't mind - young men with too much money will fork out readily. A middle ranking hotel like Holiday Inn can charge an awful lot of money for rooms, food, drinks and parking. Be warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the city hotels unless you have ot for work. For holidays, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Anthony J,

We appreciate you taking your time to share your thoughts on your recent stay in the heart of the Perth CBD and we regret you had less than a great time in our wonderful city.
We are grateful to read your comments about our friendly and helpful staff as we endeavour to always meet / exceed our guests’ expectations. With respect to parking, our valet service allows 24 hour access to your vehicle which is parked in a secure area. By way of information, there are a number of other Car Parking options guests may choose from within walking distance of the hotel. It should be noted however; parking at these alternatives for a 24 hour period is more expensive than the hotel with less flexibility when it comes to access.

Thank you again for your feedback; we hope to have the opportunity to see you again when you next visit Perth.

Kind regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    196
    74
    16
    11
See reviews for
74
107
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean rooms, not too expensive, excellent service and a yummy breakfast buffet. We had a double room with two double beds. Enough room for the kids, hubby and myself. Recommended stay for a stop over.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear liliz,
We would like to extend our thanks to you for completing a review on our Trip site. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend Holiday Inn Perth City Centre future stays. We take pride in our breakfast buffet and are always looking to keep it fresh and are glad you enjoyed it.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family to our great hotel next time you visit Perth.
Breakfast tip: Guests may request pancakes whenever they like, a great option for the kids.
All the very best,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stay here quite frequently for work and I must say that the service is quite consistent when it comes to the reception staff and bar staff. The rooms are of a decent size and the beds have a pillow top which make it all the better for a good night sleep. Street facing rooms are quite noisy on weekend evenings with live music occasionally and public thoroughfare however the windows mostly block this out. The air conditioning is mediocre depending on the room you get, and the bathrooms are out dated but have all the amenities you would need. I would recommend this lodging for its superb location in the city centre but don't expect the ritz with the price you pay. It's Perth. All accommodation in this city is expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear RPKE,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. I am extremely happy to hear that when you stay with us, you experience consistent service. The city can certainly be vibrant with lots to see and do, especially on weekends.

Tip: Most hotels have an exhaust fan in the bathroom which can draw the A/C air out of the main room however, if you keep the bathroom door closed this limits this from occurring keeping the rooms cooler.

We are certainly looking forward to seeing you when you next return to Perth.

Kind regards,
Deane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Only stayed 1 night in between citys but wish we could have stayed longer. Had room on top floor and everything we wanted loved the choice of pillows, never had that before. Will stay in a Holiday Inn again if this good. Breakfast was excellent as well. Carpets were a bit dirty but are being changed soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear rubydogUK,

Your review on our Trip page is greatly appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

The choice of pillows is part of the Holiday Inn offering and to compliment the choice we already have on our beds, we also offer a pillow menu which is found in our compendium which provides further options to help you Stay Relaxed while you enjoy your stay with us.
Your comments about our breakfast were welcomed by our team, our breakfast has a wide selection of items such as cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and the hot buffet offering 2 varieties of sausages, bacon and you can select from our egg menu, pancakes and French toast. Then there is the energizing fresh juicing station, a great way to start your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Perth on your next visit, where we hope you can stay a little longer to experience the exciting things Perth has to offer.

Warmest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in Perth for three nights. Although we arrived very late at night, the staff was very nice. The room itself was spacious and so were the twin beds. The interior was nice but more or less like in other Holiday Inn hotels. The location of the hotel is really in the center, bus stop, underground station and even the ferry are in a walking distance. The breakfast was with 29 AUD not really cheap compared with the offered variety but of good quality. The staff in general was friendly and helpful at any time.

Room Tip: If you plan to go there on Christmas, contact the hotel in advance if roads are blocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear robtraut,

I appreciate you taking your time to write a review on our Trip page. Our location is very convenient for business or pleasure, with public transport all in a short walking distance from the hotel.

Thanks also for your comments about our staff who are always ready and willing to assist our guest in any way they can. We noted your comment about our full buffet breakfast which has offerings from fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, hot items and you can even order pancakes, French toast and eggs to order. We are always willing to listen to feedback; if you would be able to contact me directly with any extra items you thought would enhance our offering we would only be too pleased to hear from you.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit our amazing city.

Kind regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I hired a room in the Holiday Inn and it was ok. The view was really nice as it was on Hay Street. The room was nice and open but a little old looking. You were close to most things but if you want to do a walk to Kings Park I advise to get the free bus which stops outside the hotel as my friend and I walked for about 40mins when we got in Perth after our flight. The hotel was ok on the ground floor.

Room Tip: spend a little more and find a hotel with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear hatzina,

We are grateful for the time you have taken to write a review about your stay with us and trust you enjoyed your time in Perth. As you noted our location is right in the heart of the city which certainly makes it’s easy to explore whether you choose to walk around or jump on the free ‘CAT’ buses which travel frequently around the city.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when you next visit Perth.

Kindest regards,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koorda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday night, we're greeted in the afternoon by very pleasant staff, valet parking a treat, no worries about the car being in jeopardy, excellent breakfast!! late checkout Sunday 2 pm priority privilege member, gets you a few more perks, staff were solo friendly and helpful would definitely stay here again, just a short walk to the mall too....

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Vicki C,
What a delight it is to read your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor.
Our wonderful location put you right in the heart of the city, with easy access to the shopping malls and other great retail outlets, with the Apple store is right next door and a variety of dining options close by.
Vicki C, I certainly agree with you; our staff are the “jewel in the crown” of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, their smiles sparkle throughout the hotel all while striving to go above and beyond for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perth for another marvellous weekend.
Kind regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Address: 778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#11 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.