We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Perth City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Jurong, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is not grand although you may expect something better for the price you are paying. But come to location, you can't ask for more. It is within walking distance to the shopping areas, eateries and Swan Bell Towers. There is also foc tourist bus (CAT) nearby if you just like to have a free city tour. The are three CAT lines which cover different areas. Just ask the hotel staff for a guide to go around.

The rooms are clean and comfortable though the double bed is a bit too springy. The hotel staff are helpful, friendly and prompt. Free Wi-Fi is available only at the reception area.

Price is considered reasonable since everywhere in Perth is expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Lemongrass_Jt,
I am pleased to read your Trip review from your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre.
Our location right in the heart of the city certainly makes it easy to explore our beautiful city; with the train station just around the corner, Barrack Street jetty in easy walking distance or like you said, you can jump on a free CAT bus to get around.
I have shared your positive feedback with all staff and it is most appreciated.
The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely city soon.
Season’s Greetings
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    192
    73
    16
    11
See reviews for
72
104
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is a bit tired but aging gracefully (wish I could say the same!). The room was good and had my required reading chair. It was very clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and there was ni problem with early check-in etc. The restaurant was good, although there is much better across the road. The internet allowance was also good for a change. The price was OK for Perth (but otherwise outrageous). Breakfast was good for the continental I ate. I'll go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Phillip4911,
Thank you for your taking your time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. I glad your room had all the comforts of home, so you were able to relax and be yourself.
I am pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful, as it something we all strive for here at Holiday Inn Perth. We look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful city soon.
Season’s Greetings
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is located in the center of Perth. The hotel is VERY high priced but excellent.The rooms are in very good condition, the breakfast was good but high priced. Expect to spend a boat load of money in Australia.....however, you will enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Al F,
Your review on our Trip site is greatly appreciated.
Our location right in the heart of the city certainly makes it easy to go an explore Kings Park, walk around the Swan River or jump on train to Fremantle, we are also in walking distance to our brand new Perth Arena which is just around the corner!
We are glad you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back to our magnificent city.
Season’s Greetings
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Central to everything you need. We like to catch the train to Subiaco or Freo. Do a pub crawl all within 1 kilometre of the hotel and wake up to breakfast overlooking Hay St. Always welcomed and made to feel special.

Room Tip: Book in advance it can be way over the top at short notice leading to better value elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jeremy E,

Thanks for writing a review on our Trip site. I'm glad you were made to feel welcomed and special, this is what we strive to achieve with all our guests, so they can relax and be themselves.

Our location is so central with Hay and Murray street malls within a few minutes’ walk, the train station just around the corner which certainly does make it easy to get out and explore the wonderful destinations around Perth, we agree Fremantle is a great place to explore and they do have terrific food and beverage outlets in the Port city.

The team here at Holiday Inn certainly look forward to welcoming you back, when you next come up to Perth.

All the best,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a week whilst on a business trip. Location is excellent, right in the middle of the city and a short walk to the train station. It is easy to get around, search for food and explore the city from this spot.

Hotel lobby and lift is a little dated, but rooms were clean though the cleaning service was a little inconsistent, I did not eat breakfast here as I preferred to grab a coffee and muffin across the street but dinner at the restaurant was pretty good and the selections on the menu is varied. If you prefer not to dine in you can also request for a sandwich or wrap that you can take up to your room. The minibar is empty (I landed around midnight, so i wanted a snack) but there is a 24 hour corner shop nearby if you need anything, else the Woolworths and hay st/murray st malls are about 5 minutes away.

Internet is pricey (AUD10/2 hours) but it seems to be a standard deal in Perth.

Seemed overpriced when I compare it to other countries, however this is that standard in Perth so If you're looking for a city location this is ideal. No problem with noise, I was on the 8th floor and I slept like a baby. Easy enough to get a taxi straight from the hotel, I waited for about 5-10 minutes max.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Lisa L,

We appreciate you taking your time to write about your recent stay with us. We agree with you it is easy to discover Perth’s attractions from the Holiday Inn which is centrally located in the city.

We appreciate your comments on our mini bar which allows you to stock your favourite beverages and snacks as convenient and at sensible prices from our bar. We will be pleased to pre stock your bar with your preferred items if you let us know in advance of arrival.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed and pillows contributed to your good nights rest. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just returned from a recent 4 day long weekend in Perth - We couldn't decide on the hotels so we split it 2 nights at Holiday inn and 2 nights at crown plaza. Overall i'd say we preferred the holiday inn a little more.
The Holiday inn is in a pretty central location downtown, only a few mins walk from the train station. Apple store is right next door if that's your thing...The rooms were reasonable and clean. We had a king bed executive. Not the most comfortable bed in the world by any stretch but still acceptable nonetheless. The pillow menu is normally quite good however they were out of the firm pillows when I rang to order one.
The breakfast on the first floor was pretty good. Plenty of selections.
In real terms when comparing it to the crown plaza it is pretty much the same. The breakfast was the same, the hotel shampoo and conditioner etc was the same, the mini bar was the same. The beds were pretty much the same. (Yes i'm aware that they're owned by the same company but i'd expect that they were a bit different given that they're aiming at different markets...)
Also - there's a Tex Mex across the road - it's worth the trip if you're hungry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Peteski9,

We appreciate and are grateful for your time to write a review about your experience at our great hotel and agree with you that our location is fantastic.

With our Level 1 restaurant overlooking the Hay Street you can enjoy a wonderful fresh start to the day whilst watching and feeling the buzz of Perth City, while you enjoy as you mentioned a great selection of breakfast goodies , such as pancakes, omelettes and French toast if you wish.

We have noted your comments around the similarities of the offerings between our sister hotel and would like to advise that the differences in our product offerings will be more apparent in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit our splendid city.

Best wishes,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic stay, very friendly staff, rooms were very clean apart from the carpet which had very noticable stains, but had been vaccum. Great location in the center of the city provides a fantastic location for exploring the city. Hotel hallways are looking a little tired. Valet parking available which is a bonus. They gave us a welcome pack which was lovely. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear MariaGaspar,

Thanks so much for taking your time to write your review on our Trip site and we agree our location is awesome!

I am particularly delighted to hear that you received great customer service, as we strive to anticipate our guest needs to ensure you can just relax and be yourself. We certainly have noted you other comments around carpets and hallways which will be addressed in the future as well. Happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and welcome pack.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Perth in the future.

With our best wishes,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Address: 778 - 788 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#9 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.